Hi,

There are many logs(debug information) when fgfs is initializing/running, but the logs 
go fast in the terminal and it is hard to read them. I use fgfs > file, but the 
content in the file is not the logs.:-).
Is there any way to dump them into a file for later analysizing?

Thanks,
Walter


-----Original Message-----
From: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
[mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED] Behalf Of
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Thursday, September 02, 2004 9:46 AM
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Subject: Flightgear-devel Digest, Vol 17, Issue 4


Send Flightgear-devel mailing list submissions to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
        http://mail.flightgear.org/mailman/listinfo/flightgear-devel
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

You can reach the person managing the list at
        [EMAIL PROTECTED]

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Flightgear-devel digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. Re:Sky writing (Luca Masera)
   2. Re: Simgear::EasyXML - minimum file set (Alex Romosan)
   3. Re: Re: Simgear::EasyXML - minimum file set (Jon S Berndt)
   4. Compile Failure on current CVS (Dale E. Edmons)
   5. Re: Compile Failure on current CVS (Erik Hofman)
   6. Re: Compile Failure on current CVS (Dale E. Edmons)
   7. Re: Radio Hardware. (Manuel Bessler)
   8. Re: Radio Hardware. (Manuel Bessler)
   9. Re: Radio Hardware. (martin pardee)
  10. Fedora Core 2, What glut? (Bohnert Paul)
  11. Re: Radio Hardware. (Manuel Bessler)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Wed,  1 Sep 2004 19:06:52 +0200
From: "Luca Masera" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Flightgear-devel] Re:Sky writing
To: "flightgear-devel" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1

>Inside the <sim></sim> tags

>And I forgot to ask Eric to upload the updated submodel.cxx and .hxx files
>to cvs. Sorry. I've now done that. 

Thank you very much, I've tried to change the code into the files but I think that the 
thinks are more 
complicated.

>Have you tried the Spitfire or F16 models? They both use the submodel
>facility, and AFAIK, they both work.

I don't tried them for now; I'll do that tomorrow because now I've to go.

Thanks,
Luca





------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Wed, 01 Sep 2004 11:54:08 -0700
From: Alex Romosan <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Flightgear-devel] Re: Simgear::EasyXML - minimum file set
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Cc: JSBSim Developer List <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

"Jon Berndt" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> writes:

> I'd like to use EasyXML in JSBSim. I would find it desirable,
> however, to include ONLY the files required to provide EasyXML to
> JSBSim, and would prefer to keep those files in JSBSim CVS for our
> purposes. JSBSim would be configured to work (compile) correctly
> depending on if it is being compiled under FlightGear or JSBSim
> standalone - as it is done now with the properties code. I don't
> expect this ought to be a problem, because I suspect (correctly?)
> that the XML features of SimGear are mature. Correct?
>
> Can someone tell me what is the _bare_ set of SimGear files needed
> to allow compilation of EasyXML?
>

you need to have the expat library installed (+ the header files) but
then you can use just easyxml.cxx from simgear with the following
patch applied:

--- easyxml.cxx 29 Jul 2004 08:30:10 -0000      1.4
+++ easyxml.cxx 1 Sep 2004 18:49:57 -0000
@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
 #include <string.h>            // strcmp()
 
 #include "easyxml.hxx"
-#include "xmlparse.h"
+#include <expat.h>
 
 #include STL_FSTREAM
 #include STL_IOSTREAM

i've been running simgear like this forever (the rest of the files in
simgear/xml are a rather old version of the expat library).

--alex--

-- 
| I believe the moment is at hand when, by a paranoiac and active |
|  advance of the mind, it will be possible (simultaneously with  |
|  automatism and other passive states) to systematize confusion  |
|  and thus to help to discredit completely the world of reality. |



------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Wed, 01 Sep 2004 14:49:02 -0500
From: "Jon S Berndt" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Re: Simgear::EasyXML - minimum file
        set
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="ISO-8859-1"; format="flowed"

On Wed, 01 Sep 2004 11:54:08 -0700
  Alex Romosan <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:
>you need to have the expat library installed (+ the header files) but
>then you can use just easyxml.cxx from simgear with the following
>patch applied:
>
>--- easyxml.cxx 29 Jul 2004 08:30:10 -0000      1.4
>+++ easyxml.cxx 1 Sep 2004 18:49:57 -0000
>@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
>  #include <string.h>            // strcmp()
>  
>  #include "easyxml.hxx"
>-#include "xmlparse.h"
>+#include <expat.h>
>  
>  #include STL_FSTREAM
>  #include STL_IOSTREAM
>
>i've been running simgear like this forever (the rest of the files in
>simgear/xml are a rather old version of the expat library).

Thanks. I was able to compile three xml***.c files early today (in the 
lib/ directory of the eXpat dist). I don't know if that is the eXtent 
of what is required to compile EasyXML or not, yet. Also, somehow I 
have to figure out how to get JSBSim to compile with a new class 
(FGXMLParse) that uses easyxml (which in turn uses eXpat) for the 
standalone version of JSBSim, and also compiles and links within 
FlightGear. That shouldn't be too big of a deal, but it could be 
tricky.

Jon



------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Wed, 01 Sep 2004 14:03:15 -0700
From: "Dale E. Edmons" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Flightgear-devel] Compile Failure on current CVS
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; format=flowed

Hi all,

I just did a "cvs update -d -P" and tried to recompile but got the
following error(s):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../../src/Include -I../.. -I../../src
-I/usr/local/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -I/usr/local//include  -g -O2
-D_REENTRANT -MT submodel.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/submodel.Tpo" \
  -c -o submodel.o `test -f 'submodel.cxx' || echo './'`submodel.cxx; \
then mv -f ".deps/submodel.Tpo" ".deps/submodel.Po"; \
else rm -f ".deps/submodel.Tpo"; exit 1; \
fi
submodel.cxx: In member function `bool
   SubmodelSystem::release(SubmodelSystem::submodel*, double)':
submodel.cxx:92: no matching function for call to
`FGAIManager::createBallistic
   (std::string&, double&, double&, double&, double&, double&, double&,
   double&, double&)'
../../src/AIModel/AIManager.hxx:104: candidates are: int
   FGAIManager::createBallistic(std::basic_string<char,
std::char_traits<char>,
   std::allocator<char> >, double, double, double, double, double, double,
   double, double, double)
make[2]: *** [submodel.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory
`/bld/terra/fgfs/cvs/FlightGear-0.9.x/source/src/Systems'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/bld/terra/fgfs/cvs/FlightGear-0.9.x/source/src'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I did update plib, SimGear, and TerraGear first.

Thanks.


Dale E. Edmons




------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Wed, 01 Sep 2004 23:10:25 +0200
From: Erik Hofman <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Compile Failure on current CVS
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii; format=flowed

Dale E. Edmons wrote:
> Hi all,
> 
> I just did a "cvs update -d -P" and tried to recompile but got the
> following error(s):

Try updating FlightGear CVS again, I just fixed this.

Erik



------------------------------

Message: 6
Date: Wed, 01 Sep 2004 14:22:47 -0700
From: "Dale E. Edmons" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Compile Failure on current CVS
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

Erik Hofman wrote:

>
> Try updating FlightGear CVS again, I just fixed this.
>
> Erik
>
Yes, you did.  Thanks.


Dale



------------------------------

Message: 7
Date: Thu, 2 Sep 2004 02:36:53 +0200
From: Manuel Bessler <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Radio Hardware.
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

On Tue, Aug 31, 2004 at 05:23:29PM -0700, martin pardee wrote:
> okay.  looks like i've got some homework to do...
> 
> the more i get into this the more impressive this project seems.
> 
> i guess i need to try to start with the following two things:
> 
> 1) is there a single set of classes i can look at to try to understand event
> processing as it relates to the main frmae painting loop?
> 
> 2) if i started with a single switch tied into a serial or USB port as a means
> of beginning to understand the hardware/software interface, what parts of that
> "internal dynamics disabled" client versoin of FG would i look into.

Why do you want to run an fg instance with dynamics disabled ?

For the easiest start, I'd use a single fg instance, with the telnet
server enabled, and write a little (eg. perl) script that reads the
parallel port where you have your switch connected, and changes a
property via the telnet interface when the switch gets opened/closed.



Regards,
Manuel



------------------------------

Message: 8
Date: Thu, 2 Sep 2004 02:33:10 +0200
From: Manuel Bessler <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Radio Hardware.
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

On Sun, Aug 29, 2004 at 07:23:21AM -0700, martin pardee wrote:
> manuel,
> 
> my 
> (original) primary motivation was to obtain (buy) enough hardware that i could
> have a Fsim that closely resembled the cockpit of the plane i fly ( a piper
> cherokee 180).
> 
> 
> the costs on this approach would easily cover the amount i spend on the anual
> inspection for the airplane.  not a good choice. so...
> that left me with building my own.  after examining (and purchasing) 2 other
> comnmercially avaialable flight sims, i decided that the only practical
> solution was to work with a sim that permitted me access to internals.
> 
> that's how i ended up pestering all of you...  
> 
> :)
> martin

For the hardware part, there's a whole (heavily MSFS biased) community
of "home cockpit builders". There are a few forums where we 'hang out'
and exchange tips and ideas. 
We've also setup a wiki for that kind of stuff:
  http://wiki.varxec.net

My co-builder Stephen is currently working on his C172 radio replicas:
  http://cockpit.varxec.net/stephen/gal/xpdr_galleryidx.html

Believe me, the way he builds the stuff is one of the cheapest possible :-)


Regards,
Manuel



------------------------------

Message: 9
Date: Wed, 1 Sep 2004 17:46:27 -0700 (PDT)
From: martin pardee <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Radio Hardware.
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

manuel,

it's good of you to answer me. i take some conmfort from knowing that there are
others engaged in this activity. i fell a little less like a reclusive nut case
:)

i was wondering if you had an approach to interfacing to the FG sim. since it's
obvious that you and Stephen are pretty deep into this, it seems that you must
also have tackled the interface work as well.  i am guessing that you are NOT
using a telnet connection to the sim.

martin

--- Manuel Bessler <[EMAIL PROTECTED]> wrote:

> On Sun, Aug 29, 2004 at 07:23:21AM -0700, martin pardee wrote:
> > manuel,
> > 
> > my 
> > (original) primary motivation was to obtain (buy) enough hardware that i
> could
> > have a Fsim that closely resembled the cockpit of the plane i fly ( a piper
> > cherokee 180).
> > 
> > 
> > the costs on this approach would easily cover the amount i spend on the
> anual
> > inspection for the airplane.  not a good choice. so...
> > that left me with building my own.  after examining (and purchasing) 2
> other
> > comnmercially avaialable flight sims, i decided that the only practical
> > solution was to work with a sim that permitted me access to internals.
> > 
> > that's how i ended up pestering all of you...  
> > 
> > :)
> > martin
> 
> For the hardware part, there's a whole (heavily MSFS biased) community
> of "home cockpit builders". There are a few forums where we 'hang out'
> and exchange tips and ideas. 
> We've also setup a wiki for that kind of stuff:
>   http://wiki.varxec.net
> 
> My co-builder Stephen is currently working on his C172 radio replicas:
>   http://cockpit.varxec.net/stephen/gal/xpdr_galleryidx.html
> 
> Believe me, the way he builds the stuff is one of the cheapest possible :-)
> 
> 
> Regards,
> Manuel
> 
> _______________________________________________
> Flightgear-devel mailing list
> [EMAIL PROTECTED]
> http://mail.flightgear.org/mailman/listinfo/flightgear-devel
> 2f585eeea02e2c79d7b1d8c4963bae2d
> 



                
__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - Send 10MB messages!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail 



------------------------------

Message: 10
Date: Wed, 1 Sep 2004 18:18:44 -0700 (PDT)
From: Bohnert Paul <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Flightgear-devel] Fedora Core 2, What glut?
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

This is my first attempt at making FlightGear.

My OS is Fedora Core 2. I have FlighGear-0.9.5 source.
I have glut-3.7-12.lvn.1.1.i386rpm installed.

When I run configure it reports;

checking GL/glut.h usability... no
checking GL/glut.h presence... no
checking for GL/glut.h... no
checking GLUT/glut.h usability... no
checking GLUT/glut.h presence... no
checking for GLUT/glut.h... no
Neither GL/glut.h nor GLUT/glut.h found.  Cannot
continue

What version of glut do I need?  Where do I look in
the source to tell what glut I need?  Or, where am I
going wrong?

Thanks,   Paul



                
__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
New and Improved Yahoo! Mail - Send 10MB messages!
http://promotions.yahoo.com/new_mail 



------------------------------

Message: 11
Date: Thu, 2 Sep 2004 03:46:15 +0200
From: Manuel Bessler <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Flightgear-devel] Radio Hardware.
To: FlightGear developers discussions
        <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

On Wed, Sep 01, 2004 at 05:46:27PM -0700, martin pardee wrote:
> manuel,
> 
> it's good of you to answer me. i take some conmfort from knowing that there are
> others engaged in this activity. i fell a little less like a reclusive nut case
> :)
> 
> i was wondering if you had an approach to interfacing to the FG sim. since it's
> obvious that you and Stephen are pretty deep into this, it seems that you must
> also have tackled the interface work as well.  i am guessing that you are NOT
> using a telnet connection to the sim.

No, I'm not. But I haven't written much of the stuff I have in my mind,
and nothing on the fg side at all.

The software that talks to the hardware side uses a property tree
similar to the one flightgear uses internally. I plan on making a
"bridge" between those two. 
The basic idea is to have my prop tree to update fg's prop tree if eg.
switches get flipped,... and have something like a "subscription" to
certain fg prop tree nodes which get propagated from fg to my
prop tree whenever fg makes changes to the value of the subscribed node.
Eg. airspeed increases by 1 knot: fg tells my prop tree that the
airspeed node has changed to x knots, to which my software can respond,
eg tell the real hardware airspeed gauge to move to the new value.


Regards,
Manuel



------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Flightgear-devel mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://mail.flightgear.org/mailman/listinfo/flightgear-devel


End of Flightgear-devel Digest, Vol 17, Issue 4
***********************************************

_______________________________________________
Flightgear-devel mailing list
[EMAIL PROTECTED]
http://mail.flightgear.org/mailman/listinfo/flightgear-devel
2f585eeea02e2c79d7b1d8c4963bae2d

Reply via email to