SAS 2018

                    25th Static Analysis Symposium

      Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany, August 29th-August 31st, 2018



= = =  New: Invited Talks, Invited Tutorials, Affiliated Events  = = =
= = =  Submission deadline approaching:  April 6th, 2018      = = =


Static Analysis is widely recognized as a fundamental tool for program 
verification, bug detection, compiler optimization, program understanding, and 
software maintenance. The series of Static Analysis Symposia has served as the 
primary venue for the presentation of theoretical, practical, and application 
advances in the area. The 25th Static Analysis Symposium, SAS 2018, will be 
held in Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany. Previous symposia were held in New York, 
Edinburgh, Saint-Malo, Munich, Seattle, Deauville, Venice, Perpignan, Los 
Angeles, Valencia, Kongens Lyngby, Seoul, London, Verona, San Diego, Madrid, 
Paris, Santa Barbara, Pisa, Aachen, Glasgow, and Namur. The proceedings of the 
conference will be published in the Advanced Research in Computing and Software 
Science (ARCoSS) subline of the Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science 
(LNCS) series.


The technical program for SAS 2018 will consist of invited lectures and 
presentations of refereed papers. Contributions are welcomed on all aspects of 
static analysis, including, but not limited to: 
- Abstract domains
- Abstract interpretation 
- Automated deduction
- Data flow analysis 
- Debugging 
- Deductive methods
- Emerging applications 
- Model checking 
- Program optimization and transformation 
- Program synthesis
- Program verification 
- Security analysis 
- Tool environments and architectures
- Theoretical frameworks 
- Type checking

Paper Submission

Submissions can address any programming paradigm including concurrent, 
constraint, functional, imperative, logic, object-oriented, aspect, multi-core, 
distributed, and GPU programming. Papers must describe original work, be 
written and presented in English, and must not substantially overlap with 
papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a 
journal or a conference with refereed proceedings. Submitted papers will be 
judged on the basis of significance, relevance, correctness, originality, and 
clarity. They should clearly identify what has been accomplished and why it is 
significant. Paper submissions should not exceed 15 pages in Springer's Lecture 
Notes in Computer Science LNCS format, excluding bibliography and well-marked 
appendices (we may admit additional pages for the final version). Program 
Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and thus papers must 
be intelligible without them. 
Submissions are handled online: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sas20180

Artifact Evaluation

As in previous years, we are encouraging authors to submit a virtual machine 
image containing any artifacts and evaluations presented in the paper. The goal 
of the artifact submissions is to strengthen our field's scientific approach to 
evaluations and reproducibility of results. The virtual machines will be 
archived on a permanent Static Analysis Symposium website to provide a record 
of past experiments and tools, allowing future research to better evaluate and 
contrast existing work. Artifact submission is optional. We accept only virtual 
machine images that can be processed with Virtual Box.  Details on what to 
submit and how will be sent to the corresponding authors by mail shortly after 
the paper submission deadline. The submitted artifacts will be used by the 
program committee as a secondary evaluation criterion whose sole purpose is to 
find additional positive arguments for the paper's acceptance. Furthermore, an 
Artifact Evaluation Committee will assess artifacts and will award an "Artifact 
Approved" stamps to accepted papers that come with an artifact that allows to 
reproduce the results presented in the paper. Submissions without artifacts are 
welcome and will not be penalized.

Important Dates

- Full paper submission: April 6th, 2018 (anywhere on earth) 
- Artifact submission: April 20th, 2018 (anywhere on earth) 
- Notification: June 5th, 2018 
- Final version due: July 6th, 2018
- Conference: August 29th-August 31st, 2018

Radhia Cousot Young Researcher Award

Since 2014, the program committee of each SAS conference selects a paper for 
the Radhia Cousot Young Researcher Best Paper Award, in memory of Radhia 
Cousot, and her fundamental contributions to static analysis, as well as being 
one of the main promoters and organizers of the SAS series of conferences.

Invited Talks

- Aws Albarghouthi (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  Program Fairness through the Lens of Formal Methods
- Zak Kincaid (Princeton University, USA)
  Non-linear Invariant Generation via Recurrence Analysis
- Ruzica Piskac (Yale University, USA)
  Firewall Repair and Verification of Configuration Files
- Sharon Shoham (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
  Verification of Distributed Systems Using First-Order Logic

Invited Tutorials

- Roberto Bagnara (University of Parma/BUGSENG, Italy)
  MISRA C and its Role in the Development of Safety- and Security-Critical 
Embedded Software
- Ken McMillan (Microsoft Research, USA), Oded Padon (Tel Aviv University, 
  Ivy: Safety Verification by Interactive Generalization
- Peter O'Hearn (University College London/Facebook, UK)
  Experiences developing and deploying a concurrency analysis at Facebook

Affiliated Events

- 9th Workshop on Static Analysis and Systems Biology (SASB 2018)
  Chairs: Tatjana Petrov (IST Austria, Austria) and Ankit Gupta (ETH Zurich, 
- 9th Workshop on Tools for Automatic Program Analysis (TAPAS 2018)
  Chair: Fausto Spoto (University of Verona/Julia Srl, Italy)

Program Chair

- Andreas Podelski (University of Freiburg, Germany)

Program Committee 

- Domagoj Babic (Google Inc., USA)
- Sam Blackshear (Facebook, USA)
- Marc Brockschmidt (Microsoft Research, UK) 
- Swarat Chaudhuri (Rice University, USA)
- Bor-Yuh Evan Chang (University of Colorado Boulder, USA) 
- Jerome Feret (INRIA/ENS/CNRS, France) 
- Ashutosh Gupta (TIFR, India) 
- Nicolas Halbwachs (Verimag/CNRS, France) 
- Lukas Holik (Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic)
- Barbara Koenig (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
- Boris Koepf (IMDEA Software Institute, Spain) 
- Shuvendu Lahiri (Microsoft Research, USA)
- Hakjoo Oh (Korea University, South Korea)
- Sylvie Putot (École Polytechnique, France)
- Francesco Ranzato (University of Padova, Italy)
- Jakob Rehof (TU Dortmund University, Germany)
- Xavier Rival (CNRS/ENS/INRIA, France)
- Sriram Sankaranarayanan (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)
- Harald Sondergaard (The University of Melbourne, Australia)
- Alexander J. Summers (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
- Ashish Tiwari (SRI International, USA)
- Caterina Urban (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
- Lenore Zuck (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
- Damien Zufferey (MPI-SWS, Germany)
- Florian Zuleger (TU Wien, Austria)

Artifact Evaluation Chair

- Xavier Rival (CNRS/ENS/INRIA, France)

Publicity Chair

- Caterina Urban (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Check out the vibrant tech community on one of the world's most
engaging tech sites, Slashdot.org! http://sdm.link/slashdot
hol-info mailing list

Reply via email to