Dear All


We are very pleased to inform you that a standing committee of the Global
Conference on Economic Geography ("GCEG Committee") has been established and
that the following governance and principles of all future GCEG events were
announced at the Cologne GCEG gala dinner. We expect that these will serve
our community well in future.


1. GCEG Committee

.         Comprising (1) one member from each of the past GCEG organising
committees AND (2) the chairperson of the incoming GCEG (e.g. Dublin 2021).
The current committee members are listed at the end of this email.

.         Each member of the GCEG Committee must be a tenured or permanent
faculty member in an academic institution.

.         Chair: to be elected from among existing members excluding the
member organizing the incoming GCEG; chair to be rotated after each GCEG.

.         Mandate: preparing and announcing Call for Proposals and selecting
and ensuring broad implementation of each GCEG.

2. GCEG Principles

.         Broad-based support from home institution(s) and national
geographical communities/societies.

.         Commitment to the global scope and diversity of the conference.

.         Commitment to supporting research students and early career

.         Local organizing committee should have a fair balance of members
by gender and career stage. 

3. GCEG Timetable

.         Call for Proposals (CfP): to be send out at least 9 months before
each GCEG (e.g. in September 2020 before June 2021 Dublin GCEG), with a
proposal submission deadline of 3 months before the GCEG event. The selected
host/institution will be announced at the GCEG.

.         Frequency of GCEG: every 3 years.


Thank you and we look forward to your continuous support of this global
event among economic geographers worldwide.


The GCEG Committee:

Peter Dannenberg (Chair; Cologne), Henry Yeung (Singapore), Weidong Liu
(Beijing), Dariusz Wojcik (Oxford), and Dieter F. Kogler (Dublin)




Reply via email to