On Feb 22, 2007, at 9:33 AM, Lisa Casey wrote:

Hi,

I just read through this entire thread and I have a couple of questions. I have several FreeBSD 5.4 systems. I did the date -r commands as suggested on one of these systems and it doesn't appear to switch over to daylight savings time on Sunday March 11 at 2 AM.

I looked in /usr/ports/misc but there isn't a zoneinfo port (on this system). I searched a bit and found this:

Lisa,

If you can't use the ports to update your time zone files here is the manual procedure.

1. create a new directory and cd into it
   e.g. # mkdir myzoneinfo; cd myzoneinfo

2. # fetch ftp://elsie.nci.nih.gov/pub/tzdata2007b.tar.gz

3. # tar -zxvf tzdata2007b.tar.gz

4. you will now have a bunch of files in the directory extracted from tzdata2007b.
   you need to edit zone.tab and comment out these lines

#AX     +6006+01957     Europe/Mariehamn
#GG     +4927-00232     Europe/Guernsey
#IM     +5409-00428     Europe/Isle_of_Man
#JE     +4912-00207     Europe/Jersey
#ME     +4226+01916     Europe/Podgorica
#RS     +4450+02030     Europe/Belgrade
#TL     -0833+12535     Asia/Dili

5. run this command
   # zic -d ./zoneinfo -p America/Los_Angeles -m 0644 -y ./yearistype \
       africa antarctica asia australasia etcetera europe \
       factory northamerica southamerica systemv

   that's all one long line
   the zic command will create a new directory named zoneinfo and
   fill it with the new zoneinfo files.  You can compare it to
   /usr/share/zoneinfo

6. install the new files by running
   # cp -R -p ./zoneinfo/ /usr/share/zoneinfo
   # cp ./zone.tab /usr/share/zoneinfo
   # tzsetup

7. to verify that all went well run
   # zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
   your should get

/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800 /etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200 /etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200 /etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800


I've done this on 1/2 dozen older 4.x and 5.x servers and it works fine.

Dan





radius# find / -name zoneinfo -print
/usr/share/zoneinfo
/usr/compat/linux/usr/share/zoneinfo
radius# find / -name tzsetup -print
/usr/sbin/tzsetup

Here's my question. tzsetup seems to already be on this system. I have not used it before, so am unfamiliar with it. Can I just run that now and make whatever changes are necessary to fix this system so that it recognises daylight savings changes? Or am I going to have to download some updated zone files first? In this thread, someone suggested doing the following:

cd /usr/src/share/zoneinfo
fetch ftp://elsie.nci.nih.gov/pub/tzdata2007a.tar.gz
tar -zxvf tzdata2007a.tar.gz
make
make install

cp -f /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles
/etc/localtime
chmod 444 /etc/localtime

I have attempted that, but when I unzip/untar tzdata2007b.tar.gz (there isn't an "a" file there anymore, just the "b" one), I get several files but there is no target for the make command.

Are there any special considerations any of you might be aware of depending on what function my freebsd servers are serving? One does radius authentication using Free Radius, another is our web server (Apache2) and primary DNS (Bind 9), a third is a mail server (Sendmail).

I'm sorry - I'm just kinda confused as to how I ought to handle this issue.

Thanks,

Lisa Casey

_______________________________________________
freebsd-questions@freebsd.org mailing list
http://lists.freebsd.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions
To unsubscribe, send any mail to "[EMAIL PROTECTED]"

Reply via email to