thanks for such a fast response. I am not sure I know how to install anything 
other than what they guide me to on the Gimp page or cnet. Can you please 
explain?

--- On Wed, 8/12/09, gimp-user-requ...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu 
<gimp-user-requ...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu> wrote:

From: gimp-user-requ...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu 
<gimp-user-requ...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu>
Subject: Gimp-user Digest, Vol 83, Issue 14
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Date: Wednesday, August 12, 2009, 12:02 AM

Send Gimp-user mailing list submissions to
    gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU

To subscribe or unsubscribe via the World Wide Web, visit
    https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user
or, via email, send a message with subject or body 'help' to
    gimp-user-requ...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu

You can reach the person managing the list at
    gimp-user-ow...@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu

When replying, please edit your Subject line so it is more specific
than "Re: Contents of Gimp-user digest..."


Today's Topics:

   1. not working (Mary Dargis)
   2. Re: not working (Noel Stoutenburg)
   3. Re: not working (G J J)
   4. New file (Stephen Hyter)
   5. Re: New file (Owen)
   6. Re: not working (Martin Nordholts)
   7. Levels tool with Layers (Carusoswi)


----------------------------------------------------------------------

Message: 1
Date: Tue, 11 Aug 2009 16:28:11 -0700 (PDT)
From: Mary Dargis <mambus2...@yahoo.com>
Subject: [Gimp-user] not working
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <297792.30833...@web57207.mail.re3.yahoo.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

hi,
I have a new hp laptop running vista x64
?i have installed and uninstalled gimp a few times and keep getting the message 
that gimp has stopped working. In between installations i have removed 
everything gimp as to start fresh. I tried running as administrator, no luck. 
Can yo please help me. I have done all my work on gimp and am very frustrated.
mambus2...@yahoo.com
M. Dargis




      
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: /lists/gimp-user/attachments/20090811/d45edce0/attachment-0001.html 

------------------------------

Message: 2
Date: Tue, 11 Aug 2009 18:45:34 -0500
From: Noel Stoutenburg <mjol...@ticnet.com>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] not working
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <4a82029e.2080...@ticnet.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

Mary Dargis wrote:

> I have a new hp laptop running vista x64
>  i have installed and uninstalled gimp a few times and keep getting 
> the message that gimp has stopped working. In between installations i 
> have removed everything gimp as to start fresh. I tried running as 
> administrator, no luck. Can yo please help me. I have done all my work 
> on gimp and am very frustrated.
First question to ask is if whether or not you are using the installers 
for 32 or 64 bit Windows. I am running Gimp 2.6.6 for Windows on 64 bit 
XP SP3, without any difficulty, though it appears I may have intstalled 
using the 32 bit version.

ns



------------------------------

Message: 3
Date: Tue, 11 Aug 2009 18:06:25 -0700 (PDT)
From: G J J <sirtigger...@yahoo.com>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] not working
To: mambus2...@yahoo.com, gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <874162.65539...@web52501.mail.re2.yahoo.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"

try vers 6.2.4


you could always return and get your money back, I hear they let you keep using 
it after that.

lol

seriously, i cant get the newer versions to run on my Vista






________________________________
From: Mary Dargis <mambus2...@yahoo.com>
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Sent: Tuesday, August 11, 2009 6:28:11 PM
Subject: [Gimp-user] not working


hi,
I have a new hp laptop running vista x64
 i have installed and uninstalled gimp a few times and keep getting the message 
that gimp has stopped working. In between installations i have removed 
everything gimp as to start fresh. I tried running as administrator, no luck. 
Can yo please help me. I have done all my work on gimp and am very frustrated.
mambus2...@yahoo.com
M. Dargis


      
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: /lists/gimp-user/attachments/20090811/f210b845/attachment-0001.html 

------------------------------

Message: 4
Date: Tue, 11 Aug 2009 20:24:51 -0700
From: Stephen Hyter <sdhy...@gmail.com>
Subject: [Gimp-user] New file
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID:
    <bfc454f00908112024y55a22c7elafd3beddf8593...@mail.gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="iso-8859-1"

newbie here, if i create a new file of a certain template (A4, 300dpi), how
am i then able to import an image into it?  there is an Acquire option under
File but it doesn't seem to be able to pull images off my desktop, it that
possible?
thanks
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: /lists/gimp-user/attachments/20090811/1608d241/attachment-0001.html 

------------------------------

Message: 5
Date: Wed, 12 Aug 2009 13:45:06 +1000 (EST)
From: "Owen" <rc...@pcug.org.au>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] New file
To: "Stephen Hyter" <sdhy...@gmail.com>
Cc: gimp-user@lists.xcf.berkeley.edu
Message-ID: <e8d9adedb88154600ad73efd724205b5.squir...@www.tip.net.au>
Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1


> newbie here, if i create a new file of a certain template (A4,
> 300dpi), how
> am i then able to import an image into it?  there is an Acquire option
> under
> File but it doesn't seem to be able to pull images off my desktop, it
> that
> possible?
> thanks


Just guessing what you are trying to do, but I would;

Open the required image
Select all
Copy

Then move to your 300dpi image and paste (as a new layer would
probably be best)



-- 



Owen



------------------------------

Message: 6
Date: Wed, 12 Aug 2009 06:49:53 +0200
From: Martin Nordholts <ense...@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [Gimp-user] not working
To: mambus2...@yahoo.com
Cc: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <4a8249f1.7020...@gmail.com>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed

On 08/12/2009 01:28 AM, Mary Dargis wrote:
> hi,
> I have a new hp laptop running vista x64
> i have installed and uninstalled gimp a few times and keep getting the
> message that gimp has stopped working.

The Windows installers for GIMP 2.6.5 and GIMP 2.6.6 is packaged wrongly 
and will only keep from crashing with luck.

You should either use GIMP 2.6.4 or wait for GIMP 2.6.7 to be released, 
which should be soonish.

  / Martin

-- 

My GIMP Blog:
http://www.chromecode.com/


------------------------------

Message: 7
Date: Wed, 12 Aug 2009 07:02:08 +0200 (CEST)
From: "Carusoswi" <for...@gimpusers.com>
Subject: [Gimp-user] Levels tool with Layers
To: gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
Message-ID: <20090812050208.3fadc1801b...@a.dev001.net>

>I really appreciate the replies.  In the work flow example I gave earlier in
this thread, am I correct that there is no other practical way to accomplish
those steps on a photo other than to perform them destructively on a single
layer (set levels, hit ok, correct color, hit ok, etc. so that you can't go
back without undoing in sequence or just scrapping your work and starting over
from scratch)?  And flattening or merging layers is really sort of a 'kicked
down the road' way of 'hitting OK' albeit you are committing to a batch of
changes rather than accepting them one at a time - better, I guess, in that
you get to see the net effect of all the layers in the stack before committing
to their effect.

So, if I'm correct, then, I finally think I've grasped how to use layers in
editing a photo.

Additional advice appreciated.

Thanks.

Caruso

>> > Ok, but, when you merge, do you not lose the ability to go back and fix
>> > something that you might decide needs adjusting?
>> Yes, which is why you don't merge until. you're absolutely sure that 
>> everything you're merging is to your satisfaction. And if there are a 
>> couple of layers which you're not quite certain about yet, one can merge 
>> the layers below those, and still reduce the file size. I haven't 
>> explored this yet, and may be wrong, but it might just be that if there 
>> is one small area that needs a fix, that one can make a layer just big 
>> enough to manage the fix, rather than making the layer the full size of 
>> the image. One thing that might reduce the size of the file a bit, is 
>> that if there is only a small bit of something that needs fixing, to make
>> 
>> > I would thing that layers in an xcf file would only represent
>> > references to adjustments and the underlying file 
>> I think a better visualization of layers is to consider them like an 
>> overlay on a projector, and that the layer containing the change is 
>> independent of the layer to which the change relates, until the two are 
>> merged together.
>> > I'm just a-wonderin' why the xcf files grow so large.
>> >   
>> I suspect that becuase you have a number of layers all the same size as 
>> the image.
>
>Also the size of the file will grow even larger when you start to use
>layer masks.
>
>Norman
>
>

-- 
Carusoswi (via www.gimpusers.com)


------------------------------

_______________________________________________
Gimp-user mailing list
Gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user


End of Gimp-user Digest, Vol 83, Issue 14
*****************************************



      
_______________________________________________
Gimp-user mailing list
Gimp-user@lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU
https://lists.XCF.Berkeley.EDU/mailman/listinfo/gimp-user

Reply via email to