Ah, I see you have another thread on this. I'll respond there.

Christian

-- 
Christian Hammond
President/CEO of Beanbag <https://www.beanbaginc.com/>
Makers of Review Board <https://www.reviewboard.org/>

On Sat, Jul 30, 2016 at 1:12 PM, Christian Hammond <christ...@beanbaginc.com
> wrote:

> Hi Harish,
>
> I'm not sure I fully understand what problems you're hitting, but a couple
> notes:
>
> 1) If you're using a database that was set up on an older instance, then
> yes, SECRET_KEY must be copied over. If it was not, a number of things like
> stored database passwords or hosting service auth tokens will be
> inaccessible.
>
> Entering a new password for each repository should take care of that. It
> sounds like you're hitting a problem doing this? Define "not editable?"
>
> 2) You should not have DEBUG = True on, for any reason, really. This is
> intended for development environments, and will alter behaviors that are
> not suitable for production environments.
>
>
> Can you describe what you're trying to do and exactly what's going wrong?
>
> Thanks,
>
> Christian
>
> --
> Christian Hammond
> President/CEO of Beanbag <https://www.beanbaginc.com/>
> Makers of Review Board <https://www.reviewboard.org/>
>
> On Fri, Jul 29, 2016 at 7:34 PM, harish varadarajan <
> harish.varadara...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> Hi Eric,
>>
>> Thanks for your post, that I could understand the issue that was
>> happening at my reviewboard instance.
>>
>> Did you figure out the solution for this.
>> With your approach to turning the Debug = True, I am currently able to
>> access the repositories / enter the edit screen.
>> But unfortunately, the password field for the user who access on
>> repositories is not editable.
>>
>> But, still while creating newer reviews for older repositories, it states
>> that the content / change is not available.
>> Is the only way to make it work, is to copy the SECRET_KEY from the older
>> instance ?
>> any ideas on how this could be solved, if access to the older host /
>> instance is not available.
>>
>> Thanks.
>>
>> Harish
>>
>> On Thursday, 29 October 2015 12:19:12 UTC+5:30, er...@tibco.com wrote:
>>>
>>> I figured out what my issue was. Copying the database from one machine
>>> to another isn't sufficient.
>>>
>>> ReviewBoard has a "SECRET_KEY" that is used when encrypting passwords
>>> into the database. If you're restoring your database backup to a different
>>> machine (as I was doing), and you don't copy over the SECRET_KEY, then
>>> stuff will break.
>>>
>>> If you re-save the passwords from the web UI, it uses the SECRET_KEY
>>> when re-obfuscating the password.
>>>
>>> Might that be the problem?
>>>
>>> Eric.
>>>
>>> On Wednesday, October 28, 2015 at 9:56:15 AM UTC-7, er...@tibco.com
>>> wrote:
>>>>
>>>> Turns out I've been fighting this issue on and off for several days now.
>>>>
>>>> This looks like it is one of those particularly evil bugs. I've
>>>> captured a lot of details about it below:
>>>>
>>>> Situation very similar - I'm using mysqldump to backup a database. In
>>>> my case, I'm trying to restore to a different machine for testing purposes.
>>>>
>>>> When I bring up the test instance, I get an error 500 when I attempt to
>>>> examine the details of a configured repository.
>>>>
>>>> Email contains this (trimmed somewhat to avoid the long stack trace):
>>>>   File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/django/template/base.py",
>>>> line 897, in render
>>>>     return render_value_in_context(output, context)
>>>>
>>>>   File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/django/template/base.py",
>>>> line 875, in render_value_in_context
>>>>     value = force_text(value)
>>>>
>>>>   File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/site-packages/django/utils/encoding.py",
>>>> line 116, in force_text
>>>>     raise DjangoUnicodeDecodeError(s, *e.args)
>>>>
>>>> DjangoUnicodeDecodeError: 'utf8' codec can't decode byte 0xad in
>>>> position 0: invalid start byte. You passed in
>>>> <django.forms.forms.BoundField object at 0x7effbb2e0510> (<class
>>>> 'django.forms.forms.BoundField'>)
>>>>
>>>> ----
>>>> So, seems obvious - an encoding issue. Except, it isn't.
>>>>
>>>> I've been very careful to ensure that MySQL uses UTF-8 everywhere (on
>>>> both production and testing). A mysqldump of the tables on the production
>>>> database, and the test instance database shows that the scmtools_repository
>>>> tables are *identical*, including the schema, and show use of UTF-8 as
>>>> the charset. I even did a mysql --xml -e query of the tables, and found
>>>> that they're identical. A hexdump of the results shows no non-ASCII
>>>> characters. In fact, the only odd character is a 09 at the beginning of the
>>>> password field (which looks to be intentional?). Mind you, this is as
>>>> expected, because the password field looks to be a base64 encoding of an
>>>> actual password, so it necessarily wouldn't encode any non-ASCII 
>>>> characters.
>>>>
>>>> I've confirmed that changing the password field using SQL, then
>>>> resetting the password in the web UI makes the problem go away (for how
>>>> long?).
>>>>
>>>> So now for the *really* messed up part. To try to get more / better
>>>> diagnostics, I went to the "conf" folder for my ReviewBoard instance. I
>>>> changed "Debug" flag to "True". Restart Apache (hosted via wsgi, FYI).
>>>>
>>>> Ready to look at details problem reports. Except ... problem gone....
>>>>
>>>> I've now repeated this experiment several times. Set "Debug" to
>>>> "False", problem occurs. "Debug = True", and problem goes away.
>>>>
>>>> This has all the classic signs of being an uninitialized variable.
>>>> Arghhh.
>>>>
>>>> Any suggestions you have for further debugging would be most welcome. I
>>>> fear that this is a bug in Django treatment of password fields.
>>>>
>>>> Eric.
>>>>
>>>> On Monday, December 22, 2014 at 4:53:35 AM UTC-8, Daniel Laird wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>> All,
>>>>>
>>>>> Since RB 1.5 I have backed up the RB installation everynight be by
>>>>> using
>>>>> mysqldump user=x password=y reviewboard > backup.sql
>>>>>
>>>>> I have also backed up all attachments etc.
>>>>> I could then restore the data easily with another script.
>>>>>
>>>>> I used this method to upgrade from 1.7.25 -> 2.0.11 and with the
>>>>> additional rb-site upgrade etc, it all worked great.
>>>>> However, after 2 days I noticed an error on my setup and re-created
>>>>> the site and re-imported the data.
>>>>>
>>>>> At this point it was a RB 2.0.11 backup being restored to a RB2.0.11
>>>>> database.
>>>>> It all appeared to go ok, but when I clicked on any review i got
>>>>> Error 500, something broke, I also got the following email:
>>>>>
>>>>> Traceback (most recent call last):
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/Django-1.6.8-py2.7.egg/django/core/handlers/base.py",
>>>>> line 112, in get_response
>>>>>     response = wrapped_callback(request, *callback_args,
>>>>> **callback_kwargs)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/accounts/decorators.py",
>>>>> line 23, in _check
>>>>>     return view_func(*args, **kwargs)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/site/decorators.py",
>>>>> line 35, in _check
>>>>>     return view_func(request, local_site=local_site, *args, **kwargs)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/reviews/views.py",
>>>>> line 710, in review_detail
>>>>>     'screenshots': screenshots,
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/reviews/context.py",
>>>>> line 92, in make_review_request_context
>>>>>     upload_diff_form = UploadDiffForm(review_request, request=request)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/reviews/forms.py",
>>>>> line 95, in __init__
>>>>>     data, *args, **kwargs)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/diffviewer/forms.py",
>>>>> line 41, in __init__
>>>>>     if self.repository.get_scmtool().get_diffs_use_absolute_paths():
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/scmtools/models.py",
>>>>> line 230, in get_scmtool
>>>>>     return cls(self)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/scmtools/svn/__init__.py",
>>>>> line 73, in __init__
>>>>>     local_site_name)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/scmtools/svn/__init__.py",
>>>>> line 415, in build_client
>>>>>     client = Client(config_dir, repopath, username, password)
>>>>>
>>>>>   File
>>>>> "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/ReviewBoard-2.0.11-py2.7.egg/reviewboard/scmtools/svn/pysvn.py",
>>>>> line 41, in __init__
>>>>>     self.client.set_default_password(six.text_type(password))
>>>>>
>>>>> UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xd5 in position
>>>>> 0: ordinal not in range(128)
>>>>>
>>>>> Has something changed in the internal data structures?
>>>>> Should I be using some options like "--default-character-set=utf8"
>>>>> when dumping/importing the database?
>>>>>
>>>>> Hope you can help
>>>>> Dan
>>>>>
>>>> --
>> Supercharge your Review Board with Power Pack:
>> https://www.reviewboard.org/powerpack/
>> Want us to host Review Board for you? Check out RBCommons:
>> https://rbcommons.com/
>> Happy user? Let us know! https://www.reviewboard.org/users/
>> ---
>> You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
>> "reviewboard" group.
>> To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
>> email to reviewboard+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
>> For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
>>
>
>

-- 
Supercharge your Review Board with Power Pack: 
https://www.reviewboard.org/powerpack/
Want us to host Review Board for you? Check out RBCommons: 
https://rbcommons.com/
Happy user? Let us know! https://www.reviewboard.org/users/
--- 
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups 
"reviewboard" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email 
to reviewboard+unsubscr...@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.

Reply via email to