On 2/15/03 10:33, Paul Berkowitz wrote:

> On 2/15/03 4:00 AM, "Richard Shane" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
> 
>> Sometimes I have a number of emails ready to send in my outbox, but I don't
>> want to send them until a certain hour.  In the meantime, I want to receive
>> mail. Seems like Entourage has only two choices in tools, "Send and receive
>> all" and "Send All." What I've had to do is first drag those outbox mails
>> into
>> "Drafts," then click "Send and receive." I'd like to not have to do this
>> additional step.  Is there some "Receive all" option?
> 
> Have you never made your own schedules, Richard?  Make a new schedule, call
> it "Receive All", set it to be repeating, or manual, or whatever, and set
> the actions to Receive Mail from Account A, Receive Mail from Account B,
> etc. Keep pressing "Add" button to add more accounts until you've added them
> all. (If you never, ever wanted to Send All, you could just modify your Send
> & Receive All schedule by removing "Send All", but I don't recommend it:
> make a new schedule instead.) Now UNCHECK the Enabled button for "Send &
> Receive All", or else set its Occurrence to "Manual" but keep the Enabled
> button checked for your new "Receive All" schedule.

Contrary to Paul's advice, I heartily recommend simply removing the 'send
all' action from the existing 'Send & Receive All' schedule. It's simple
enough to add a manually activated, non-enabled schedule just for 'send
all'; on those rare occasions when you've allowed unsent emails to
accumulate, you can simply execute that schedule to send all of them on
their merry way.

It's the 'Send & Receive All' schedule that's executed when you select 'Send
& Receive All' from the 'Tools/Send & Receive' menu, or when you click on
the 'Send & Receive' button in the main browser window. So you don't need to
change your other habits for receiving mail; you only need to run your 'Send
All' schedule when it's appropriate to do so (and most likely, if you've
saved emails for sending later, you'll remember that).

The other reason I recommend altering the existing schedule is the 'add this
account to my Send & Receive All schedule' checkbox in each account. When
this checkbox is checked, the account is automatically added to the default
schedule; if you uncheck, it's automatically removed. So if you add a new
account, you can simply check the box and don't need to remember to add the
account to your own schedule. Similarly, if you delete an account, it's
automatically removed for you, so you don't need to remember to remove it.

You can even rename the schedule to reflect it's true action (i.e., Receive
All, or similar). The only drawback is that the aforementioned 'Send &
Receive All' *menu item* retain it's original name, although it's no longer
accurate (the item on the Schedules menu properly reflects the name,
though.)


George

-- 
George Clark - [EMAIL PROTECTED]



-- 
To unsubscribe:                     
<mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
archives:       
<http://www.mail-archive.com/entourage-talk%40lists.letterrip.com/>
old-archive:       
<http://www.mail-archive.com/entourage-talk%40lists.boingo.com/>

Reply via email to