Re: Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Joris Melchior
+1 on the assignee idea but understand Mark's concerns with inundating certain people. Is there a way that we can manage the load for reviewers? On Tue, Jul 9, 2019 at 2:17 PM Mark Hanson wrote: > In Github there is a request re-review option. I just learned more about > that today. > I think

Re: Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Mark Hanson
In Github there is a request re-review option. I just learned more about that today. I think that people should probably be using that option to interact with reviewers. I do like the assignee idea. I worry that things might pile up on certain people, but that already kind of happening

Re: Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Benjamin Ross
+1 I think having an assignee would help set better expectations between committer and reviewer. On Tue, Jul 9, 2019 at 11:05 AM Dan Smith wrote: > +1 > > What do you think about assigning someone to each PR to make sure it gets > through the process? We don't currently seem to be using

Re: Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Dan Smith
+1 What do you think about assigning someone to each PR to make sure it gets through the process? We don't currently seem to be using github's "assignee" field. Committers can make themselves the assignee, but for contributors we could assign a committer who will make sure the PR gets reviewed

Re: Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Joris Melchior
+1 I think it will help keep people engaged. It's no fun when your PR is left to hang and might discourage infrequent/new contributors. On Tue, Jul 9, 2019 at 1:34 PM Mark Hanson wrote: > Hi All, > > TL;DR > > Can we have a norm( preferred, but not required ) of providing feedback > within

Proposal: For PR reviews and change requests can we have a 7 day turn around on re-reviews?

2019-07-09 Thread Mark Hanson
Hi All, TL;DR Can we have a norm( preferred, but not required ) of providing feedback within seven days of the last checkin to a PR? Long version I have just spent a bit of time reviewing PRs that have been open for a while and sent some emails to reviewers of the ones that are open the