On Mon, Apr 21, 2014 at 09:59:52PM -0700, David Aguilar wrote:
> [Cc:ing Charles in case he has an opinion, this behavior dates back to the 
> original MT]
> On Sun, Apr 20, 2014 at 07:17:34PM -0500, Felipe Contreras wrote:
> > It's annoying to see the prompt:
> > 
> >   Hit return to start merge resolution tool (foo):
> > 
> > Every time the user does 'git mergetool' even if the user already
> > configured 'foo' as the wanted tool.
> > 
> > Display this prompt only when the user hasn't explicitly configured a
> > tool.
> I agree this is probably helpful.
> Most users I've met end up configuring mergetool.prompt=false.

>From my memory, the reason that we choose to prompt by default is to
help new users or users who have just changed their choice of mergetool.

Because we never use the exit code of the tool to determine whether a
tool "worked", if we don't prompt and the tool fails (bad custom
command, requires X when no X available, etc.) then we'll repeatedly run
the command for all paths requiring resolution leading to, potentially,
a lot of trace with whatever error the tool might happen to report.

We prompt by default to give users a chance to abort the mergetool
session at the first opportunity that they see that the configured tool
is not working.

Personally, I leave mergetool.prompt unset (default true) because one
extra click in a complex merge resolution is relatively low overhead and
to catch myself when I forget that I'm in a no-X environment.

I glanced at the patch and it seems to subvert this intent for users
who have  configured a merge tool. Is my understanding correct?
To unsubscribe from this list: send the line "unsubscribe git" in
the body of a message to majord...@vger.kernel.org
More majordomo info at  http://vger.kernel.org/majordomo-info.html

Reply via email to