*Message sent from a system outside of UConn.*

Announcing the AAG Economic Geography Specialty Group 2020 Student Award 

The AAG Economic Geography Specialty Group makes four annual awards in economic 
geography, with the results announced each year at the AAG Annual 
 (in Denver, CO April 6-10, 2020).

Graduate Student Research Award (deadline: 15 March 2020)

This competitive award ($750) is designed to support innovative and original 
graduate student research that is likely to make a significant contribution to 
the development of the field of economic geography. Proposals will be judged on 
the basis of the theoretical and substantive significance of the research, 
appropriateness of the methods employed, and the potential impact of the 
funding. Funds can be used towards travel, subsistence, equipment and/or other 
normal research expenses.

Applications should include (a) a one-page vita, with full contact details, (b) 
a two-page statement (exclusive of references), detailing the nature of the 
proposed research and its expected contribution, and (c) a one-page provisional 
budget, detailing the uses to which award funds would be put. Awardees must be 
registered graduate students throughout the duration of the award and must be 
members of the Economic Geography Specialty Group at the time of review.

Two EGSG Board members will review the applications and make a recommendation 
to the EGSG Board. Please send your submission, in PDF format, to Shaina Potts 
at spo...@geog.ucla.edu<mailto:spo...@geog.ucla.edu>.

Best Dissertation (deadline: 15 March 2020)

Students completing a Ph.D. dissertation in the preceding calendar year (2019), 
are eligible for the best dissertation competition. An award of $500 is offered 
for the best dissertation. Please note that the dissertation must be dated 2019 
to be eligible for this year's award.

Two EGSG Board members will review the applications and make a recommendation 
to the EGSG Board. Please send your dissertation, in PDF format, to Abigail 
Cooke at amco...@buffalo.edu<mailto:amco...@buffalo.edu>.

Best Student Paper (deadline: 15 March 2020)

Students presenting a paper at the AAG annual conference (or who presented a 
paper at a Regional meeting any time in the 12 months preceding the 2020 
conference in Denver) are eligible for the best student paper competition. An 
award of $200 is offered for the best student paper. Papers should be in 
English, and no longer than 15 pages double-spaced in 12-point font (including 
explanatory footnotes/endnotes, but excluding references, figures and tables) 
with an additional 100-200 word abstract. And yes, you can submit your planned 
paper for the 2020 Annual Meeting in Denver, but it obviously has to be written 
ahead of time!

Two EGSG Board members will review the submitted papers and make a 
recommendation to the EGSG Board. Please send your submission, in PDF format, 
to Peter Kedron at peter.ked...@asu.edu<mailto:peter.ked...@asu.edu>.

JW Harrington Undergraduate Paper Competition (deadline: 15 March 2020)

This competition is designed to recognize and encourage promising undergraduate 
scholars of African descent to pursue further training and careers in 
Geography. This competition is open to all eligible undergraduates regardless 
of their current undergraduate major.

A $500 cash prize will be awarded to the undergraduate producing the most 
innovative research paper addressing material well-being within and/or across 
places. The places of inquiry can be at any scale - from neighborhoods to world 
regions - and any time period - past, present, or future. The winner must 
present their research at a meeting of the AAG within a year and a half after 
the award is received.

To be eligible for this award, the student:

  *   Must identify as Black (part of the African Diaspora); 

  *   Must be enrolled full time at an accredited college or university;

  *   Need not be a Geography major or member of the AAG;

  *   Must be sponsored by a faculty member who will provide a written 
statement describing the student’s scholarly interests and promise as a 
potential geographer. 

Submissions guidelines and mechanics:

  *   Research papers should be no longer than 2,500 words (exclusive of 
references). Maps, tables, and figures can be included. A bibliography must be 

  *   All submission materials (paper, cover sheet, and faculty member’s 
statement) should be sent to EGSG Vice-Chair, Abigail Cooke: 

  *   Submissions will be evaluated by a committee comprised of current and 
past EGSG board members. Final decisions will be by current EGSG board members.

  *   The winner and runners-up will be notified in mid-March of the award 

  *   The award will be publicly announced at the Annual Meeting of the 
American Association of Geographers.

Good luck everyone!

The EGSG Board

Reply via email to