[Replying to my own post to pass on information to people wondering about 
this (a number contacted me).]

eGold host two discussion lists.  This one is for technical issues, but 
there is another, higher volume, that is for general discussions.  On this 
other list there is more discussion of this (and similar) scams.  To see 
that list, go to http://www.e-gold.com/unsecure/lists.html and keep 
following  links until you get to the e-gold-list archives.  Looking 
through the posts there this kind of attack appears to be quite common (and 
no-one seems to be particularly worried, although I may have missed the 
relevant posts).

Andrew


At 03:38 PM 5/26/01 +0100, I wrote:

>Hi,
>
>Apologies if this is a false alarm, but I have just (within the last few 
>hours) received an email claiming to be from eGold, asking me to enter my 
>account number and password.  Looking at the text of the email it appears 
>to submit the values to a cgi script at http://users.vr9.com/egold9/ (I 
>suspect that web page would look the same as the email; only it was mailed 
>to personal account which is running on a Linux laptop with a text-only 
>web browser!).
>
>That page, in the link above, is neither secure not connected with 
>eGold.  This appears to be a social engineering attack against your customers.


---
You are currently subscribed to e-gold-tech as: [email protected]
To unsubscribe send a blank email to [EMAIL PROTECTED]

Reply via email to