Nice of Ross to send us an ecard, but he didn't, it's (sort of) a worm. People are suckered (although I'm not calling Ross a sucker) into letting FriendGreetings install a bit of software in order to pick up their "card", and the first item in the ELUA "explicitly states that by accepting the agreement , you are authorizing the software to send an email to all contacts in the Microsoft Outlook contacts list." (quote from Symantec.com)
Type "FriendGreetings" into Google and the first thing that comes up is: Symantec Security Response - Friendgreetings (http://www.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/friendgreetings.html), and they have gone so far as to add this, while not a virus by some peoples definition, to their virus detection library. Ross (and anyone else who installed the software), the removal instructions are on Symantecs site, and while Symantec provided http://www.friendgreetings.com/contact.htm as a courtesy, that page (last time I checked) is dead, and http://www.friendgreetings.com/ has a smartass "Hello World" message, nothing else. ~bgl --> -----Original Message----- --> From: Ross Bingham, Fulgen Technology [mailto:ross@;fulgen.com] --> Sent: Wednesday, October 30, 2002 1:06 PM --> To: CF-Jobs --> Subject: Cathy you have an E-Card from Ross. --> --> Greetings! --> --> Ross has sent you an E-Card -- a virtual postcard from --> FriendGreetings.com. --> You can pickup your E-Card at FriendGreetings.com by clicking on the --> link --> below. --> --> http://www.friendgreetings.com/pickup/pickup.aspx?code=Cathy&id=3010022 --> --> Message: --> --> ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~| Archives: http://www.houseoffusion.com/cf_lists/index.cfm?forumid=13 Subscription: http://www.houseoffusion.com/index.cfm?sidebar=lists&body=lists/cf_jobs Get the mailserver that powers this list at http://www.coolfusion.com
