Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-30 Thread Nicolas Goaziou
Hello, Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: I wouldn't say inferior, although the dvipng implementation is slightly more brittle than the imagemagick one (imo, of course). But it is two implementations where one would suffice (Windows might present problems however: I don't know the

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-30 Thread Nick Dokos
Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: But it is two implementations where one would suffice (Windows might present problems however: I don't know the availability of dvipng/imagemagick on that platform - I believe they are both available on MacOS, but I could be wrong). What about

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-26 Thread Nick Dokos
Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: Anyway, in a nutshell, your proposal is to: - add a custom variable, e.g., `org-latex-dvi-process-options' (which library should it belong to?) Unless it

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-25 Thread Nicolas Goaziou
Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: Anyway, in a nutshell, your proposal is to: - add a custom variable, e.g., `org-latex-dvi-process-options' (which library should it belong to?) Unless it would make sense to toss the whole dvipng thing

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-23 Thread Nick Dokos
Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: ... I set: (setq org-export-latex-listings 'minted) You mean `org-latex-listings'. `org-export-latex-listings' belongs to the old export framework (like almost all variables with org-export-BACKEND- prefix). Yes, indeed. (add-to-list

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-23 Thread Nicolas Goaziou
Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: ... I set: (setq org-export-latex-listings 'minted) You mean `org-latex-listings'. `org-export-latex-listings' belongs to the old export framework (like almost all variables with org-export-BACKEND- prefix).

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-23 Thread Nick Dokos
Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: OK, that works - I didn't know about the three-element list form. Thanks! The surprising part of that third element is that it is assumed to be non-nil when missing (see `org-latex-packages-to-string'). Yes, presumably in the name of backward

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-23 Thread Nicolas Goaziou
Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: I learnt quite a bit from this discussion (thank you!), but I'm still a bit puzzled about your reluctance that custom options be added to the latex call. Why is that? Too many customizations? dvipng should be deprecated? Too many twisty passages to

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-23 Thread Nick Dokos
Nicolas Goaziou n.goaz...@gmail.com writes: Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: I learnt quite a bit from this discussion (thank you!), but I'm still a bit puzzled about your reluctance that custom options be added to the latex call. Why is that? Too many customizations? dvipng should be

Re: [O] Minor problems with dvipng latex image preview

2013-05-22 Thread Nicolas Goaziou
Hello, Nick Dokos ndo...@gmail.com writes: The main problem is that the latex-dvi invocation is hard-wired in org-create-formula-image-with-dvipng and in addition, when the latex file is created, the value of org-latex-packages-alist is spliced in. That in itself is fine, except in the case