On Jan  18, 2007, at Thursday, Jan18, 2007 5:36 PM, Murray Taylor wrote:


This is an issue here at work. We have very many FreeBSD 4.x
machines and a
growing number of FreeBSD 6.x. The change when daylight
saving time starts
and ends is an issue for machines in the United States and, we think,
those in Canada. The way to check if your zone file is
correct is to do

    zdump -v /etc/localtime | more

Look for the following


    /etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11
01:59:59 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
    /etc/localtime  Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11
03:00:00 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
    /etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4
01:59:59 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
    /etc/localtime  Sun Nov  4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4
01:00:00 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800

If you see this, your zone file will handle the change
correctly. The 6.x
series has the corrected zone files. 4.x does not have this.
The best way
to handle this is to copy the zone file from
/usr/share/zoneinfo on a 6.x
machine to your 4.x.


Josef


Interesting:

Just did an upgrade to 6.2-STABLE from 6.1-RELEASE-p10 and here is what I see.

uname -r

6.2-STABLE

zdump -v -c 2008 MST7MDT

MST7MDT Sun Mar 11 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200 MST7MDT Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600 MST7MDT Sun Nov 4 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600 MST7MDT Sun Nov 4 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200

Shows the new MST -> MDT and MDT -> MST dates

zdump -v -c 2008 /etc/localtime

/etc/localtime Sun Apr 1 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200 /etc/localtime Sun Apr 1 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr 1 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600 /etc/localtime Sun Oct 28 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600 /etc/localtime Sun Oct 28 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200

Shows the old MST -> MDT and MDT -> MST dates

What did I miss?  What do I do next?

hal
_______________________________________________
freebsd-questions@freebsd.org mailing list
http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions
To unsubscribe, send any mail to "[EMAIL PROTECTED]"

Reply via email to