Domain Registry of Australia....

-- 
mark jeftovic
http://www.easydns.com
http://mark.jeftovic.net

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Tue, 27 Aug 2002 12:19:47 -0400
From: Alan Brown <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: MEDIA: enom.com - Name grabbers working domain scam

More domain registry of Canada/America shenanigans.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/storydisplay.cfm?storyID=2351323&thesection=technology&thesubsection=general

   Name grabbers working domain scam
   27.08.2002
   By ADAM GIFFORD

   Internet name holders are being warned to watch out for a scam which
   could see them unsuspectingly switch their domain name registrar.

   Richard Shearer, general manager of New Plymouth-based registrar
   Freeparking.co.nz, said several customers had received faxes from a
   company calling itself Domain Registry of Australia inviting them to
   send credit card details to renew their website.
...
   "They are trying to make it look as if they are working out of
   Australia, but the phone is answered by call centre agents in Ontario,
   Canada, and there is a similar site targeting Europe," said Shearer.
...
   Shearer said that when Freeparking called the number listed on the fax
   it was told the parent company of Domain Registry of Australia was
   enom.com, the sixth-largest registrar in the United States.

   "We have been unable to confirm if that is true," he said.

Reply via email to