On Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 20:21, Jonas Smedegaard <jo...@jones.dk> wrote:
> On Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 06:14:22PM -0400, Felipe Sateler wrote:
>> On Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 18:12, Felipe Sateler <fsate...@gmail.com> wrote:
>>> On Thu, Jun 10, 2010 at 18:00, Jonas Smedegaard <jo...@jones.dk> wrote:
>>> Please see http://www.csounds.com/manual/html/PrefaceHistory.html for
>>> a short summary of the csound manual.
>> And BTW, there is code in debian/rules that parses that page to
>> generate a non exhaustive list of contributors. It is currently
>> commented out, though. It is in common-post-build-indep.
> I lost you here.  What is it you are trying to say?
> You insist that it is ok to cover most authors as "and others" instead of
> listing their names explicitly in debian/copyright, yet you ask me to go
> investigate the details. Why?

Sorry for being confusing. I have to admit I was very unclear.

The page lists the complicated history of the manual. The important
part is that the licensing was some non commercial license, and MIT
held the rights to change that (Barry Vercoe et al were working at MIT
while developing csound and the manual). Finally the licensing was
changed to GFDL, and the manual moved to a sourceforge CVS repository,
where the current development is still done. There is no way we can track who
did what change to which file, but the best we can do is expand the
"Andres Cabrera and others" to a list of 35 names and still have the "and

And BTW, the code is broken :p.


Felipe Sateler

pkg-multimedia-maintainers mailing list

Reply via email to