Speaking of which.. (can you tell it is Friday, everyone has time to be helpful)...

Our Spam Auditors noticed a fairly new 'email verification' network, at least the IP range.. majority of the - network used, and triggering various rate limiters..

Coming out of the Ukraine..

Someone is probably washing an old list using that 'service'.

#                      1   qzzqwwazrpi.my-addr.com
#                     1   aewqwwazrpi.my-addr.com

That is the naming pattern..

That kind of large scale process can throw your invalid recip logs a loop pretty quick.. and skew your stats..

Course, it is probably better than the list washing services using Amazon IP space.. at least they clearly identify what they do..

On 18-02-02 12:29 PM, Michael Wise via mailop wrote:
Anything more than 5% bad recipients in mail sent by a given IP address will land you in hot water with ... certain ISPs. 😊




*Michael J Wise*
MicrosoftCorporation| Spam Analysis

"Your Spam Specimen Has Been Processed."

Got the Junk Mail Reporting Tool <http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=18275>?

-----Original Message-----
From: mailop <mailop-boun...@mailop.org> On Behalf Of ComKal Networks
Sent: Friday, February 2, 2018 9:02 AM
To: mailop@mailop.org
Subject: Re: [mailop] Invalid address ratio?

 > I'm a bit surprised, that on a small mail server, 77 % of the rejected

 > mails are rejected because of invalid recipient adresses. 22 % because

 > of DNSBL.

 > Is this ratio normal?

There abouts, email is free, for a certain class, so adding a lot of names to the left of the @ is very old school but also a lot of the scrappers end up with all those weird usernames like 4ffb8ac-a0a-3cc0-e87c-65a3df124...@example.net <mailto:4ffb8ac-a0a-3cc0-e87c-65a3df124...@example.net>

that appear in email headers as part of references in mailing lists etc.

The ratio does vary depending on age and usage a domain has had so I'm serious when I say it could vary as much as +10 -50%.


mailop mailing list

mailop@mailop.org <mailto:mailop@mailop.org>


mailop mailing list

"Catch the Magic of Linux..."
Michael Peddemors, President/CEO LinuxMagic Inc.
Visit us at http://www.linuxmagic.com @linuxmagic
A Wizard IT Company - For More Info http://www.wizard.ca
"LinuxMagic" a Registered TradeMark of Wizard Tower TechnoServices Ltd.
604-682-0300 Beautiful British Columbia, Canada

This email and any electronic data contained are confidential and intended
solely for the use of the individual or entity to which they are addressed.
Please note that any views or opinions presented in this email are solely
those of the author and are not intended to represent those of the company.

mailop mailing list

Reply via email to