On Jun 18, 2010, at 1:07 PM, Andrew Merenbach wrote:

> 
> On Jun 18, 2010, at 7:05 AM, Steven Woolgar wrote:
> 
> > On Fri, 18 Jun 2010 07:51:56 -0400, NickMtl wrote:
> > > Hi fellow listers,
> > > 
> > > Recently, I received an email from BrotherSoft
> > > (http://www.brothersoft.com/) claiming that I had "released" software
> > > through them. I don't recall ever contacting them and in fact stay
> > > away from such spammy-looking web sites, yet I now find a page on
> > > their site offering my beta software for download.
> > > 
> > > http://mac.brothersoft.com/xsong.html
> > > 
> > > Are these guy for real? Anyone has had any interaction with them?
> > > Should I just let it slide and be thankful for the free distribution?
> > > This is weird...
> > 
> > They offer to download Apple software like Logic and Final Cut. 
> > Definitely not legit.
> > 
> > W.
> > 
> 
> To be fair, it appears that the download links forward to Apple's website. I 
> still think they're a little shady, but mainly because they're scumming from 
> other download sites; they don't pay much attention to their appearance; and 
> their site was poorly-worded when I examined it awhile back. Haven't taken a 
> recent look at it.
> 
> Cheers,
> Andrew

To clarify: the download links for Logic, at least, appears to forward to its 
respective page on Apple's website.  Sorry for any confusion.

-- Andrew

Reply via email to