We're on SQL2000, which has it's own quite usable SP debugger.  I'm not
referring to debugging the SPs themselves, which I always do outside of the
CF environment, but rather debugging problems that CF has calling the SPs.

Bob

-----Original Message-----
From: Marius Milosav [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
Sent: March 28, 2001 6:12 PM
To: CF-Talk
Subject: Re: cfstored procedure- NEWbie


There is a tool from Compuware (XPEDITER) if I'm not mistaken, that allows
you to debug SP.
Very good and powerful. You may want to check into it if you have to play a
lot with SP

Marius Milosav
www.scorpiosoft.com
It's not about technology, it's about people.
Virtual Help Desk Demo (VHD)
www.scorpiosoft.com/vhd/login.cfm

----- Original Message -----
From: "Bob Silverberg" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: "CF-Talk" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Sent: Wednesday, March 28, 2001 5:04 PM
Subject: RE: cfstored procedure- NEWbie


> Would you care to share any of these?  One of the main reasons I moved
away
> from using cfstoredproc is that I found it very hard to debug.  I would
> frequently just get an error that basically said "It didn't work", but not
> much other information.  In one particular situation, it was an access
issue
> (the user didn't have access to the SP).  cfstoredproc didn't tell me
this,
> but cfquery did.  I have also had problems with cfstoredproc in that the
> order of the cfprocparam tags had to be identical to the order of the
> parameters in the stored procedure (basically it was a huge pain in the
> behind).  I also find it much simpler to dynamically build my SP calls
using
> the cfquery syntax.
>
> Could you share the reasons that you've decided to use cfstoredproc as
much
> as possible, and could you share any of these no doubt useful tips and
> tricks?
>
> Thanks,
> Bob
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: [EMAIL PROTECTED] [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: March 28, 2001 4:41 PM
> To: CF-Talk
> Subject: RE: cfstored procedure- NEWbie
>
>
> btw
> We always use cfstoredproc to call or sps, except if we need to cache the
> queries. and we have come up with a number of tricks, tips whatever for
all
> of the different scenarios.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Greenberg, Lisa [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: Wednesday, March 28, 2001 3:25 PM
> To: CF-Talk
> Subject: RE: cfstored procedure- NEWbie
>
>
> Thank you very much for your help!!  The changes to cfprocparam didn't
work,
> but the CFquery option did.
>
> I may need to return more than result set at some point, so I'll need to
> figure out why the 1st option isn't working, but for now I'll live with
the
> other option.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Bob Silverberg [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: Wednesday, March 28, 2001 1:00 PM
> To: CF-Talk
> Subject: RE: cfstored procedure- NEWbie
>
>
> I notice a few things (don't know if they are causing the problem, but I
> noticed them):
>
> 1. I don't think you should be putting the @ sign on the names of your
> variables in your <cfprocparam> tag.  (Change dbvarname="@ZIP" to
> dbvarname="ZIP".
> 2. In one <cfprocparam> tag you are surrounding the value of the dbvarname
> attribute with quotes and in the other you aren't.  This shouldn't cause a
> problem, but it makes the code confusing.
> 3. You are declaring an output parameter but you never place a value in it
> in the procedure.
>
> If you're only returning one result set, and you aren't using output
> parameters, I prefer to use the <cfquery> tag to call my stored
procedures.
> The syntax would be:
>
> <CFQUERY datasource="LGDB" name="outzip">
> Exec getSRzip @ZIP='#form.TERRITORY_ZIP#'
> </CFQUERY>
>
> You may want to try that instead.  I find I get much more meaningful error
> messages when I use <CFQUERY>.
>
> Bob
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Greenberg, Lisa [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]]
> Sent: March 28, 2001 3:11 PM
> To: CF-Talk
> Subject: cfstored procedure- NEWbie
>
>
> I am trying to get a result set back from SQLSERVER using the following
> stored procedure. I know I should get a recordcount > 0 ( I checked this
in
> Enter. Manager).  However when I execute this stored procedure the
rowcount
> I get a value of '0'.  What am I doing wrong?
>
>
>
> <CFSETTING ENABLECFOUTPUTONLY="Yes">
> <CFSTOREDPROC PROCEDURE="getSRzip" datasource="LGDB"  returncode="Yes"
> debug="Yes">
> <cfprocparam type="In" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_CHAR" dbvarname="@ZIP"
> value="#form.TERRITORY_ZIP#" null="Yes">
> <CFPROCPARAM TYPE="OUT" variable="territory_type" cfsqltype="CF_SQL_CHAR"
> DBVARNAME=@territory_type>
>
> <CFPROCRESULT name="outzip" resultset="1">
>  </CFSTOREDPROC>
>  <CFSETTING ENABLECFOUTPUTONLY="No">
> <cfoutput>#outzip.RecordCount#</cfoutput>
> <cfoutput query="outzip">#Territory_Type#<br>
> </cfoutput>
>
>
> CREATE PROCEDURE  getSRZip  (
>
>  @ZIP CHAR (5),
>  @TERRITORY_TYPE VARCHAR(15) OUTPUT)
>  AS
> SELECT TERRITORY_TYPE,
>                  ZIP,
>                 EMAIL
> FROM   V_TERRITORY_ALIGNMENT
> WHERE TERRITORY != " "
> AND TERRITORY_ID !=114
> AND ZIP =@ZIP
>
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Structure your ColdFusion code with Fusebox. Get the official book at 
http://www.fusionauthority.com/bkinfo.cfm

Archives: http://www.mail-archive.com/cf-talk@houseoffusion.com/
Unsubscribe: http://www.houseoffusion.com/index.cfm?sidebar=lists

Reply via email to