Third Call for Papers

The Sixth International Conference of the Scandinavian Association for Language 
and Cognition (SALC 6)

Centre for Languages and Literature, Lund University

April 20-22, 2017

The main goal of SALC is to promote the study of the relationship between 
language and cognition both in the Nordic countries and more generally. This 
involves any type of research in which language is not treated in isolation, 
but as based on structures and processes of general cognition and social 
cognition, and as affecting such structures and processes. The conference is 
intended to be a forum for cooperation and exchange of ideas between 
disciplines, fields of study and theoretical frameworks for the study of 
language and cognition.

Plenary speakers

Ivana Bianchi, Università di Macerata, Italy

Rosario Caballero, Universidad de Castilla-LaMancha, Spain

Mark Dingemanse, MPI for Psycholinguistics, Netherlands

Dirk Geeraerts, University of Leuven, Belgium

Raymond Gibbs, University of California, Santa Cruz, USA

Iraide Ibarretxe-Antunano, Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain

Joanna Rączaszek-Leonardi, University of Warsaw, Poland


We invite abstracts for theme sessions, oral presentations and posters (see 
below) related to, but not limited to, the following topics in the area of 
Language and Cognition:

·         Language use and social interaction

·         Linguistic relativity

·         Language and culture

·         Discourse and cognition

·         Perception, cognition and language

·         Language acquisition and cognition

·         Language and cognitive development and evolution

·         Language and consciousness

·         Language and gesture

·         Language change and cognition

·         Linguistic typology and cognition

·         Multicultural communication and cognition

·         Neuro- and psycholinguistic approaches to language and cognition

·         Translation and cognition

·         Cognitive impairment and language use

Submission formats

1. Theme sessions

Deadline: 31 August 2016; notification: 30 September 2016

-       Submissions should include: session title, name and affiliation of 
symposium convener, an introduction of up to 400 words explaining the theme, 
all abstracts for the theme session in a suitable order.

-       Sessions may consist of 3 or 6 papers (90 or 180 mins.), including time 
for introduction and general discussion. Papers in each theme session should be 
thematically linked.

-       Theme session proposers should indicate whether they wish the 
individual abstracts to be considered as individual presentations (oral or 
poster), in case the session is not accepted as a whole.

2. General session

Deadline: 15 October 2016; notification: 15 December 2016

-       Submissions should include: title, name, affiliation, 400-word 
abstract, excluding references. The time allocation is 20 mins. oral 
presentation followed by 5 mins discussion.

3. Poster session

Deadline: 15 October 2016, notification: 15 December 2016

-       Submissions should include: title, name, affiliation, 400-word 
abstract, excluding references. Authors are invited to give a 1 minute oral 
presentation in the main lecture hall preceding the poster session.

Please submit your abstract or theme session proposal using the link below:
Please indicate the type of submission you are making both in the 
abstract/theme session proposal text and in the submission form by ticking the 
appropriate category in the "Topics" field.

Important dates

·         Theme session submission: 31 August 2016

·         Theme session notification: 30 September 2016

·         Submission of abstracts for oral presentations and posters: 15 
October 2016

·         Notification of acceptance for oral presentations and posters: 15 
December 2016

·         Deadline for early registration: 15 January 2017

·         Deadline for registration: 30 March 2017

Scientific Committee

Mats Andrén

Jóhanna Barðdal
Ivana Bianchi

Line Burholt Kristensen
Rosario Caballero

Mark Dingemanse

Dirk Geeraerts

Raymond Gibbs

Rachel Giora

Adam Głaz
Marianne Gullberg
Mikko Höglund
Iraide Ibarretxe-Antuñano

Esa Itkonen

Marlene Johansson Falck
Henryk Kardela
Piotr Konderak

Jeannette Littlemore

Carita Lundmark
Tore Nesset

Anneli Pajunen

Carita Paradis
Esa Penttilä

Joanna Rączaszek-Leonardi
Tiina Onikki-Rantajääskö

Elena Semino
Anders Sigrell
Göran Sonesson
Sven Strömqvist
Kristian Tylén
Mila Vulchanova
Jordan Zlatev

Local Organizing Committee

Simon Devylder

Robin Engström

Sara Farshchi

Matteo Fuoli

Marlene Johansson Falck (chair)

Carita Lundmark (chair)

Carita Paradis (chair)

Nele Põldvere

Anu Vastenius
Jordan Zlatev (chair)

Professor Carita Paradis, PhD, MAE
Centre for Languages and Literature
Lund University
Box 201,
SE-221 00 Lund

P Please consider the environment
before printing this e-mail
UNSUBSCRIBE from this page:
Corpora mailing list

Reply via email to