Call for Papers 

          14th Workshop on Logic, Language, Information and Computation 
                           Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 
                               July 2-5, 2007 

     WoLLIC is an annual international forum on inter-disciplinary research 
     involving formal logic, computing and programming theory, and natural 
     language and reasoning.  Each meeting includes invited talks and tutorials 
     as well as contributed papers. 

     The Fourteenth WoLLIC will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from 
     July 2 to July 5, 2007, and sponsored by the Association for Symbolic Logic 
     (ASL), the Interest Group in Pure and Applied Logics (IGPL), 
     the European Association for Logic, Language and Information 
     (FoLLI), the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), 
     the Sociedade Brasileira de Computacao (SBC), and the Sociedade 
     Brasileira de Logica (SBL). 

     Contributions are invited on all pertinent subjects, with particular 
     interest in cross-disciplinary topics.  Typical but not exclusive 
     areas of interest are: foundations of computing and programming; 
     novel computation models and paradigms; broad notions of proof and belief; 
     formal methods in software and hardware development; logical approach to 
     natural language and reasoning; logics of programs, actions and resources; 
     foundational aspects of information organization, search, flow, sharing, 
     and protection. 
     Proposed contributions should be in English, and consist of a scholarly 
     exposition accessible to the non-specialist, including motivation, 
     background, and comparison with related works. 
     They must not exceed 10 pages (in font 10 or higher), with up to 
     5 additional pages for references and technical appendices. 
     The paper's main results must not be published or submitted 
     for publication in refereed venues, including journals and other 
     scientific meetings. 
     It is expected that each accepted paper be presented at the meeting by 
     one of its authors. 
     Papers must be submitted electronically at 
     A title and single-paragraph abstract should be submitted by 
     February 23, and the full paper by March 2 (firm date). 
     Notifications are expected by April 13, and final papers for 
     the proceedings will be due by April 27 (firm date). 

     Proceedings, including both invited and contributed papers, 
     will be published in advance of the meeting. 
     Publication venue TBA. 


     ASL sponsorship of WoLLIC'2007 will permit ASL student members to 
     apply for a modest travel grant (deadline: April 1, 2007). 
     See for details. 

     February 23, 2007: Paper title and abstract deadline 
     March 2, 2007: Full paper deadline (firm) 
     April 12, 2007: Author notification 
     April 26, 2007: Final version deadline (firm) 

     Samson Abramsky (U Oxford) 
     Michael Benedikt (Bell Labs) 
     Lars Birkedal (ITU Copenhagen) 
     Andreas Blass (U Michigan) 
     Thierry Coquand (Chalmers U, Goteborg) 
     Jan van Eijck (CWI, Amsterdam) 
     Marcelo Finger (U Sao Paulo) 
     Rob Goldblatt (Victoria U, Wellington) 
     Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft Redmond) 
     Hermann Haeusler (PUC Rio) 
     Masami Hagiya (Tokyo U) 
     Joseph Halpern (Cornell U) 
     John Harrison (Intel UK) 
     Wilfrid Hodges (U London/QM) 
     Phokion Kolaitis (IBM Almaden Research Center) 
     Marta Kwiatkowska (U Birmingham) 
     Daniel Leivant (Indiana U) (Chair) 
     Maurizio Lenzerini (U Rome) 
     Jean-Yves Marion (LORIA Nancy) 
     Dale Miller (Polytechnique Paris) 
     John Mitchell (Stanford U) 
     Lawrence Moss (Indiana U) 
     Peter O'Hearn (U London/QM) 
     Prakash Panangaden (McGill, Montreal) 
     Christine Paulin-Mohring (Paris-Sud, Orsay) 
     Alexander Razborov (Steklov, Moscow) 
     Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich U) 
     Jouko Vaananen (U Helsinki) 

     Marcelo da Silva Correa (U Fed Fluminense) 
     Renata P. de Freitas (U Fed Fluminense) 
     Ana Teresa Martins (U Fed Ceara') 
     Anjolina de Oliveira (U Fed Pernambuco) 
     Ruy de Queiroz (U Fed Pernambuco, co-chair) 
     Petrucio Viana (U Fed Fluminense, co-chair) 


fis mailing list

Reply via email to