Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-05-20 Thread Tom St Denis
On Tue, 29 Mar 2005 16:06:05 +0100, Ian G [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: I'd be interested to hear why he wants to improve on AES. The issue with doing that is that any marginal improvements he makes will have trouble overcoming the costs involved with others analysing his work. Several things

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-29 Thread Ian G
Dan Kaminsky wrote: Have you looked at their scheme? http://www.securescience.net/ciphers/csc2/ Secure Science is basically publishing a cipher suite implemented by Tom St. Denis, author of Libtomcrypt. Aha! I seem to recall on this very list about 2 years back, Tom got crucified for trying

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-28 Thread Lance James
David Wagner wrote: Seecure Science Corporation writes: Secure Science is offering a preview of one of the 3 ciphers they will be publishing througout the year. [...] This cipher is [...] provably just as secure as AES-128. Adam Shostack writes: Really? How does one go about proving the

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-28 Thread Dan Kaminsky
Have you looked at their scheme? http://www.securescience.net/ciphers/csc2/ The way to come up with a cipher provably as secure as AES-128 is to use AES-128 as part of your cipher -- but their scheme does not do anything like that. I am very skeptical about claims that they have a mathematical

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-25 Thread Adam Shostack
Really? How does one go about proving the security of a block cipher? My understanding is that you, and others, perform attacks against it, and see how it holds up. Many of the very best minds out there attacked AES, so for your new CS2 cipher to be provably just as secure as AES-128, all those

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-25 Thread Lance James
Adam Shostack wrote: Really? How does one go about proving the security of a block cipher? My understanding is that you, and others, perform attacks against it, and see how it holds up. Many of the very best minds out there attacked AES, so for your new CS2 cipher to be provably just as secure

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-25 Thread Jerrold Leichter
| Really? How does one go about proving the security of a block cipher? They don't claim that: This cipher is ... provably just as secure as AES-128. I can come up with a cipher provably just as secure as AES-128 very quickly (Actually, based on the paper a while back on many

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-25 Thread Jerrold Leichter
| Jerrold Leichter writes: | They don't claim that: | | This cipher is ... provably just as secure as AES-128. | | I can come up with a cipher provably just as secure as AES-128 very quickly | | Actually, I think Adam is totally right. | | Have you looked at their scheme? |

Re: Secure Science issues preview of their upcoming block cipher

2005-03-25 Thread Ralf-Philipp Weinmann
Jerrold Leichter wrote: I can come up with a cipher provably just as secure as AES-128 very quickly (Actually, based on the paper a while back on many alternative ways to formulate AES - it had a catchy title something like How Many Ways Can You Spell AES?, except that I can't find one like