Can somebody tell me if, GIMP have the compression file option, beside the file format change. Thanks ----- Original Message ----- From: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: <gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU>
Sent: Friday, January 06, 2006 12:00 PM
Subject: Gimp-user Digest, Vol 40, Issue 8


Send Gimp-user mailing list submissions to
gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

You can reach the person managing the list at
[EMAIL PROTECTED]

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Gimp-user digest..."


Today's Topics:

  1. RE: Cutout and paste (Newbie question) (Gert Blij)
  2. Work on a pasted image in The Gimp (Gert Blij)
  3. Re: Work on a pasted image in The Gimp (Owen Cook)
  4. RAW images (Alan Wolfe)
  5. Re: RAW images (Rikard Johnels)
  6. Re: RAW images (Alexander Rabtchevich)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2006 10:09:16 +0200
From: "Gert Blij" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: RE: [Gimp-user] Cutout and paste (Newbie question)
To: "'Harish Narayanan'" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Cc: gimp-user@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

Thanks Harish,

-----Original Message-----
From: Harish Narayanan [mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]
Sent: Thu 05 January 2006 04:56 PM
To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Cc: gimp-user@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] Cutout and paste (Newbie question)

Gert Blij wrote:

>Basically what I said was that while the rectangular select
works fine,
>all the others don't. When I select with Oval, Hand draw or
Intelligent
>scissors, the cut from the Gimp looks perfect, but when I paste into
>OpenOffice Writer it is always a rectangular picture the width and
>height being the outer most points of the cut.
>
>It all makes it pretty useless for what I need it for. Would
you know
>of a way of getting this right?
>
>
You could try this, though it's a bit of a kludgey workaround :).

1. Make sure the layer you are working with has an alpha
channel (Right click the layer in the layers dialog->Add
alpha channel).
2. After making the selection (oval, scissors, or whatever),
invert the selection. (Cntrl-I or Menu->Select->Invert) 3.
Cut everything else out (Cntrl-X). Now these regions will all
be transparent, leaving only what you want.
4. Invert the selection again (Cntrl-I) returning to your
original selection.
5. Copy that (Cntrl-C) and try pasting it. Even if it pastes
a rectangular bounding box, everything other than what you
want will not show.

I tried that, but it doesn't work. Although The Gimp clearly shows the cut
out as an oval, with the rest of the picture gone, when I copy and paste it into OOo Writer it pastes as a rectangular picture (i.e. *not* a rectangular
bounding box with an oval picture), with borders the size of the outermost
points of the oval.

Cheers
Gert




------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2006 10:32:44 +0200
From: "Gert Blij" <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Gimp-user] Work on a pasted image in The Gimp
To: <gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU>
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

I want to cut out part of a screen shot and paste the cutout into another
application.

1 - I do the Shift - PrintScreen
2 - In The Gimp I do File | New and paste. Now the screen shot is in The
Gimp

But none of the Selection Tools can be activated. It sticks to the cross
arrows that moves the image around the workspace.

Is it possible at all to work on a pasted image?

TIA
Gert





------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2006 20:42:05 +1100 (EST)
From: Owen Cook <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] Work on a pasted image in The Gimp
To: Gert Blij <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Cc: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID:
<[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII


On Fri, 6 Jan 2006, Gert Blij wrote:

I want to cut out part of a screen shot and paste the cutout into another
application.

1 - I do the Shift - PrintScreen
2 - In The Gimp I do File | New and paste. Now the screen shot is in The
Gimp

But none of the Selection Tools can be activated. It sticks to the cross
arrows that moves the image around the workspace.

Is it possible at all to work on a pasted image?


Yes, you have to anchor the "pasted image"

Activate the Layers dialogue and you will see what is happening



Owen






------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2006 01:46:27 -0800
From: Alan Wolfe <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: [Gimp-user] RAW images
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID:
<[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

Heya, i was wondering if it was possible to load a RAW imagine in gimp?

i have a RAW greyscale heightmap i'd like to load and manipulate (:

Thank you!
Alan
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: /lists/gimp-user/attachments/20060106/f8b68107/attachment-0001.html

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Fri, 6 Jan 2006 11:54:14 +0100
From: Rikard Johnels <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] RAW images
To: gimp-user@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain;  charset="utf-8"

On Friday 06 January 2006 10:46, Alan Wolfe wrote:
Heya, i was wondering if it was possible to load a RAW imagine in gimp?

i have a RAW greyscale heightmap i'd like to load and manipulate (:

Thank you!
Alan

Check for "ufraw" on google.
I dont know if it manages your type of image, but it is very extensive.
I use it for me Pentax *istDS camera.

There is also a dfraw...

--
     /Rikard

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
email  : [EMAIL PROTECTED]
web   : http://www.rikjoh.com
mob   : +46 (0)736 19 76 25
------------------------ Public PGP fingerprint ----------------------------
< 15 28 DF 78 67 98 B2 16 1F D3 FD C5 59 D4 B6 78 Â 46 1C EE 56 >


------------------------------

Message: 6
Date: Fri, 06 Jan 2006 12:59:38 +0200
From: Alexander Rabtchevich <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] RAW images
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed

UFRaw (http://ufraw.sourceforge.net) handles RAW images from digital
cameras - this is not the same as a raw bitmap, as it was described.
Look at the GIMP repository - there has been a plugin for handling of
raw images, as I remember.

Rikard Johnels wrote:
On Friday 06 January 2006 10:46, Alan Wolfe wrote:
Heya, i was wondering if it was possible to load a RAW imagine in gimp?

i have a RAW greyscale heightmap i'd like to load and manipulate (:

Thank you!
Alan

Check for "ufraw" on google.
I dont know if it manages your type of image, but it is very extensive.
I use it for me Pentax *istDS camera.

There is also a dfraw...



--
With respect
Alexander Rabtchevich


------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Gimp-user mailing list
Gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user


End of Gimp-user Digest, Vol 40, Issue 8
****************************************

__________ NOD32 1.1355 (20060106) Information __________

This message was checked by NOD32 antivirus system.
http://www.eset.com



_______________________________________________
Gimp-user mailing list
Gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user

Reply via email to