Bugs item #1596830, was opened at 2006-11-15 10:08
Message generated for change (Comment added) made by leathergloves
You can respond by visiting: 
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=100235&aid=1596830&group_id=235

Please note that this message will contain a full copy of the comment thread,
including the initial issue submission, for this request,
not just the latest update.
Category: None
Group: 2.0.0 beta 5
Status: Open
Resolution: None
Priority: 5
Private: No
Submitted By: NEO256 (lord_neo256)
Assigned to: Sean Egan (seanegan)
Summary: Yahoo avatar is not shown to other user

Initial Comment:
It doesn't matter if I set a general avatar or a yahoo specific avatar the 
avatar is not shown to the party at the other side of Yahoo.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: leathergloves (leathergloves)
Date: 2007-02-26 21:23

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1623108
Originator: NO

advantis, I followed your suggestions and prepared myself an avatar scaled
at 96x96 (24 true color) PNG.
It worked; yahoo messenger people could see it.
Now, (after a week) I just changed the image with another (same settings).
I asked some people in my list, but they said it didn't update. I restarted
gaim and.. nothing. They're seeing the previous avatar.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Uplink (advantis)
Date: 2007-02-24 23:09

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=936879
Originator: NO

It seems I got lucky. The behavior I doesn't always work. I don't know
what made it work the first time. On the same computer, it didn't work on
the next day.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Uplink (advantis)
Date: 2007-02-17 01:57

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=936879
Originator: NO

After seeing the duplicate bugs and their comments, I took a look in
GAIM's icon cache to see what format are the pictures coming from users of
Yahoo Messenger, Trillian and possibly others.

I found out that GAIM allows any image size while all the others are 96x96
pixels. To be more specific, I found these three formats (according to
"file") to form 99% of the icon cache (all of the on the Yahoo! network,
the other 1% are from GAIM (non 96x96 PNGs), an one picture being a JPEG
from Google Talk and a 5-6 are HTTP sessions/errors from Yahoo when GAIM
tried retrieving avatars):

PNG image data, 96 x 96, 8-bit colormap, non-interlaced
PNG image data, 96 x 96, 8-bit/color RGBA, non-interlaced
PNG image data, 96 x 96, 8-bit/color RGB, non-interlaced

I didn't run any thorough tests, but I took one "96 x 96, 8-bit colormap"
from the cache and set it as my avatar. And it is displayed OK in the
Windows Yahoo Messenger client.

My guess is that GAIM 1.5 used to enforce these limits on the Yahoo!
network and stopped doing it somewhere on the way to 2.0. Base on this
guess, the fix would look like this:
1. large images:
   a. shrink image so one of the smallest dimension is 96. Crop the other
dimension to 96, keeping the image center.
   b. shrink image so the largest dimension is 96. Center the image on the
smallest dimension. Fill remaining space with white so the result is
96x96.
2. small images:
   a. same as 1a, but stretch instead of shrink
   b. same as 1b, but stretch instead of shrink

Now, I don't know which of a and b is better to use. I'm not sure how YM
does it, but so far it looks like point a. Why point a? Because it's easier
to crop than to center+fill.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Megan Schneider (ciran)
Date: 2007-02-16 22:48

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=801517
Originator: NO

Has duplicate 1592318

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Megan Schneider (ciran)
Date: 2007-02-16 21:23

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=801517
Originator: NO

Has duplicate 1621161

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: leathergloves (leathergloves)
Date: 2007-01-31 16:30

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1623108
Originator: NO

It's beta6 now, and the Yahoo! Messenger users still can't see my avatar.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Uplink (advantis)
Date: 2007-01-04 13:39

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=936879
Originator: NO

The local-set avatar is visible on other GAIM 2.0.0beta5, 2.0.0beta3.1
clients when I'm using 2.0.0beta5. On GAIM 1.5.1 the Yahoo-set avatar is
visible when I'm using 2.0.0beta5. On YM neither one is visible, but a
white square is displayed instead when I'm using GAIM 2.0.0beta5. Any ideas
why this is happening?

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: leathergloves (leathergloves)
Date: 2006-12-30 12:44

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1623108
Originator: NO

In windows it doesn't work. If you change your avatar in beta5, in Yahoo!
Messenger you either get a black square or nothing.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Johnny Levai (nrg88)
Date: 2006-12-28 23:12

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1670548
Originator: NO

Hm, tested it in Kopete, and avatar changing worked :(
Looks like the bug is in Gaim beta 5

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: leathergloves (leathergloves)
Date: 2006-12-20 01:31

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1623108
Originator: NO

Yes I can confirm that.

Since the beta versions following 1.5.0 it doesn't work. It's a gaim bug.

In win32 with normal yahoo, yahoo 1.5.0 and 2.0beta5 running in parallel
you can change your avatar only in 1.5.0! (and obviously normal yahoo)

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Johnny Levai (nrg88)
Date: 2006-12-18 00:19

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1670548
Originator: NO

Hm, it just fixed itself, this must have been an error in the yahoo
service, I don't think it's a bug in gaim. 
I deleted my old account, restarted gaim, and it didn't help, but it was
working with my new yahoo account. Then after midnight the avatar worked
for my old account. You know, yahoo is a buggy pile of s**t

----------------------------------------------------------------------

Comment By: Johnny Levai (nrg88)
Date: 2006-12-17 21:38

Message:
Logged In: YES 
user_id=1670548
Originator: NO

I can confirm this, it was working with my account, but then it stopped
setting up an avatar. I tried with another account, and it works with it,
but it doesn't with my old account.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

You can respond by visiting: 
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&atid=100235&aid=1596830&group_id=235

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Take Surveys. Earn Cash. Influence the Future of IT
Join SourceForge.net's Techsay panel and you'll get the chance to share your
opinions on IT & business topics through brief surveys-and earn cash
http://www.techsay.com/default.php?page=join.php&p=sourceforge&CID=DEVDEV
_______________________________________________
Gaim-bugs mailing list
Gaim-bugs@lists.sourceforge.net
https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/gaim-bugs

Reply via email to