Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-07 Thread Gerrit Kühn
On Fri, 4 Mar 2011 12:24:20 -0800 Freddie Cash fjwc...@gmail.com wrote about Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer: FC Or, does anyone have instructions on how to convert the ISO images FC into memstick images? Preferably using a Linux station, not a FreeBSD FC station

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-07 Thread Freddie Cash
On Mon, Feb 28, 2011 at 6:49 AM, Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any objections, I would like to pull

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-07 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
On 03/07/11 14:14, Freddie Cash wrote: On Mon, Feb 28, 2011 at 6:49 AM, Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs.

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-07 Thread Freddie Cash
On Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 4:56 PM, Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: On 03/07/11 14:14, Freddie Cash wrote: Things that irritated me:   - when you drop to a shell from the disk editor screen, it lists the instructions at the top, but then never repeats them ever again Can you

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-07 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
On 03/07/11 19:27, Freddie Cash wrote: On Mon, Mar 7, 2011 at 4:56 PM, Nathan Whitehornnwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: On 03/07/11 14:14, Freddie Cash wrote: Things that irritated me: - when you drop to a shell from the disk editor screen, it lists the instructions at the top, but then never

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-04 Thread Freddie Cash
On Mon, Feb 28, 2011 at 6:49 AM, Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any objections, I would like to pull

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-04 Thread Vincent Hoffman
On 04/03/2011 20:24, Freddie Cash wrote: On Mon, Feb 28, 2011 at 6:49 AM, Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs.

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-03 Thread TAKAHASHI Yoshihiro
In article 4d6e6c43.4010...@freebsd.org Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org writes: Do you have a plan to add a floppy support as boot device? Pc98 machines which can boot from CD-ROM are very limited. So we usually use FD for boot media to install. No, I hadn't thought about this. If

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-03 Thread Paul Schenkeveld
On Wed, Mar 02, 2011 at 09:36:58AM -0600, Nathan Whitehorn wrote: On 02/28/11 09:20, John Baldwin wrote: On Monday, February 28, 2011 9:49:07 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: There are some changes to the distribution format involved in this patch, which are outlined below, and about which I

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-03 Thread Baptiste Daroussin
2011/3/3 Paul Schenkeveld free...@psconsult.nl: On Wed, Mar 02, 2011 at 09:36:58AM -0600, Nathan Whitehorn wrote: On 02/28/11 09:20, John Baldwin wrote: On Monday, February 28, 2011 9:49:07 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: There are some changes to the distribution format involved in this patch,

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-03 Thread Doug Barton
On 03/03/2011 02:22, Baptiste Daroussin wrote: While working on this maybe it would be interesting to now use makefs instead of mkisofs, making installer generation 100% self hosting. makefs has recently been updating to a recent version from netbsd and now support iso9660, I already managed

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-02 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
On 02/28/11 09:20, John Baldwin wrote: On Monday, February 28, 2011 9:49:07 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-02 Thread TAKAHASHI Yoshihiro
In article 4d6bb5e3.6020...@freebsd.org Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org writes: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any objections, I would

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-02 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
On 03/02/11 10:06, TAKAHASHI Yoshihiro wrote: In article4d6bb5e3.6020...@freebsd.org Nathan Whitehornnwhiteh...@freebsd.org writes: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-03-02 Thread John Baldwin
On Wednesday, March 02, 2011 10:36:58 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: On 02/28/11 09:20, John Baldwin wrote: On Monday, February 28, 2011 9:49:07 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready

Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-02-28 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any objections, I would like to pull this switch 2 weeks from today, on the 14th of March. A patch to the release

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-02-28 Thread Bruce Cran
On Mon, 28 Feb 2011 08:49:07 -0600 Nathan Whitehorn nwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: - There is only one CD image produced, which is always also a live CD It would be really useful if a netinstall ISO could be made too - people still have slow Internet connections where having a bootonly disc is

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-02-28 Thread Nathan Whitehorn
On 02/28/11 08:56, Bruce Cran wrote: On Mon, 28 Feb 2011 08:49:07 -0600 Nathan Whitehornnwhiteh...@freebsd.org wrote: - There is only one CD image produced, which is always also a live CD It would be really useful if a netinstall ISO could be made too - people still have slow Internet

Re: Request for review/testing: switching the default installer

2011-02-28 Thread John Baldwin
On Monday, February 28, 2011 9:49:07 am Nathan Whitehorn wrote: BSDinstall has acquired at this point its final form (prior to a future merge with pc-sysinstall), and I believe is ready to replace sysinstall on the 9.0 snapshot ISOs. Barring any objections, I would like to pull this switch