Cool.. On Oct 30, 2016 9:41 AM, "Ken Hohhof" <[email protected]> wrote:
> Mike has swept the perimeter for you Jaime, it is safe to enter. > > > > *From:* Af [mailto:[email protected]] *On Behalf Of *Mike Hammett > *Sent:* Sunday, October 30, 2016 10:21 AM > *To:* [email protected] > *Subject:* Re: [AFMUG] google dns > > > > I don't see any Mikrotik here... > > > > ----- > Mike Hammett > Intelligent Computing Solutions <http://www.ics-il.com/> > <https://www.facebook.com/ICSIL> > <https://plus.google.com/+IntelligentComputingSolutionsDeKalb> > <https://www.linkedin.com/company/intelligent-computing-solutions> > <https://twitter.com/ICSIL> > Midwest Internet Exchange <http://www.midwest-ix.com/> > <https://www.facebook.com/mdwestix> > <https://www.linkedin.com/company/midwest-internet-exchange> > <https://twitter.com/mdwestix> > The Brothers WISP <http://www.thebrotherswisp.com/> > <https://www.facebook.com/thebrotherswisp> > > > <https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXSdfxQv7SpoRQYNyLwntZg> > ------------------------------ > > *From: *"Jaime Solorza" <[email protected]> > *To: *"Animal Farm" <[email protected]> > *Sent: *Saturday, October 29, 2016 10:30:38 AM > *Subject: *Re: [AFMUG] google dns > > No Ken that's me as well... I skip all the Mikrotik posts.... Yawn > > > > On Oct 29, 2016 9:22 AM, "Ken Hohhof" <[email protected]> wrote: > > Am I the only one that can’t follow what you are talking about? > > > > *From:* Af [mailto:[email protected]] *On Behalf Of *David Milholen > *Sent:* Saturday, October 29, 2016 10:18 AM > *To:* [email protected] > *Subject:* Re: [AFMUG] google dns > > > > Yes, And I monitor the list of ips it bans. These bans are from our dns > server only. > > If I turn off the rule asc with all DNS server bans then the command > functions as normal. > > Somewhere in that list there is a misbehaving ip asc with the ability to > resolve from google dns > > > > > > On 10/28/2016 6:51 PM, Paul Stewart wrote: > > Most IDS systems have logs that you could search through and find the look up > … should give you a clue … is that what you’re asking? > > > > On Oct 28, 2016, at 7:28 PM, David Milholen <[email protected]> > <[email protected]> wrote: > > > > Ok, > > I have some happy IDS components that seem to stopping google dns from > completing a lookup to our website. > > How can I find out what ips are being blocked from making the trip? > > I am not sure a traceroute is going to do it. I dont have an issue getting > to google. > > google-dns is having an issue finding our dns. > > > > This is what I get with the commands I run > > nslookup wletc.com 8.8.8.8 > > Server: 8.8.8.8 > > Address: 8.8.8.8#53 > > > > ** server can't find wletc.com: SERVFAIL > > > > When I disable the firewall rule that drops the bad IPs this is what I get. > > nslookup wletc.com 8.8.8.8 > > Server: 8.8.8.8 > > Address: 8.8.8.8#53 > > > > Non-authoritative answer: > > Name: wletc.com > > Address: 162.212.24.50 > > > > What ip addresses are causing the lookup to fail?? > > > > -- > > <Mail Attachment.jpeg> > > > > > > -- > > >
