Thank you, Eric,  very much for the prompt response and help!
This clears up things quite a bit and helps me greatly in planning my uses
for Freedos. All of the links you pointed to below will be most valuable.

*By the way, do you know of any sites/centers dedicated to legacy (or
modern) multi-user dos - based systems? I'm trying to get a listing of
available resources. Whatever you can pass on would, again, by greatly
appreciated.

Thanks again, and keep it going!
Sundragon (Taiyang de'Long)-


On Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 8:24 PM, <freedos-user-requ...@lists.sourceforge.net
> wrote:

> Send Freedos-user mailing list submissions to
>        freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
>
> To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
>        https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/freedos-user
> or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
>        freedos-user-requ...@lists.sourceforge.net
>
> You can reach the person managing the list at
>        freedos-user-ow...@lists.sourceforge.net
>
> When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
> than "Re: Contents of Freedos-user digest..."
>
>
> Today's Topics:
>
>   1. Re: PocketDOS (Christian Masloch)
>   2. Clamav 0.95 Port (Blair Campbell)
>   3. Re: FreeDOS on Virtual PC 2007 (Michael Horvath)
>   4. Re: PocketDOS (Michael Horvath)
>   5. [BUG] FreeDOS not compatible with escape [NEW]
>      (Michael Reichenbach)
>   6. FreeDOS (Mwanga Wa Jua)
>   7. Re: FreeDOS (Eric Auer)
>
>
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> Message: 1
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 15:45:02 +0100
> From: "Christian Masloch" <c...@bttr-software.de>
> Subject: Re: [Freedos-user] PocketDOS
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID: <op.uq81xcarz9d...@isor>
> Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; delsp=yes;
>        charset=iso-8859-15
>
> Hi,
>
> >>> I am using ndn, it's good, there is a DPMI32 DOS release.
> >>> http://ndn.muxe.com/
> >
> >> I am trying ndn. I am able to install it in FreeDOS on Virtual PC on my
> >> XP machine, but in PocketDOS I get the error, "Load error: can't switch
> >> mode", when trying to run the installer. Any clue how to fix this?
> >
> > Maybe your PocketDOS computer has an older than 386 CPU?
> > Or maybe it has an ancient version of EMM386 which does
> > not let DOS programs use 32bit protected mode?
>
> Of course DPMI doesn't work on PocketDOS, because it (by default) emulates
> a real mode 80286 processor only. (XMS and EMS services are provided by
> PocketDOS-specific drivers.) I downloaded the demo version (for x86
> Windows) and it's really nice. It integrates the running DOS into the host
> OS with a filesystem redirector to access the host's files.
>
> On http://www.pocketdos.com/download.htm there are binaries for various
> platforms listed which extend PocketDOS's emulation to an 80486 processor.
> This should allow to use DPMI programs, too. If you don't want to use one
> of these (possibly too slow?), try to use DOS file managers that run in
> real mode only.
>
> Regards,
> Christian
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 2
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 12:56:39 -0700
> From: Blair Campbell <blaird...@gmail.com>
> Subject: [Freedos-user] Clamav 0.95 Port
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net,         FreeDOS Devel
>        <freedos-de...@lists.sourceforge.net>
> Message-ID:
>        <7705c9030903231256j23777a20lfba6b64c01032...@mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
> Hi I'm announcing a port of Clamav 0.95 to DOS.  The patch I used to
> compile it is in the main clamav source distribution in contrib/DJGPP.
>  For this release I have separated clamavx.zip into clamavx.zip and
> clamdbx.zip.  Packages are available at
> http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/system/clamav
> as clamavx.zip, clamavs.zip, and clamdbx.zip
>
> Enjoy
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 3
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 17:50:44 -0400
> From: Michael Horvath <mikh2...@gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [Freedos-user] FreeDOS on Virtual PC 2007
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID: <49c80434.10...@gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed
>
> Mateusz Viste wrote:
> > Setting the BLASTER environment variable
> >
> > This section may be useful if you are having problems with sound or music
> in
> > a DOS-based Apogee game.  If you're trying to run a Windows-based game,
> this
> > section does not apply to you.
> >
> > Apogee's DOS games that use Soundblasters look at the BLASTER environment
> > variable to figure out where to send its sound output.  Check to make
> sure
> > that you have the SET BLASTER line in your AUTOEXEC.BAT file.  This code
> is
> > an example and probably isn't exactly what you need to put in your
> system.
> >
> > Note that this BLASTER environment variable applies for many Apogee games
> > regardless of whether or not you have an actual Sound Blaster card or
> not.
> > These settings tell the game how your sound card is configured,
> regardless of
> > what brand it actually is.
> >
> > SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T3 P330 H6 E620
> >  |    |     |    |  |  |  |    |  |
> >  |    |     |    |  |  |  |    |  |_______ AWE 32 Only Parameter
> >  |    |     |    |  |  |  |    |__________ "High" DMA Channel
> >  |    |     |    |  |  |  |_______________ MIDI Port
> >  |    |     |    |  |  |__________________ Type of Card
> >  |    |     |    |  |_____________________ DMA Channel
> >  |    |     |    |________________________ Interrupt
> >  |    |     |_____________________________ Port Address
> >  |    |___________________________________ Environment Variable
> >  |________________________________________ DOS Command
> >
> > NOTE: There can be no spaces between the word BLASTER and the equal sign
> (=).
> > If you have a space in there, your system will read the parameter
> incorrectly,
> > and it will not be recognized by our games.
> >
> > (Some of these parameters (P, H, and E) are dependant on certain types of
> > cards.  For example, the E is only needed if you have an AWE 32.  The
> > minimum requirements are to have the A, I, D, & T parameters.  The other
> > three may or may not be needed depending on what type of card you have.
> > Please read this entire section to see if you need any of them.  If you
> > are using a clone card, or some card that's not a "true" Soundblaster,
> > then you will most likely only need A, I, D, and T.)
> >
> > Now, these may not (most likely not) be the same for your board, because
> the
> > Port Address, Interrupt and DMA Channel can be set by adjusting "jumpers"
> on
> > your sound board.  Some newer cards have this information controlled by
> > software, please consult your card's manual for more information on how
> to set
> > these things.  You should also check your manual if you are unclear as to
> how
> > to tell what settings your card is set at.  The information *IS*
> important, so
> > it's recommended that you know precisely what the settings are.  If you
> are
> > using a card that "emulates" the Soundblaster (such as the Gravis
> UltraSound
> > through software, or the PAS16), you should check your card's manual on
> how to
> > set the card for Soundblaster emulation.
> >
> > For PORT ADDRESS, it's almost always 220.  That seems to be the default
> for
> > most sound cards out there, and unless you know you've switched it away
> from
> > 220, it's a safe bet it's still there.
> >
> > The INTERRUPT is something that varies from system to system.  Mystic
> Towers
> > and games prior to Raptor require that your IRQ be set at 7 or less.
>  Apogee
> > does not recommend using IRQ2, as it causes problems.
> >
> > The DMA CHANNEL sometimes causes problems if it isn't set to 1, which is
> the
> > usual default.  If it is not set correctly, some Apogee games may lock up
> > when the sound is turned on.
> >
> > The TYPE OF CARD should be 1 if you have an older Soundblaster, or a
> Sound
> > Blaster emulating card.  Use 3 if you have a newer plain Soundblaster.
>  Use
> > 2 for an older Soundblaster Pro.  Use 4 for a newer Soundblaster Pro.
> >
> > The MIDI PORT parameter will only be needed if you are using a card that
> has
> > MIDI capabilites.  If so, this is where you define what MIDI port you are
> > using.  330 seems to be the default, so if you have a MIDI card, and you
> > haven't changed anything from factory defaults, this is probably where it
> still
> > is.
> >
> > The HIGH DMA CHANNEL is something that is used primarily on Soundblaster
> 16
> > cards.  This is not the same as the standard DMA channel, this is a
> different
> > one.  This is only used if you're using a 16 bit sound card capable of
> playing
> > 16 bit Soundblaster sounds.  By default, this is usually 5, so unless you
> know
> > that it's something else, it's probably still 5.
> >
> > The E620 parameter is something that is needed _only_ if you have a
> Creative
> > Labs AWE 32 sound card.  If you have one of these, this parameter will
> have
> > been set up properly assuming you've installed the software that came
> with the
> > card.  Check your AWE 32 documentation for a more thorough explanation of
> what
> > this parameter is used for.
> >
> > Note on the Soundblaster AWE64:  The AWE64 will not always correctly set
> up
> > its sound drivers for use in Windows 95 in relation to DOS games.  There
> is
> > information on how to get around this in the README.TXT file that is
> installed
> > on your hard drive in the AWE64 driver directory.
> >
> > Note on Hocus Pocus:  This game was made when there were only four
> possible
> > parameters for the BLASTER environment variable (A, I, D, and T).  Due to
> the
> > way the game parses the variable, the game probably won't work correctly
> > unless the BLASTER environment variable ONLY has those four parameters
> and
> > no others.  One way to work around this conveniently is to write a batch
> file
> > for the game that sets the BLASTER variable so it only contains these
> four
> > parameters, runs the game, and then restores the settings afterward.
> >
> > After you have entered the correct SET BLASTER line in your AUTOEXEC.BAT
> > file, make sure you save the change, delete the game's config file
> (????.CFG),
> > and reboot before you try playing the game again.
>
> Awesome! That description is very thorough. I've also asked what the
> correct settings are in the Virtual PC newsgroup.
>
> -Mike
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 4
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 17:50:55 -0400
> From: Michael Horvath <mikh2...@gmail.com>
> Subject: Re: [Freedos-user] PocketDOS
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID: <49c8043f.8010...@gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed
>
> Christian Masloch wrote:
> > Of course DPMI doesn't work on PocketDOS, because it (by default)
> emulates
> > a real mode 80286 processor only. (XMS and EMS services are provided by
> > PocketDOS-specific drivers.) I downloaded the demo version (for x86
> > Windows) and it's really nice. It integrates the running DOS into the
> host
> > OS with a filesystem redirector to access the host's files.
> >
> > On http://www.pocketdos.com/download.htm there are binaries for various
> > platforms listed which extend PocketDOS's emulation to an 80486
> processor.
> > This should allow to use DPMI programs, too. If you don't want to use one
> > of these (possibly too slow?), try to use DOS file managers that run in
> > real mode only.
> >
> > Regards,
> > Christian
>
> Thanks for the tip! However, if the 486 emulation is any slower than the
> 286 emulation than I will have to pass on it. The version I have
> installed currently is already very sluggish and drains my battery in
> little over an hour.
>
> -Mike
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 5
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 22:52:43 +0100
> From: Michael Reichenbach <michael_reichenb...@freenet.de>
> Subject: [Freedos-user] [BUG] FreeDOS not compatible with escape [NEW]
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID: <49c804ab.2060...@freenet.de>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
> website: http://au.geocities.com/short_stop_pacific/freesoft/system.htm
> look for ESCAPE / BREAK (documentation, binary and source)
>
> it's an TSR which provides to quit any application, those without quit
> button and also hanging applications.
>
> In MS-DOS 7.1 with no config.sys/autoexec.bat it works.
> With FreeDOS kernel 2038 it hangs, shows short some weird chars and then
> black screen.
>
> regards,
> -mr
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 6
> Date: Mon, 23 Mar 2009 19:27:24 -0400
> From: Mwanga Wa Jua <sundragon...@gmail.com>
> Subject: [Freedos-user] FreeDOS
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID:
>        <883121890903231627q1b35bcc8x5e6285417bb46...@mail.gmail.com>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"
>
> Greeings!
>
> Just subscribed to the group and would like to get a bit of clarity about
> FreeDOS.
>
> I know it has grown out of several different legacy/vintage DOS-based OSs,
> but is it still a multi-user OS? Does it support multiple logins/terminal
> sessions?
>
> Where can I get a full spec-list of FreeDOS's current features? User guide?
> Administration manual? How-to reference pages for configuring various
> environments.
>
> A good source of dos-based applications to run on FreeDos: word processors,
> text editors, menu programs,
>               language interpreters/compilers, databases,      database
> applications, etc.
>
> Thank you much-
> -------------- next part --------------
> An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
>
> ------------------------------
>
> Message: 7
> Date: Tue, 24 Mar 2009 01:24:22 +0100
> From: Eric Auer <e.a...@jpberlin.de>
> Subject: Re: [Freedos-user] FreeDOS
> To: freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> Message-ID: <49c82836.2080...@jpberlin.de>
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
>
>
> Hi Mwanga Wa Jua,
>
> > I know it has grown out of several different legacy/vintage DOS-based
> OSs,
> > but is it still a multi-user OS? Does it support multiple logins/terminal
> > sessions?
>
> FreeDOS never was a multi-user OS as far as I remember. It is based
> on the FreeDOS / DOS-C kernel and the FreeCOM command.com shell but
> today the word FreeDOS also describes the distro, which means the
> collection of free DOS software that you get when you install from
> the CD. There are also FreeDOS floppy distros such as for example
> http://rugxulo.googlepages.com/ which you can also use (eg by using
> the 2.88 MB floppy as boot image for a data CD or DVD) to create a
> small but fresh boot CD :-).
>
> > Where can I get a full spec-list of FreeDOS's current features?
>
> Kernel features: See text file included in the kernel package:
> www.freedos.org/freedos/software/ - base - kernel
> (2036 stable, 2037 devel, also 2038 planned next stable)
>
> Basically it is just a normal DOS, similar to MS DOS 5 or 7
> depending on whether you use kernels without or with FAT32.
>
> Distro: You can read the list of software (see above) to see
> which programs are included. You can also read a collection
> of help texts in our HTMLHELP package. You can help us by
> checking the upcoming version and reporting questions on it:
>
> http://home.mnet-online.de/willybilly/fdoshelp/en/index.htm
> http://home.mnet-online.de/willybilly/fdoshelp/de/index.htm
> (Comments on the German translation are welcome, too!)
>
> > User guide?
>
> See above.
>
> > Administration manual?
>
> There is no real administration beyond writing config and
> autoexec files. Works similar to MS DOS but the drivers
> are usually more modern and use different options, so you
> should have a look at the docs of the drivers if they do
> not do what you would "classically" expect them to do...
>
> > How-to reference pages for configuring various environments.
>
> There is a network connection guide for example, but note
> that DOS does not have built-in network! It is drivers and
> apps which can have networking, the DOS kernel only looks at
> what the drivers do for it. http://lazybrowndog.net/freedos/
>
> You can also find several Wiki, FAQ and Howto pages linked
> from the www.freedos.org startpage and other places there.
>
> > A good source of dos-based applications to run on FreeDos:
> > word processors, text editors, menu programs, language
> > interpreters/compilers, databases, database applications, etc.
>
> See the software list above, but also the link collection:
> http://www.freedos.org/freedos/links/
> And of course: You can run almost all programs which are
> made for "DOS" (typically MS DOS) with any DOS, including
> FreeDOS and PC DOS and DR DOS and so on. If some programs
> only work in another DOS but not in FreeDOS, write about
> that problem on the mailing list.
>
> Thanks :-)
>
> Eric
>
>
>
>
>
> ------------------------------
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Apps built with the Adobe(R) Flex(R) framework and Flex Builder(TM) are
> powering Web 2.0 with engaging, cross-platform capabilities. Quickly and
> easily build your RIAs with Flex Builder, the Eclipse(TM)based development
> software that enables intelligent coding and step-through debugging.
> Download the free 60 day trial. http://p.sf.net/sfu/www-adobe-com
>
> ------------------------------
>
> _______________________________________________
> Freedos-user mailing list
> Freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
> https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/freedos-user
>
>
> End of Freedos-user Digest, Vol 220, Issue 1
> ********************************************
>
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Apps built with the Adobe(R) Flex(R) framework and Flex Builder(TM) are
powering Web 2.0 with engaging, cross-platform capabilities. Quickly and
easily build your RIAs with Flex Builder, the Eclipse(TM)based development
software that enables intelligent coding and step-through debugging.
Download the free 60 day trial. http://p.sf.net/sfu/www-adobe-com
_______________________________________________
Freedos-user mailing list
Freedos-user@lists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/freedos-user

Reply via email to