On 05/03/18 18:36, Amit Kucheria wrote:
> From: Ram Chandrasekar <rkumb...@codeaurora.org>
> There is currently no way for the governor to be selected for each thermal
> zone in devicetree. 

How is that any different from cpufreq, cpuidle or devfreq subsystems ?

> This results in the default governor being used for all
> thermal zones even though no such restriction exists in the core code.

What restrictions ?

> Add support for specifying the thermal governor to be used for a thermal
> zone in the devicetree.

Then what prevents us from doing the same for other subsystems with so
called /inefficient default/ governors ?

> The devicetree config should specify the governor
> name as a string that matches any available governors. If not specified, we
> maintain the current behaviour of using the default governor.

If one is specified, can the user change it from sysfs ? If
yes, then why do we need this binding at all ? If no, we are basically
restricting, then what would happen if the DT was shipped with wrong
governor specified because the firmware author didn't know about any
other governor ?

IMO, having this in DT is bad idea as it may cause more issues than
gain. We already have sysfs support like other PM subsystems and
userspace can deal with it.


Reply via email to