James Simmons wrote:
;)

I don't think that is a real person. Those messages have been going around many mailing list.

Well, I am a real person, but I didn't send the message. One good clue (to me) is that the mailer is Outlook Express 6.0. I run Mac OS X using Mozilla 1.4 (I do have Outlook Express 9.0 for Mac but it isn't configured for SMTP). Also I think it says that the originating server is 203.48.48.254 which lacks a reverse DNS.


Fake message:

Received: from [203.48.48.254] (helo=SUPPSERVER)
        by boots.jimpick.com with esmtp (Exim 3.35 #1 (Debian))
        id 19pFNX-0001dd-00
        for <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>; Tue, 19 Aug 2003 15:55:05 -0700
From: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
To: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
X-MailScanner: Found to be clean
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000

A real message from me:


Received: from pagesmiths.com ([68.106.217.203]) by fed1mtao04.cox.net
          (InterMail vM.5.01.04.05 201-253-122-122-105-20011231) with ESMTP
          id <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>;
          Sat, 21 Dec 2002 18:33:42 -0500
Message-ID: <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
From: Jim White <[EMAIL PROTECTED]>
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en-US; rv:1.0.0) Gecko/20020529

I'm getting a slew of those bogus emails, but at least my system won't be sending any.


Jim
--
"I love deadlines. I love the whooshing sound they make as they fly by." -- Douglas Adams



_______________________________________________ kaffe mailing list [EMAIL PROTECTED] http://kaffe.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/kaffe

Reply via email to