Something else to think about: If the user has "modify" access, then there is nothing to stop them from opening say... a 1,000 page word doc, deleting all the contents, and then saving it again. So - even if you don't give them access to "delete" stuff - you still may be giving them access to "modify"....
________________________________ From: Thomas Gonzalez [mailto:[email protected]] Sent: Wednesday, March 25, 2009 6:20 PM To: NT System Admin Issues Subject: question on access So we have a staff member, who decided without consulting within her department about files no longer being used! Low and behold, she deleted some of those documents, roughly 200+. No problem, winundelete, I was able to recover about 150+. With that said, I was asked, could I remove delete option from her? I told them I would look into this situation. Now I'm stuck, because I can't seem to find a simple method to remove a delete option for her. Is there such a thing? Even so, would that affect local deletion? Or can it even be restricted to the network only (shares). Anyone ever have experienced this type of request? TIA, Thomas Gonzalez Technology Manager Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas 210.349.2404 phone 210.349.2666 fax www.girlscouts-swtx.org <http://[email protected]> [email protected] <mailto:[email protected]> This email and any attached files are confidential and intended solely for the intended recipient(s). If you are not the named recipient you should not read, distribute, copy or alter this email. Any views or opinions expressed in this email are those of the author and do not represent those of the Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas. Warning: Although precautions have been taken to make sure no viruses are present in this email, Girl Scouts of Southwest Texas cannot accept responsibility for any loss or damage that arise from the use of this email or attachments. ~ Finally, powerful endpoint security that ISN'T a resource hog! ~ ~ <http://www.sunbeltsoftware.com/Business/VIPRE-Enterprise/> ~
