Date: Sun, 2 Apr 2006 22:27:14 -0400 (EDT)
From: Yvo Desmedt <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [ias-opportunities] CFP
Reply-To: Yvo Desmedt <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>

The 5th International Conference on Cryptology and Network Security
(CANS06, Suzhou, Dec. 8 - 10, 2006)
Submission Deadline: June 20, 2006 (10:00 GMT)

Call for Papers

The state of  the art of cryptography is  significantly better than it
was  20-30 years  ago.  The  AES standard  was  developed by  academia
instead  of in secrecy,  we have  proven secure  cryptographic schemes
such as RSA-OAEP,  proven secure modes of operation  and proven secure
protocols.  Unfortunately, we see that:
    * There is  an imbalance between the large  investment in research
      on cryptography  and its deployment. Today the  only wide spread
      Internet applications of cryptography are SSL and SSH.
    * At the  same time, other  disciplines such as  computer security
      and network security have not made so much progress. We see that
      many network  applications such  as kazaa and  Internet Explorer
      have been  exploited to  help in the  spread of spyware.  We see
      that operating systems  are not so secure. Weekly  we hear about
      embarrassing news related to network or computer security.

The main goal of this conference is to promote research on all aspects
of network  security and cryptology.  It is also  the goal to  build a
bridge between  research on cryptography and network  security. So, we
welcome   scientific  and   academic   papers  that   focus  on   this
multidisciplinary area.

The first edition of this  conference was in Taipei, Taiwan, 2001. The
second one was  in San Francisco, California, USA,  September 26 - 28,
2002, the third  in Miami, Florida, USA, September 24  - 26, 2003, and
the fourth in Xiamen, Fujian, China, December 14-16, 2005.

The conference proceedings  will be published in the  Lecture Notes in
Computer Science  series by Springer  Verlag, and be available  at the

    Topics of interest
Areas of  interest for CANS '06  include, but are not  limited to, the
following topics:

   Ad Hoc Network Security              Multicast Security
   Access Control for Networks          PKI
   Anonymity and internet voting        Phishing
   Cryptology                           Router Security
   Denial of Service                    Secure E-Mail
   Fast Cryptographic Algorithms        Secure protocols (SSH, SSL, ...)
   Information Hiding                   Spam
   Intrusion Detection                  Spyware
   IP Security                          Scanning
   Security                             Networks

Papers on cryptology  are welcome. Those that make  a substantial link
with network security  will be given priority, since  this is the main
goal  of  this  conference.  Therefore,  authors of  such  papers  are
encouraged to  explain in  a subsection of  the introduction  the link
with network security.

    Instructions for Authors
The  paper must  start with  a title,  an abstract  and  keywords, but
should be *anonymous*.  It should be followed by  a succinct statement
appropriate  for  a   non-specialist  reader  specifying  the  subject
addressed   its   background,  the   main   achievements,  and   their
significance  to  Cryptology or  Network  Security. Technical  details
directed  to  the  specialist  should  then  follow.  A  limit  of  12
single-spaced pages  of 11pt type  (not counting the  bibliography and
clearly  marked appendices) is  placed on  all submissions.  The total
paper must  not exceed 18 pages.   Since referees are  not required to
read  the  appendices,  the   paper  should  be  intelligible  without
them. Submissions not meeting  these guidelines risk rejection without
consideration of their merits.

    Submission instructions
Papers  that have  been  or will  be  submitted in  parallel to  other
conferences or workshops that  have proceedings are *not* eligible for
submission.   One  of  the   authors  is   expected  to   present  the
paper. Authors who submit papers  agree to have their papers published
in the proceedings and sign the copyright form.

The submission should be in A4 paper size and sent in PDF format.

    Important dates
    * Submission Deadline: June 20, 2006 (10:00GMT)
    * Authors Notification: August 20, 2006
    * Camera-Ready Version: September 15, 2006 

    Steering Committee
    * Yvo Desmedt (UCL, UK & Florida State University, USA)
    * Matt Franklin (University of California, Davis, USA)
    * Yi Mu (University of Wollongong, Australia)
    * David Pointcheval (CNRS & ENS, France)
    * Huaxiong Wang (Macquarie University, Australia) 

    * General Chair: Kefei Chen (Shanghai Jaotong University, China) 

    Program Committee
    * Farooq Anjum (Telcordia, USA)
    * Feng Bao (Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore)
    * Christophe Bidan (Supélec, France)
    * John Black (University of Colorado, USA)
    * Carlo Blundo (Università di Salerno, Italy)
    * Colin Boyd (QUT, Australia)
    * Xavier Boyen (Voltage, USA)
    * Laurent Bussard (European Microsoft Innovation Center, Germany)
    * Liqun Chen (HP Laboratories, UK)
    * Anand Desai (NTT MCL, USA)
    * Cunsheng Ding (Hong Kong Univ. Sci. Tech., China)
    * Steven Galbraith (Royal Holloway University of London, UK)
    * Marc Girault (France Telecom, France)
    * Nick Howgrave-Graham (NTRU Cryptosystems, USA)
    * Marc Joye (Gemplus & CIM-PACA, France)
    * Kwangjo Kim (ICU, South Korea)
    * Kaoru Kurosawa (Ibaraki University, Japan)
    * Xuejia Lai (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)
    * Dong Hoon Lee (Korea University, South Korea)
    * Arjen Lenstra (EPFL, Switzerland)
    * Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)
    * Atsuko Miyaji (JAIST, Japan)
    * Yi Mu (University of Wollongong, Australia) - co-chair
    * David Naccache (ENS & Paris II, France)
    * Kaisa Nyberg (Helsinki University of Technology and Nokia, Finland)
    * Giuseppe Persiano (Università di Salerno, Italy)
    * Josef Pieprzyk (Macquarie University, Australia)
    * David Pointcheval (CNRS & ENS, France) - co-chair
    * C.-Pandu Rangan (Indian Institute of Technology, India)
    * Kazue Sako (NEC, Japan)
    * Berry Schoenmakers (Techn. Univ. Eindhoven, The Netherlands)
    * Willy Susilo (University of Wollongong, Australia)
    * Vijay Varadharajan (Macquarie University, Australia)
    * Xiaofeng Wang (Indiana University, USA)
    * Duncan Wong (City University of Hong Kong, China)
    * Chaoping Xing (National University of Singapore, Singapore)
    * Shouhuai Xu (University of Texas, USA)
    * Sung-Ming Yen (National Central University, Taiwan) 

The Cryptography Mailing List
Unsubscribe by sending "unsubscribe cryptography" to [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Reply via email to