accmail  

problems posting to ACCMAIL

[EMAIL PROTECTED]
Thu, 21 Aug 2003 03:52:33 -0700

I post this on behalf of Alexander V. Artukov (alex#neften.samen.elektra.ru)

The last week Eugeny Sattler could not send the message in ACCMAIL.
He has asked me resend his message. Attempt was unsuccessful.
Later I itself tried to send the message in ACCMAIL (see attach),
but also unsuccessfully.

In both cases there was a same mistake (see below).
>    ----- Transcript of session follows -----
> ... while talking to listserv.aol.com.:
>>>> MAIL From:<[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
> <<< 450 4.7.1 Access temporarily denied. IP name lookup failed [195.239.235.42]
> <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>... Deferred: 450 4.7.1 Access temporarily denied. IP name lookup 
> failed [195.239.235.42]

At same time there were no problems with sending other messages.

Notice, that I send messages in ACCMAIL some years , and did not face with
similar problems. For this time has not changed anything in mail
configurations on my side.

SHALL TRY TO GROPE THE REASONS OF SUCH STRANGE BEHAVIOUR


This is message from itself to Eugeny. Eugene's e-mail corrupted
especially by me. See below RFC-822 headers. I have placed them
upside-down, so more conveniently for reading

> Received: from neften.UUCP ([EMAIL PROTECTED])
>         by samen.elektra.ru (8.10.2/8.10.2) with UUCP id h7L5pXK88776
>         for [EMAIL PROTECTED]; Thu, 21 Aug 2003 10:51:33 +0500 (SAMST)
> Received: by neften.samen.elektra.ru (UUPC/@ v7.02, 26Apr98) with UUCP
>           id AA04468; Thu, 21 Aug 2003 10:23:32 +0500 (KSD)

Received samen.elektra.ru from my host via UUCP protocol.

> Received: from samen.elektra.ru (samen.elektra.ru [172.23.96.11])
>         by mia.samen.elektra.ru (8.11.0/8.11.0) with ESMTP id h7L5pXe44120
>         for <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>; Thu, 21 Aug 2003 10:51:33 +0500 (SAMST)
>         (envelope-from [EMAIL PROTECTED])
> Received: (from [EMAIL PROTECTED])
>         by samen.elektra.ru (8.10.2/8.10.2) id h7L5pXO88782
>         for [EMAIL PROTECTED]; Thu, 21 Aug 2003 10:51:33 +0500 (SAMST)

Transferred from UUCP host to SMTP server mia.samen.elektra.ru


> Received: from mia.samen.elektra.ru (195.239.235.42 [195.239.235.42]) by 
> mowdmz02.nestle.ru with
> SMTP (Microsoft Exchange Internet Mail Service Version 5.5.2653.13)
>         id RKS566M8; Thu, 21 Aug 2003 09:51:59 +0400
>
> ... omitted as insignificant ...
>

Sic! Sending via SMTP from 195.239.235.42 to Nestle.ru
NOTICE, THAT MOWDMZ02.NESTLE.RU HAS LOYALLY CONSIDERED SMTP SERVER 195.239.235.42.

WHY THEN LISTSERV.AOL.COM REFUSES TO ACCEPT SMTP FROM 195.239.235.42?

Try whois.ripe.net for example. With address 195.239.235.42 it gives
out the information about our provider "Volgogaztelecom",  address
range 195.239.235.0 - 195.239.235.255.

For cleanliness of experiment try to resolve names, using other provider


> elektra.ru
Server:  [62.213.0.12]
Address:  62.213.0.12

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 2 seconds.
Name:    elektra.ru

> set timeout=15
> elektra.ru
Server:  [62.213.0.12]
Address:  62.213.0.12

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 15 seconds.
Name:    elektra.ru

> samen.elektra.ru
Server:  [62.213.0.12]
Address:  62.213.0.12

Name:    samen.elektra.ru




BUT NOTICE!



> set type=MX
> samen.elektra.ru
Server:  [62.213.0.12]
Address:  62.213.0.12

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 15 seconds.
Non-authoritative answer:
elektra.ru      MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = relay2.elektra.ru
elektra.ru      MX preference = 20, mail exchanger = relay.elektra.ru

elektra.ru      nameserver = ns.elektra.ru
elektra.ru      nameserver = ns.ru.net
elektra.ru      nameserver = ns.spb.su
relay2.elektra.ru       internet address = 193.125.99.1
relay.elektra.ru        internet address = 193.125.98.3
ns.elektra.ru   internet address = 193.125.99.1
ns.ru.net       internet address = 193.124.22.65
ns.spb.su       internet address = 193.124.83.69

> samen.elektra.ru
Server:  [62.213.0.12]
Address:  62.213.0.12

DNS request timed out.
    timeout was 15 seconds.
Non-authoritative answer:
samen.elektra.ru        MX preference = 7, mail exchanger = relay.samaraenergo.ru
samen.elektra.ru        MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = relay.dvlg.elektra.ru
samen.elektra.ru        MX preference = 20, mail exchanger = relay2.elektra.ru
samen.elektra.ru        MX preference = 30, mail exchanger = relay.cdu.elektra.ru
samen.elektra.ru        MX preference = 5, mail exchanger = relay.samen.elektra.ru

samen.elektra.ru        nameserver = ns.dvlg.elektra.ru
samen.elektra.ru        nameserver = ns.elektra.ru
relay.samaraenergo.ru   internet address = 195.239.235.42
relay.dvlg.elektra.ru   internet address = 193.125.113.30
relay2.elektra.ru       internet address = 193.125.99.1
relay.cdu.elektra.ru    internet address = 193.125.114.76
relay.samen.elektra.ru  internet address = 172.23.96.11
ns.dvlg.elektra.ru      internet address = 193.125.113.30
ns.elektra.ru   internet address = 193.125.99.1


I think, listserv.aol.com more recently began to check, whether the
message from the existing domain proceeds or the domain does not
exist. Probably, such check is made for struggle with spam.

But check is made by the stupid reverse resolve DNS, without taking
into account an opportunity, that some domains can be resolved only
for TYPEQUERY=MX

For the benefit of that it has taken place recently,  speaks that
fact, that neither I, nor Eugeny had no such problems some months
back, one year back, two years back. And now simultaneously both have
faced an identical situation.

Forgive to me my English (more precisely, PROMTglish)
(PROMT is famous machine translator)

--
Alexander

And I will add from myself: Ru.Nestle.com smtp server puts something like
helo=MOWDMZ0243230948023984 into mail headers.
But some mailservers consider this as evidence of spam, as they await for something 
that could be recognised in DNS lists. I already experienced problems because of this 
with another maillist. May be this is the same case with AOL's Listserv ?
My mailer daemon says "one or more mandatory arguments missing from the recipient"

--
Eugeny

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ACCMAIL Info (automatically generated) ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
To UNSUBscribe: Send UNSUBSCRIBE ACCMAIL to [EMAIL PROTECTED]
To get the ACCMAIL FAQ: Send e-mail to "[EMAIL PROTECTED]"
and enter only this line in the BODY of the note:
send usenet/news.answers/internet-services/access-via-email
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~