Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-04-10 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Quasar via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I just started replaying the gate, and the Spiders seem to be fixed. On Easy it stunned me for a while and attacked several times. I still lost almost half my health but it was definitely survivable. As for dealing with the early game statues on higher difficulties

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate It'd take at least 30 sells to come close to breaking even on the cheaper-developed VGStorm titles, given their prices, assuming I didn't misplace a 0 somewhere. In a bigger market, where 1000 sales could be relied upon, that'd be an excuse to put more resources

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate It'd take at least 30 sells to come close to breaking even on the cheaper-developed VGStorm titles, given their prices, assuming I didn't misplace a 0 somewhere. In a bigger market, where 1000 sales could be relied upon, that'd be an excuse to put more resources

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : BryanP via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Excellent points CAE. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=356572#p356572 ___ Audiogames-reflector mailing list Audiogames-reflector@sabahattin-gucukoglu.com https://sabahattin-gucukoglu.com/cgi-bin

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : musicalman via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Hi Dark. I bought the Gate a few days after its release, and I enjoyed it enough to pay for it. I made a lot of posts/rants in the original Gate thread, but let me summarize.First on difficulty because that's what you asked about. I personally didn't find

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate It'd take at least 30 sells to come close to breaking even on the cheaper-developed VGStorm titles, given their prices, assuming I didn't misplace a 0 somewhere. In a bigger market, where 1000 sales could be relied upon, that'd be an excuse to put more resources

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate It feels pretty innovative to me, but I never played Super Liam. $30 worth of innovative, not so much, but it's pretty distinct from Battle Zone, BK2/3, Q9, and AAC, FWICT. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=356120#p356120

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-26 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Hrvoje via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Ive completed The Gate twice, once when I was doing my own playthrough and the second time when I was recording playthrough for our local group for audio gaming.What to say? I didn't have much problem with the gray lady, in fact I've managed to beat her in 30

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-19 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate @Ronand, that was precisely my point, though some of the Gate's difficulty is artificial, ie due to factors you can't do anything about, this is not true of all! the gate's difficulty, EG while one hit kill from those devil spiders and short range on the sword

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-18 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Ronand via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I think you did better the second time you played the demo because you were already familiar with it. Seems obvious I know but your familiarity with the game seems to be the only thing that has changed. I agree that the cheap deaths are just annoying and the short

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-18 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Jayde via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Just want to put one thing to bed, actually. If you've got a fairly good team - admittedly not the easiest thing to put together - you don't need hours upon hours of endless grinding. You'll need a little here and there, but I can finish a manamon playthrough

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-18 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I didn't noticed panning issues myself in the gate Jayde, though I did notice you needed to be very precise in terms of running under those rocks because your movement speed is comparatively slow relative to the games' scrolling and the movement of enemies

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-17 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Jayde via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Dark, best of luck.I don't mind tight, semi-difficult platforming if it's consistent. The thing about the games you cite is that they were almost surgically precise. It's how people could speedrun them and stuff. It's not really luck-based. With The Gate, there's

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-17 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate @Jayde, thumbs up for being able to give a negative opinion about the game in a rational fashion without breaking out the flame throwers or speculation, this is exactly the sort of opinion I wanted about the game. On difficulty, one thing I will note

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-17 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : keyIsFull via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Just as a btw, you can beat the Renfield zombie boss on hard, but you need 5 angel's breaths and about 17 arrow pouches to do it. Luckily you do have enough lives that you can conserve your angel's breaths, but the manual doesn't say this anywhere, so you could

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-16 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : mata via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I personally never find Hades hard to beat at all, unless I play on hard or something since he usually takes like forever to beat and has tank hp, lol. I just wanna see someone do it on nightmare. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355831#p355831

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-16 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Jayde via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate My findings on this game are fairly consistent with a lot of what's been put forward before. I won't waste time regarding other games, or Aaron's dev strategy, or anything else.1. I felt like the difficulty ramped up stupidly fast. Ghosts being a one-shot kill I'm

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-16 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : BryanP via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Not impossible, just very, very hard. Perhaps needlessly hard, I will agree. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355810#p355810 ___ Audiogames-reflector mailing list Audiogames-reflector@sabahattin

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-16 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : zuckuss via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate This game is just OK to me. The bosses are needlessly hard, and some of the enemies and obstacles are needlessly hard, but I think that's the way games are in VG Storm. The final boss is impossible to beat. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355786

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-14 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : BryanP via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate LOL ok. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355542#p355542 ___ Audiogames-reflector mailing list Audiogames-reflector@sabahattin-gucukoglu.com https://sabahattin-gucukoglu.com/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate @Mata, yep, I've noticed the game runs on the double dragon principle, that is the fewer enemies on screen the better, so scroll as slowly as possible .@Bryan, since this is a world where horror films exist, but people are riding around on horses and medical aid

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : BryanP via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate One thing that makes absolutely no sense to me is that you start with a bow but no arrows for it. Why would someone grab a bow when leaving their house but not a quiver of arrows? URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355449#p355449

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : mata via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate My trick usually involves stepping all the way back, let stuff follow me and take them one by one. I don't lose my life often, and I don't mind walking half stage just to get to healing spring. Saves my angle's breath that way. URL: http://forum.audiogames.net

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Are the bombs you speak of the ones dropped by the bird bomber quasar? I let one plant a bomb once but it killed me even though I was some distance away. If they can damage other enemies that might be a good way to relieve the difficulty of a few sections

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Are the bombs you speak of the ones dropped by the bird bomber quasar? I let one plant a bomb once but it killed me even though I was some distance away. If they can damage other enemies that might be a good way to relieve the difficulty of a few sections

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Quasar via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate While the difficulty curve may be slightly off in the early game, as mentioned previously, things even out markedly once the sword is acquired. As far as dealing with ghosts and the gray lady in the early game, judicious use of arrows goes a long way. Later

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Thumbs up to Sterlock here, frankly I confess this topic has been depressing me since I was despairing of anyone being able to express a critical opinion without condemnation. Any game has good or bad points, but bad points don't mean the developer is the spawn

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : simba via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Hey and good morning everyone.Hmm, honestly, and I am serious about that, i didn't really have problems with the gray lady, sure, for a first boss, for some it might be a bit to hard, but personally speaking, i found her pritty entertaining as a first boss.Before

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-13 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : aryamansingh via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate hi guise can some one help me to assist how can I play the gait nicely. I have downloaded the game but in the starting I am dying while I am trying to play the game URL: http://forum.audiogames.net/viewtopic.php?pid=355419#p355419

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : mata via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Two things I don't like about the gate:- Nightmare difficulty is a hell mode where nearly, nearly nothing but the first three goblins are beatable. No more dreaming of ghost. it comes, you can call your next instakill.- There's a room where you're suppose to help

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : pulseman45 via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate @8 and 10: I agree with both of you.Add the fact that enemies feel like they are floating, because it was decided their cries would completely replace their footsteps.And of course it culminates in the bosses shouting the same sentences over and over again

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : connor142 via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate here's my honest opinions on all of aaron's games, and I'm not going to sugar cote or exadurate any of this. If people don't like what I have to say, then that's fine, so here we go.AAC, I really enjoyed. It was nice and retro-sounding, there were some interesting

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : stirlock via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate So I feel I need to clear up a misconception here. Aaron is not "working" for leasey. It was a one off contract job and nothing more, from what I can tell. It seems like this topic is getting a little too much on the flamey side. Let's cool it down a

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate PsychoStrike was released first, but AFAIK we know little to nothing about the development process, and PsychoStrike could have been a quick collaboration using what Aaron was already working on for The Gate to save time, or something of that nature. URL: http

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : ironcross32 via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I don't know all that he's done for them, but that My Country Place is definitely only available on Leasey. Too bad, because it don't sound like a bad little game. Ah wel, if I never see another game from him, it won't bother me much. I probably wouldn't buy it, I

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : BryanP via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I like the game, although I will certainly not deny that certain points can be brutally unfair, I'm looking at you, corridor of ghosts. I made it as far as the final boss but I had to quit because I spent as much time cursing and swearing as anything else. I never

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I wouldn't disagree that psycho strike probably reused game code from the gate, but in terms of gameplay I do find enough differences, e.g Psycho strike is far more based on multiple weaker  and button mashing, while the gate has fewer stronger enemies. All I

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Lucas1853 via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Hi,To be completely honest, I think Psycho Strike and The Gate were conceived from the same base project and taken in their different directions to release two games between the two big rpgs instead of just 1 side scroller. I do think The Gate came first not Psycho

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Orko via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Dark, I tried Palodin but got turned off by the unrealistic sound effects, ding for a wall, boop for a desk, bop for that and beep for this. If you want to sell me an immersive game, at least do me the courtesy of creating sound effects that at least try to make me

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : ironcross32 via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Hmm well, Manamon doesn't really borrow anything from pokemon, it sneaks up behind it, clubs it in the back of the head and robs it blind while it is unconscious.OK, the gate, in a sentence, its a frogging pile. The combat feels exactly like Psycho Strike

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Actually Orko I have all of Vgstorm's other games. Paladin of the skies is a great first draught. Yes, the battle system has it's lacks and  waaay too easy, also the story can be a  simplistic in places, but the locations, music and weird items give me enough

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Orko via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I played The Gate in demo mode on easy and could not get past the Grey Lady no matter what I tried, so I chose to keep my $30 in my pocket. Not only did the price seem a bit high, as all VG Storm games seem, why pay for a game that is so difficult even on easy

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate The gate is actually 29 usd not 40. This is a relatively high  price it is true, though I'm afraid just saying "it is boring and the coder could've done better" doesn't explain much to me, EG is it boring due to uninteresting monster attacks or what? I

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : SkyLord via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate Oh, you know? the gate! this game is really, really really boaring. For me, it is. Like AAC, but AAC seems eeven 10 times better with it's content, difficulty, and voice acting? no, not that but the story, oh yeah. The price is unreasanably high! 40 dollars

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-12 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Dark via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate @Quasar, I agree about the sword it makes life s much easier it's not funny, that is what I mean about attack range, especially since most enemies don't seem to have an attack sound or any way of actually avoiding their attacks, just a random chance

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-11 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : CAE_Jones via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate The ease of dying makes it feel like an old-school arcade or NES game, IMO. Granted, I've only played on easy so far, and have yet to spare the patience necessary to beat the final boss. But that's basically how a lot of old-school games that I wanted to own

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-11 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : Quasar via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate I own and have played the gate multiple times. Overall it's a fun game. The difficulty curve smooths out some once you get the sword. There are some difficult, and possibly somewhat cheap sections, but they don't really detract from the whole game. URL: http

Re: Opinions on The Gate

2018-03-11 Thread AudioGames . net Forum — General Game Discussion : jack via Audiogames-reflector
Re: Opinions on The Gate My biggest problem with the game is the multitude of cheap ways to die, like the rocks appearing out of nowhere that you have to jump over. On a slow system, those could be an instant kill for you, and on a reasonable machine they're just annoying, not even