I just figured it out.  Place them in the GIMP mother folder.


----- Original Message ----- From: <gimp-user-list-requ...@gnome.org>
To: <gimp-user-list@gnome.org>
Sent: 2012-08-17 00:55
Subject: gimp-user-list Digest, Vol 11, Issue 47


Send gimp-user-list mailing list submissions to
gimp-user-list@gnome.org

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user-list
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
gimp-user-list-requ...@gnome.org

You can reach the person managing the list at
gimp-user-list-ow...@gnome.org

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of gimp-user-list digest..."


Today's Topics:

  1. Re:  GIMP is GREAT! (Stephen Allen)
  2.  installing help files (Chuck Gee)
  3. Re:  GIMP opening screen (scl)
  4.  build 2.8 on FreeBSD question (Waitman Gobble)
  5. Re:  build 2.8 on FreeBSD question (Tobias Jakobs)
  6.  how to fill... (SavvySaffer)
  7.  Extreme newby needs some help please! (SavvySaffer)
  8. Re:  GIMP opening screen (Nik Omul)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2012 06:53:41 -0400
From: Stephen Allen <marathon.duran...@gmail.com>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] GIMP is GREAT!
Message-ID: <20120816105341.ga14...@thinkpad.gateway.2wire.net>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

On Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 05:16:24PM +0200, maderios wrote:

Hi Alexandre

Really ? In 1987, "digital photography"  didn't exist... We
(photographers) were using color slides, and the contrast was a big
problem... Easier with negative but useless for commercial use.
Then, 1990 years, some colleagues began using P$$op for editing and
archiving their photos. It was the beginning.....

"Thomas renamed his program Photoshop and worked out a short-term
deal with scanner manufacturer Barneyscan to distribute copies of
the program with a slide scanner"
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adobe_Photoshop#Early_history

It was used in the printing industry, PrePress long before Photographers
started using it. That was what kept us busy in the scanning department
during the late 80s & 90s.

Really Wikipedia is a great resource, however it's not definitive. If
you go to about Photoshop you'll still see the Knoll name in the
credits, so I'll take the originators word over Wikipedia, thank-you very
much.


------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2012 10:53:30 -0700
From: Chuck Gee <chu...@hotmail.com>
To: <gimp-user-list@gnome.org>
Subject: [Gimp-user] installing help files
Message-ID: <blu150-w537e2ab42b96fb1cd9ba3dde...@phx.gbl>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"





Hi:
I just installed 2.8 and have downloaded the help files, but cannot figure out the destination folder/location for extracting them. I am using Windows Vista.
Thank you,
Chuck

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://mail.gnome.org/archives/gimp-user-list/attachments/20120816/37ee1f26/attachment.html>

------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2012 20:09:50 +0200
From: scl <sc...@die-optimisten.net>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] GIMP opening screen
Message-ID: <502d376e.2050...@die-optimisten.net>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

Hi,

to me it seems you expect the toolbar and brushes dock to the left side
docked. To achieve this, toggle Windows/Single Window Mode.
The tabs on the upper right side will appear when there's more than one
image open. To see them simply open or create another file.
Don't mind the dark theme of your GIMP vs. the fawn one from the
tutorial. That's no error. If you don't like it, you can choose another
theme in Edit/Preferences/Theme.

BTW: The subject 'GIMP opening screen' is a bit misleading, because it
lets one think of the splash screen with the progress bar. To be more
precise, you could for instance use 'GIMP screen after opening a file'
next time ;-)

Kind regards,

Sven



------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2012 12:40:37 -0700 (PDT)
From: "Waitman Gobble" <uzi...@da3m0n8t3r.com>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Subject: [Gimp-user] build 2.8 on FreeBSD question
Message-ID: <1345146037.82...@da3m0n8t3r.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Hi,

I'm building gimp on a FreeBSD 10.0-CURRENT machine, with gtk3.
I have a failure in at-spi2-core when it does the g-ir-scanner bit. It looks like it's possibly ignoring the include spec for Introspection, it's running:

# /usr/local/bin/g-ir-scanner -v --namespace Atspi --nsversion=2.0 -I.. -I.. --include=GLib-2.0 --include=GObject-2.0 ....(ETC)

note the -I.. -I..

anyway it's failing, complaining about not finding libintl.h included in glib gi18n.h

I don't see where to add paths in autogen.sh, I edited the Makefile and added -I/usr/local/include to INTROSPECTION_CFLAGS without luck.

I did find that manually changing to atspi path and running g-ir-scanner with an extra -I/usr/local/include does the trick, then gmake can finish the build.


Does anyone have experience with this issue? Either I'm not correctly building at-spi2-core or possibly a bug.

I appreciate any suggestions/pointers.


--
Waitman Gobble
San Jose California USA

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Fri, 17 Aug 2012 07:37:41 +0200
From: Tobias Jakobs <tobias.jak...@gmail.com>
To: Waitman Gobble <uzi...@da3m0n8t3r.com>
Cc: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] build 2.8 on FreeBSD question
Message-ID:
<CAGo+uH144S40po3UMc8dU=txqs7nxvnxzkrju1setgwchas...@mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

I don't know about FreeBSD, gut Gimp 2.8 needs GTK 2.x Hand not GTK3.

Regards
Tobias
Am 16.08.2012 21:49 schrieb "Waitman Gobble" <uzi...@da3m0n8t3r.com>:

Hi,

I'm building gimp on a FreeBSD 10.0-CURRENT machine, with gtk3.
I have a failure in at-spi2-core when it does the g-ir-scanner bit. It
looks like it's possibly ignoring the include spec for Introspection, it's
running:

# /usr/local/bin/g-ir-scanner -v --namespace Atspi --nsversion=2.0 -I..
-I.. --include=GLib-2.0 --include=GObject-2.0 ....(ETC)

note the -I.. -I..

anyway it's failing, complaining about not finding libintl.h included in
glib gi18n.h

I don't see where to add paths in autogen.sh, I edited the Makefile and
added -I/usr/local/include to INTROSPECTION_CFLAGS without luck.

I did find that manually changing to atspi path and running g-ir-scanner
with an extra -I/usr/local/include does the trick, then gmake can finish
the build.


Does anyone have experience with this issue? Either I'm not correctly
building at-spi2-core or possibly a bug.

I appreciate any suggestions/pointers.


--
Waitman Gobble
San Jose California USA

_______________________________________________
gimp-user-list mailing list
gimp-user-list@gnome.org
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user-list


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://mail.gnome.org/archives/gimp-user-list/attachments/20120817/21b01ac4/attachment.html>

------------------------------

Message: 6
Date: Fri, 17 Aug 2012 07:59:51 +0200
From: SavvySaffer <for...@gimpusers.com>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Cc: t...@gimpusers.com
Subject: [Gimp-user] how to fill...
Message-ID: <502dddd7be7c3_31394008c315c54...@wurd.dev001.net.mail>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8

On Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 8:32 AM, scythargon <for...@gimpusers.com> wrote:
I have area(the whole layer) that I have filled with semi-transparent gradient, so now, I select it - (layer->alpha to selection) and trying to fill with ordinary non-transparent color, but I get the same area with the same semi-transparent gradient, the only thing that I changed - the main color of gradient:(

You're selecting only the alpha channel.  On that layer, "Select All",
then fill.

Chris

The Alpha Channel is a greyscale channel that only contains information about the transparency of the pixels in the layer. When you select by alpha channel, you're only selecting the part of the image with non-zero 'opaqueness'.

--
SavvySaffer (via gimpusers.com)


------------------------------

Message: 7
Date: Fri, 17 Aug 2012 08:19:19 +0200
From: SavvySaffer <for...@gimpusers.com>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Cc: t...@gimpusers.com
Subject: [Gimp-user] Extreme newby needs some help please!
Message-ID: <502de26759243_313a4008c315c36...@wurd.dev001.net.mail>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8

Congratulations, you're beginning to get to know your way around Gimp. You've come a long way already!

Working on a layer - You said you selected the layer by turning the layer box to a highlighted color. Take another, closer look at the layers dialog. When you click on the little image of the layer, yes, the whole line will be highlighted, but a narrow WHITE border will appear around the thumbnail. Click on another layer in the same image to see what I mean. Black border... Not selected. White border... selected. When you start working with layer masks this will be vitally important to remember.

Even more subtle is the actual layer name. If the name is written with a bold font, it has NO alpha-channel, and therefore no transparency information. If it is in normal font, the alpha channel is present. Right-click on the layer and add and remove the alpha channel to see how that works.

While we're on the layers, there's an 'eye' button there too. Click it on and off to see the layer. If you apply a tool to a layer below all the visible ones, you won't be able to see your changes (depending on your blending modes, but that's for another discussion).



Hey, that's pretty cool!!? Thanks for sharing!? Now, I understand it better.? One last little thing before I step away for the day.? Sorry to keep bugging y'all.? I spent a pretty frustrating hour not really able to make anything work at all.? When one wishes to use tools to change something about an image, I'd think that if they select the desired layer in the layer box to the right (turning it dark blue over there), I'd think one is good to go as far as modifying it.? Is there some special secret handshake to tell the program that the particular image is what you want to work on, thus, allowing all of the interesting tools to work on it.? I've been able to add an alpha channel to make it transparent, but want to go through and clean it up a bit.? Thanks again.?



________________________________
From: Alexandre Prokoudine <alexandre.prokoud...@gmail.com>
To: "gimp-user-list@gnome.org" <gimp-user-list@gnome.org>
Sent: Monday, August 13, 2012 9:03 AM
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] Extreme newby needs some help please!

On Mon, Aug 13, 2012 at 5:50 PM, Jessica Tomlinson wrote:

am still quite foggy on this whole selecting with a layer mask thing.? Why
would one want some pixels to be partially selected, or partially
transparent?

Jessica,

There are many uses for that. In general, this way you can make
gradual transitions between two layers.

For example, a typical sunset photo has a sky that looks OK, but the
ground/water is a bit too dark.

You can duplicate the original layer, then raise brightness of one of
the layers, then combine them via a layer mask, where selection
gradually changes. As the result, both sky and ground/water will look
just like when you were taking the picture.

Here is another example of, ahem, artistic use of this feature:
http://prokoudine.info/gallery/images/20060901222040_img_0450.jpg

Alexandre Prokoudine
http://libregraphicsworld.org


--
SavvySaffer (via gimpusers.com)

------------------------------

Message: 8
Date: Thu, 16 Aug 2012 08:49:46 -0700 (PDT)
From: Nik Omul <nik-o...@yandex.ru>
To: gimp-user-list@gnome.org
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] GIMP opening screen
Message-ID: <1345132186056-35003.p...@n5.nabble.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8


Ron Leonard wrote

What am I doing wrong? I'm running OS 10.6.8 & GIMP V 2.8.0p1. My opening
screen looks like this ...




but the tutorials show this screen ...


_______________________________________________
gimp-user-list mailing list
gimp-user-list@
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user-list


If you are referring to single-window vs multiple-window mode, you can
change it by toggling Single-Window mode in Menu/Windows.



-----
Nik O.
?????? ?????
--
View this message in context: http://gimp.1065349.n5.nabble.com/GIMP-opening-screen-tp34998p35003.html
Sent from the Users mailing list archive at Nabble.com.


------------------------------

_______________________________________________
gimp-user-list mailing list
gimp-user-list@gnome.org
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user-list


End of gimp-user-list Digest, Vol 11, Issue 47
**********************************************

_______________________________________________
gimp-user-list mailing list
gimp-user-list@gnome.org
https://mail.gnome.org/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user-list

Reply via email to