Unai Rodriguez
Wed, 03 Feb 2010 09:00:51 -0800
Dear CJ, Thank you so much for your response.I am not sure if I made clear that the server throwing the error is the "forwarder" which is not under my control (that is the one hosted on an ISP -- bluehost.com).
I only control the 3rd "entity" (recipient): [SENDER] -> [FORWARDER] -> [RECIPIENT] (anyone) -> (bluehost) -> (u-journal.org or gmail.com)What I do not understand is why if the RECIPIENT is GMAIL everything is fine while if it is U-JOURNAL.ORG FORWARDER complains about the SPF record on SENDER?
Thank you so much again. unai On 2/4/10 12:14 AM, Maxwell Smart wrote:
You will need to add the leanservers.com to your includes and it should work fine. This is just an SPF issue. On 02/03/2010 08:10 AM, Unai Rodriguez wrote:Dear All, Facts: - I am running qmailtoaster under OpenSuse 11.0 (last pakages for suse not the very latest available for centos) - I have 2 domains: u-journal.org, spanisharmada.sg - u-journal.org is hosted on my qmailtoaster server - spanisharmada.sg is hosted on an ISP (bluehost.com) - confirmati...@spanisharmada.sg is a (email) forward to m...@u-journal.org (and some others) Now when some email addresses send emails to confirmati...@spanisharmada.sg they get an error (i.e. SPF violation): ========================================================================== Hi. This is the qmail-send program at outbound-mail-70.bluehost.com. I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out. <m...@u-journal.org>: 173.45.79.108 does not like recipient. Remote host said: 550 See http://spf.pobox.com/why.html?sender=unai%40leanservers.com&ip=69.89.21.30&receiver=mail (#5.7.1) Giving up on 173.45.79.108. ========================================================================== I am also handling the domain leanservers.com and could certainly allow bluehost.com to send emails (include:bluehost.com) but... what if other people send emails and their SPF just do not allow bluehost.com? What really puzzles me is that if I change the redirection of confirmati...@spanisharmada.sg to x...@gmail.com the SPF error does not occur. How come it works for gmail? I do not understand since the one who is suppose to be violating the SPF is the forwarding which is the same for u-journal.org and gmail.com. I noticed gmail has this SPF: "v=spf1 redirect=_spf.google.com". Any thoughts/pointers? Is this a pure SPF issue, gmail or qmailtoaster? Thank you so much! With Best Wishes, Unai Rodriguez --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Qmailtoaster is sponsored by Vickers Consulting Group (www.vickersconsulting.com) Vickers Consulting Group offers Qmailtoaster support and installations. If you need professional help with your setup, contact them today! --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Please visit qmailtoaster.com for the latest news, updates, and packages. To unsubscribe, e-mail: qmailtoaster-list-unsubscr...@qmailtoaster.com For additional commands, e-mail: qmailtoaster-list-h...@qmailtoaster.com
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Qmailtoaster is sponsored by Vickers Consulting Group
(www.vickersconsulting.com)
Vickers Consulting Group offers Qmailtoaster support and installations.
If you need professional help with your setup, contact them today!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please visit qmailtoaster.com for the latest news, updates, and packages.
To unsubscribe, e-mail: qmailtoaster-list-unsubscr...@qmailtoaster.com
For additional commands, e-mail: qmailtoaster-list-h...@qmailtoaster.com