On Wed, Jul 13, 2016 at 05:30:20PM +0200, Sven Eckelmann wrote:
> Users may not want to lose their configured batman-adv soft-interface when
> they remove a single interface from it. The default configuration may not
> working well enough in the network setup of the user and thus it should be
> possible to avoid that it gets reset to it when a new interface is added
> after the last one was removed.
> 
> This can be done by avoiding automatic creation of an interface when the
> command "add" is used together with the option "-M". The add would fail
> when the soft-interface disappeared for some reason and thus the
> soft-interface would not be created again with the default configuration.
> But more importantly, the "del" command can be informed with the option
> "-M" to not try to remove the soft-interface in the first place.

Currently wondering... have you thought about maybe
memorizing when a batman-adv interface was created via the new
"new" command? And in that case then transparently avoiding the automatic
destruction.

Would be one less parameter to memorize for the user then.

Reply via email to