To: [EMAIL PROTECTED]
From: "Walter " <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
Date: Sun, 22 Sep 2002 16:59:15 -0000
Subject: [Innovative-Teaching] ITN: Author! Author! <September 22, 2002>

------------------------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor ---------------------~-->
Sell a Home for Top $
http://us.click.yahoo.com/RrPZMC/jTmEAA/ySSFAA/C1XolB/TM
---------------------------------------------------------------------~->

Go to http://surfaquarium.com/newsletter/authors.htm for the
html version of this week's newsletter:

Like everyone else, authors are carving out a niche online for
themselves. From classic writers who lived hundreds of years ago to
today's most popular authors, the Web offers biographies and
bibliographies for many of them. Book publishing companies are always
glad to feature their authors, but some of the best sites I've found
are created by educators and avid fans of specific writers. It is my
hope that among these famed names you will find resources you can use
in your classroom for one or more author studies this year.

Of particular note, our own Jerry Blumengarten has an Authors and
Bookmaking page at
http://www.angelfire.com/ny2/library218/authors.html that you really
should see. But beware the special effect on the cursor - it's
mesmerizing! His links on Making Books, the Art of the Book and Pop-
Up Book Sites may be especially valuable to you in extending your
author studies to include publication of your own young authors in
the classroom.

Numbering more than one hundred links, I opted not to annotate this
week's edition. The fun is in clicking on your favorite author's name
and seeing what treasures await you. Enjoy!


Good General Resources

Author Appearances
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/authorappearances.htm
Author Chats http://www.authorchats.com/
Author Page http://www.ipl.org/youth/AskAuthor/Biographies.html
Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Web Site
http://www.carolhurst.com/
Children's Book Authors who Visit Schools
http://www.snowcrest.net/kidpower/authors2.html
Children's Literature Web Guide
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/index.html
Index to Children's and Young Adults' Authors & Illustrators
http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/biochildhome.htm
Literary Births http://www.waterboro.lib.me.us/birth.htm
Literary Calendar http://english.yasuda-u.ac.jp/lc/
Pandemonium! http://www.panmacmillan.com.au/pandemonium/
Vandergrift's Author and Illustrator Pages
http://scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/AuthorSite/index.html


Primary Authors

Avi http://www.avi-writer.com/
Caroline Arnold http://www.geocities.com/Athens/1264/
Molly Bang http://www.mollybang.com/
Jan Brett http://www.janbrett.com/
Eric Carle http://www.eric-carle.com/
Tomie de Paola http://www.tomiedepaola.com/
Mem Fox http://www.memfox.net/
Paul Galdone http://www.hallkidsbooks.com/G/6.shtml
Anna Grossnickle Hines http://www.aghines.com/
Pat Hutchins http://www.titch.net/
Joan Irvine http://www.makersgallery.com/joanirvine/
Crockett Johnson http://www.ksu.edu/english/nelp/purple/index.html
Ezra Jack Keats http://www.lib.usm.edu/~degrum/keats/main.html
Lois Lenski http://library.uncg.edu/depts/speccoll/lenski/
Leo Lionni http://www.randomhouse.com/teachers/rc/rc_ab_lli.html
Suse MacDonald http://www.create4kids.com/
Mercer Mayer http://www.littlecritter.com/
Lucy Maud Montgomery http://www.upei.ca/~lmmi/core.html
Laura Joffe Numeroff http://www.lauranumeroff.com/
Dav Pilkey http://www.pilkey.com/
Patricia Polacco http://www.patriciapolacco.com/newsite/homefs.html
maurice Sendak
http://www.edupaperback.org/authorbios/Sendak_Maurice.html
Dr. Seuss http://www.afn.org/~afn15301/drseuss.html
Aaron Shepard http://www.aaronshep.com/
William Steig http://www.williamsteig.com/
Janet Stevens http://www.janetstevens.com/
Chris Van Allsburg http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/author/cva/index.html
Rosemary Wells http://www.rosemarywells.com/
Audrey Wood http://www.audreywood.com/
Charlotte Zolotow http://www.charlottezolotow.com/


Young Adult Authors

Louisa May Alcott http://www.alcottweb.com/
L. Frank Baum http://www.eskimo.com/~tiktok/index.html
John Bellairs http://www.compleatbellairs.com/
Judy Blume http://www.judyblume.com/
Betsy Byars http://w3.iac.net/~feguy/betsybyars/index.html
Lewis Carroll http://www.lewiscarroll.org/carroll.html
Susan Cooper http://www.markscott.f9.co.uk/thelostland/
Robert Cormier http://www.teenreads.com/authors/au-cormier-robert.asp
Stephen Crane http://guweb2.gonzaga.edu/faculty/campbell/crane/
Karen Cushman http://www.eduplace.com/rdg/author/cushman/
Roald Dahl http://www.roalddahl.org/index2.htm
Sylvia Engdahl http://www.sylviaengdahl.com/
Sid Fleischman http://204.255.213.26/authco/fleischman.htm
Jean Craighead George http://www.jeancraigheadgeorge.com/
Virginia Hamilton http://www.virginiahamilton.com/home.htm
E.L. Konigsburg http://slis-two.lis.fsu.edu/~5340f/
Madeleine L'Engle http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Acropolis/8838/
C.S. Lewis http://cslewis.drzeus.net/
Lois Lowry http://www.carolhurst.com/authors/llowry.html
Patricia MacLachlan
http://www.harperchildrens.com/catalog/author_xml.asp?authorID=12425
Katherine Patterson http://www.terabithia.com/
Gary Paulsen http://www.randomhouse.com/features/garypaulsen/
John Peterson http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Olympus/2597/
J.K. Rowling http://www.scholastic.com/harrypotter/home.asp
Elizabeth George Speare
http://www.randomhouse.com/teachers/authors/spea.html
Jerry Spinelli http://www.carr.lib.md.us/authco/spinelli-j.htm
Zilpha Keatley Snyder http://www.zksnyder.com/
Johanna Spyri http://www.geocities.com/EnchantedForest/Glade/8905/
R.L. Stine http://place.scholastic.com/goosebumps/
Armstrong Sperry http://www.ogram.org/sperry/
E.B. White http://www.harperchildrens.com/hch/author/author/white/
T.H. White http://www2.netdoor.com/~moulder/thwhite/
Laura Ingalls Wilder http://www.pinc.com/~jenslegg/


Secondary Authors

Dante Alighieri http://dante.ilt.columbia.edu/
Ray Bradbury http://www.spaceagecity.com/bradbury/
Pearl S. Buck http://www.kirjasto.sci.fi/pearlbuc.htm
Joseph Conrad http://members.tripod.com/~JTKNK/
Charles Dickens http://www.fidnet.com/~dap1955/dickens/
T.S. Eliot http://www.deathclock.com/thunder/
F. Scott Fitzgerald http://www.sc.edu/fitzgerald/
Nathaniel Hawthorne http://www.nps.gov/mima/wayside/Hawth.htm
Ernest Hemingway http://www.pbs.org/hemingwayadventure/
Aldous Huxley http://somaweb.org/
Washington Irving
http://www.hudsonvalley.org/education/Background/abt_irving/abt_irving
.html
James Joyce http://www.2street.com/joyce/
Jack Kerouac http://www.cmgww.com/historic/kerouac/
Harper Lee http://mockingbird.chebucto.org/
Jack London http://sunsite.berkeley.edu/London/
W. Somerset Maugham
http://www.educeth.ch/English/readinglist/maughamw/
Herman Melville http://www.melville.org/
Walter Dean Myers http://scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/myers.html
Flannery O'Connor http://gographics.com/funnies/flann1.htm
Richard Peck http://www.richardpeck.smartwriters.com/
Sylvia Plath http://www.sylviaplathforum.com/
Edgar Allen Poe http://www.comnet.ca/~forrest/
Conrad Richter http://www.mansker.org/index.html?Richter.html
J.D. Salinger http://www.salinger.org/
William Shakespeare http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
John Steinbeck
http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/programmes/centurions/steinbeck/steibiog.
shtml
J.R.R. Tolkien
http://www.csclub.uwaterloo.ca/u/relipper/tolkien/rootpage.html
Mark Twain
http://www.kyrene.k12.az.us/schools/brisas/sunda/great/2jon.htm
Jules Verne http://JV.Gilead.org.il/
Cynthia Voight http://www.scils.rutgers.edu/~kvander/voigt.html
Alice Walker http://www.luminarium.org/contemporary/alicew/
Elie Wiesel http://www.eliewieselfoundation.org/
Tennessee Williams http://www.olemiss.edu/depts/English/ms-
writers/dir/williams_tennessee/


Find More Great Resources at
Innovative Teaching
http://surfaquarium.com/it.htm

Next week's topic: "WebQuests"

You can email URL's of high quality sites which may be of interest to
our readers as well as new topic ideas and input and feedback!
mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Archives:
http://surfaquarium.com/news.htm

This newsletter may be forwarded or copied provided the header and
signature information remain intact. Show a colleague what you have
found in Innovative Teaching!2002 Walter McKenzie

Group email addresses:
   Post Message - [EMAIL PROTECTED]
   Subscribe - [EMAIL PROTECTED]
   List owner - [EMAIL PROTECTED]
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/

*************************************************************************
If you want to unsubscribe, click and send (no body or subject: required)
mailto:[EMAIL PROTECTED]

Archives for K12 Newsletters can be found at:
http://www.classroom.com/community/email/archives.jhtml?A0=K12NEWSLETTERS

Reply via email to