On Fri, May 12, 2017 at 12:26 AM, Devon Stanley <dlsta...@gmail.com> wrote:
> it will not remove the deleted user from other user's roster entries.
If I am a user of your server and I log in to my acount and find that
suddenly my roster is missing someone, I suspect I will just be angry
that your service "lost" my information and not wonder if you deleted
them. As a general rule of thumb, don't mess with user data without
their permission (even if that data is now invalid); it will just lead
> It seems to me that this behavior is invalid. Why would a user want to see a
> deleted user in their roster?
Maybe they use their roster as an address book, or they just have a
lot of history in their client and they want to keep that roster entry
so that it shows up in their client and they can still get to their
history (even if they won't be chatting anymore).
> In addition, I see no way for the affected users to remove this stale entry
> from their roster without manually doing a disco for each roster entry.
I didn't understand this one; they can remove it exactly like they
remove any other roster entry. Do you mean that they won't know that
it's stale? That might be true, and it would be up to the client to
discover that the roster entry is no longer valid and show the user in
some way (but that's a client concern, not a server concern, I think).
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email
To post to this group, send email to email@example.com.
Visit this group at https://groups.google.com/group/prosody-dev.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.