Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-24 Thread Oliver Fromme
Brian Somers [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: If I'm not mistaken, the size of the environment is already taken into account by the xargs utility (subtracted from ARG_MAX). So this isn't an issue at all. Unless xargs runs a command with lots of arguments and that command increases the

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-24 Thread Dima Dorfman
Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: At 1:19 PM -0700 4/21/01, Dima Dorfman wrote: Does that mean everyone is blind and missed my arrogant cross-post of the amazingly short patch to do this, or are we just interested in discussing it and not testing the implementation? ;-) Well,

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-23 Thread Brian Somers
No rain here, it is ARG_MAX - 2048: -s size Set the maximum number of bytes for the command line length pro- vided to utility. The sum of the length of the utility name and the arguments passed to utility (including NULL terminators) will

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-23 Thread Oliver Fromme
Rodney W. Grimes [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Before anyone starts writing scripts, consider that {} will be replaced by xargs with (roughly) ARG_MAX - 10 characters worth of the stuff coming off the pipe. If your combined arguments plus environment exceeds ARG_MAX execve(2) will give

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-23 Thread Brian Somers
Rodney W. Grimes [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Before anyone starts writing scripts, consider that {} will be replaced by xargs with (roughly) ARG_MAX - 10 characters worth of the stuff coming off the pipe. If your combined arguments plus environment exceeds ARG_MAX execve(2) will

Re: Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Brian Somers
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 20:04:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: Sorry for butting in. Adding new non-portable functionality to solve the problem which could be adequitely taken care of using existing and well known techniquies is not appropriate, I completely agree with you on that. And

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Maxim Sobolev
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 20:04:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: Sorry for butting in. Adding new non-portable functionality to solve the problem which could be adequitely taken care of using existing and well known techniquies is not appropriate, I completely agree with you on that. And I'm

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Maxim Sobolev
On Sun, 22 Apr 2001 13:16:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 20:04:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: Sorry for butting in. Adding new non-portable functionality to solve the problem which could be adequitely taken care of using existing and well known techniquies is not

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Karsten W. Rohrbach
Brian Somers([EMAIL PROTECTED])@2001.04.20 11:29:15 +: find something | xargs cp {} target_directory or find something | xargs -i '[]' cp '[]' target_directory or find something -exec cp {} target_directory \; from find(1): -exec utility [argument ...]; True if

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Karsten W. Rohrbach
rohrbach@WM:datasink[~]68% tar cf /dev/null src/ rohrbach@WM:datasink[~]69% find src|wc -l 2552 rohrbach@WM:datasink[~]70% du -sk src 32258 src rohrbach@WM:datasink[~]71% mkdir src2 rohrbach@WM:datasink[~]72% time find src -exec cp {} src2 \; find src -exec cp {} src2 ; 0.31s user 7.55s

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Garance A Drosihn
At 1:19 PM -0700 4/21/01, Dima Dorfman wrote: Does that mean everyone is blind and missed my arrogant cross-post of the amazingly short patch to do this, or are we just interested in discussing it and not testing the implementation? ;-) Well, I'm in the middle of a massive reorganization of all

Re: Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Brian Somers
On Sun, 22 Apr 2001 13:16:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 20:04:31 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: Sorry for butting in. Adding new non-portable functionality to solve the problem which could be adequitely taken care of using existing and well known techniquies is

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-22 Thread Rodney W. Grimes
I don't see a problem with adding an option to cp to treat the first argument as the target instead of the last argument. It's a simple solution, the code change is simple, and it produces the exact desired result. What's the problem? It's yet another non-portable option. I

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Jens Schweikhardt
On Fri, Apr 20, 2001 at 03:14:10PM -0700, Mike Smith wrote: # # Folks, # # although there was much rejoicing, I think there's no need for a # new option to cp. Just use the toolbox, it's not too hard: # # (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp # # Or even # # echo destdir

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
On Fri, Apr 20, 2001 at 07:26:18PM -0700, Rodney W. Grimes wrote: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp I like this version of the patch!! It's much much cleaner than hacking up cp or xargs, it even follows the unix principle of using simple tools and glueing them

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Sheldon Hearn
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 14:06:04 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: How do you do this in a script: cd /topdir; find . -type f | xargs -i {} cp {} /otherdir/. for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done What's all the fuss about? Ciao, Sheldon. To Unsubscribe:

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Jens Schweikhardt [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: You mean if bigfilelist list exceeds the -n limit of xargs (default 5000)? Yes, you'll be surprised then. It was a bit of POLA violation for me when I found xargs would by default use 5000 arg chunks and not all in one go. I'd rather get rid of

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Sheldon Hearn [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 14:06:04 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: How do you do this in a script: cd /topdir; find . -type f | xargs -i {} cp {} /otherdir/. for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done That can

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Alexander Kabaev
On 21-Apr-2001 Sheldon Hearn wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 14:06:04 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: How do you do this in a script: cd /topdir; find . -type f | xargs -i {} cp {} /otherdir/. for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done What's all the

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Sheldon Hearn
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 16:51:24 +0200, Oliver Fromme wrote: That can overflow your shell's command line limit (at the "for" command). True, our /bin/sh doesn't has such a limit, AFAIK, but there _are_ shells that do). That's actually my point. What's being proposed is a non-standard

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Sheldon Hearn
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 10:52:05 -0400, Alexander Kabaev wrote: for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done What's all the fuss about? It looks like above construct will fail horribly if any of the files in /topdir have names with spaces in them.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Alexander Kabaev
Your comments have nothing to do with the issue at hand. Just wrap the first argument to cp in double-quotes, i.e. cp "$i" The point is, why bastardize tools to cope with areas beyond their focus and well within the focus of other tools? Ciao, Sheldon. Sorry for butting in.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Sheldon Hearn [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 16:51:24 +0200, Oliver Fromme wrote: That can overflow your shell's command line limit (at the "for" command). True, our /bin/sh doesn't has such a limit, AFAIK, but there _are_ shells that do). That's actually my point.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Sheldon Hearn
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 17:27:04 +0200, Oliver Fromme wrote: Not all users use /bin/sh. Scripts needn't be written in /bin/sh, and xargs can be used interactively, too (I use it a lot). Just because _our_ xargs works fine with _our_ /bin/sh doesn't mean there is no problem. So we have two

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Jordan Hubbard
From: Oliver Fromme [EMAIL PROTECTED] Subject: Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?) Date: Sat, 21 Apr 2001 17:27:04 +0200 (CEST) Not all users use /bin/sh. Scripts needn't be written in /bin/sh ... Actually, just to jump in and correct this, scripts *should* be written in /bin/sh

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 14:06:04 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: How do you do this in a script: cd /topdir; find . -type f | xargs -i {} cp {} /otherdir/. for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done What's all the fuss about? Have you tried that for

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
Sorry for butting in. Adding new non-portable functionality to solve the problem which could be adequitely taken care of using existing and well known techniquies is not appropriate, I completely agree with you on that. And I'm still waiting to see those well known techniques.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Jordan Hubbard [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: From: Oliver Fromme [EMAIL PROTECTED] Not all users use /bin/sh. Scripts needn't be written in /bin/sh ... Actually, just to jump in and correct this, scripts *should* be written in /bin/sh. It depends. I often happen to write zsh scripts,

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Jordan Hubbard
And to come back on topic: Portable scripts also should _not_ assume that there are no limits on the length of shell commands. On the other hand, portable scripts can legitimately assume that xargs supports -i and -I, which ours doesn't. Agreed on both counts. I guess we should fix that.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Bruce Evans
On Sat, 21 Apr 2001, Brian Somers wrote: On Sat, 21 Apr 2001 14:06:04 +0100, Brian Somers wrote: How do you do this in a script: cd /topdir; find . -type f | xargs -i {} cp {} /otherdir/. for i in `find /path/to/source -type f`; do cp $i /path/to/dest/ done

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Dima Dorfman
Jordan Hubbard [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: And to come back on topic: Portable scripts also should _not_ assume that there are no limits on the length of shell commands. On the other hand, portable scripts can legitimately assume that xargs supports -i and -I, which ours doesn't.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Dean
On Sat, Apr 21, 2001 at 05:34:31PM +0200, Sheldon Hearn wrote: So we have two problems: 1) Calling cp(1) repetitively is inefficient. 2) The argument list is too big for cp(1). Extending cp(1) will not solve (2). Extending xargs(1) will solve both. So why is an extension to cp(1)

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Brian Dean [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: But extending cp does solve the problem. Only for cp. It wouldn't solve the problem for mv, ln and a bunch of other tools. Fixing it at _one_ place in xargs would solve all of that without touching a dozen tools. [...] This makes cp work with xargs;

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
So we have two problems: 1) Calling cp(1) repetitively is inefficient. 2) The argument list is too big for cp(1). Extending cp(1) will not solve (2). Extending xargs(1) will solve both. So why is an extension to cp(1) being proposed? I wasn't proposing that cp should be changed - I

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Oliver Fromme
Dima Dorfman [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: I don't have a copy of SuSv2 or anything else that defines -I and -i, http://www.secnetix.de/~olli/susv2/xcu/xargs.html but from what I can gather, -i is the same as "-I {}" and -I allows things like this: Not exactly. The difference is that the

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
I looked at your patches and immediately thought ``these patches can't be right'' as I was expecting it to deal with things such as xargs -I [] echo args are [], duplicated are [] I'm also dubious about the patches working for large volumes on standard input. At this point I scrapped the

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
Putting that option into cp seems rather GNUish to me, but not very UNIXish. :-) Yes. I think most people agree that changing cp is not good. Just my 2 Euro cents. Regards Oliver -- Oliver Fromme, secnetix GmbH Co KG, Oettingenstr. 2, 80538 Mnchen Any opinions expressed in

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Brian Somers
Dima Dorfman [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: I don't have a copy of SuSv2 or anything else that defines -I and -i, http://www.secnetix.de/~olli/susv2/xcu/xargs.html but from what I can gather, -i is the same as "-I {}" and -I allows things like this: Not exactly. The difference is

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-21 Thread Dima Dorfman
Brian Somers [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: I looked at your patches and immediately thought ``these patches can't be right'' as I was expecting it to deal with things such as xargs -I [] echo args are [], duplicated are [] It deals with it. It conveniently ignores the second '[]' :-).

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread John W. De Boskey
If you just want an xargs that supports --replstr/-i simply install: ftp://ftp.gnu.org/gnu/findutils or even more easily: /usr/ports/misc/findutils two comments: I don't want to enter a protracted discussion over the benefits/drawbacks of the current xargs vs an updated xargs,

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Brian Somers
Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Or maybe something to indicate where the list of arguments should go in a command. Hrm. Let's say '-Y replstr' or '-y[replstr]' (no blank after -y). If no [replstr] is given on -y, it defaults to the two characters '[]'. Then one might do:

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Maxim Sobolev
Dima Dorfman wrote: Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Or maybe something to indicate where the list of arguments should go in a command. Hrm. Let's say '-Y replstr' or '-y[replstr]' (no blank after -y). If no [replstr] is given on -y, it defaults to the two characters '[]'.

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Garrett Wollman
On Fri, 20 Apr 2001 00:57:29 -0400, Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] said: '-y[replstr]' (no blank after -y). Prohibited by POSIX. The `xargs' utility ``shall'' follow the Utility Syntax Guidelines. so I don't know how we go about adding options to it. POSIX is clear on this issue: the

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Jens Schweikhardt
Folks, although there was much rejoicing, I think there's no need for a new option to cp. Just use the toolbox, it's not too hard: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp Or even echo destdir bigfilelist xargs cp bigfilelist should do the trick. Regards, Jens -- Jens

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Ben Smithurst
Jens Schweikhardt wrote: although there was much rejoicing, I think there's no need for a new option to cp. Just use the toolbox, it's not too hard: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp Or even echo destdir bigfilelist xargs cp bigfilelist should do the trick. Err, neither

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Mike Smith
Folks, although there was much rejoicing, I think there's no need for a new option to cp. Just use the toolbox, it's not too hard: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp Or even echo destdir bigfilelist xargs cp bigfilelist should do the trick. No, it won't. Consider a

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Dima Dorfman
[ attempting to consolidate two identical threads into one ] Brian Somers [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: I agree - the script idea doesn't seem right. If {} isn't allowed to implicitly mean ``all the arguments that'll fit'', then I'd vote for using -i (a version that does full grouping)

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Rodney W. Grimes
Folks, although there was much rejoicing, I think there's no need for a new option to cp. Just use the toolbox, it's not too hard: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp I like this version of the patch!! It's much much cleaner than hacking up cp or xargs, it even follows the unix

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Brian Dean
On Fri, Apr 20, 2001 at 07:26:18PM -0700, Rodney W. Grimes wrote: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp I like this version of the patch!! It's much much cleaner than hacking up cp or xargs, it even follows the unix principle of using simple tools and glueing them togeather to do

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Brad Huntting
Try: echo 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 | xargs -n 4 echo Now consider what would happen with the above suggested construct with a very long file list. I don't see a problem with adding an option to cp to treat the first argument as the target instead of the last argument. It's a simple

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-20 Thread Rodney W. Grimes
On Fri, Apr 20, 2001 at 07:26:18PM -0700, Rodney W. Grimes wrote: (cat bigfilelist; echo destdir) | xargs cp I like this version of the patch!! It's much much cleaner than hacking up cp or xargs, it even follows the unix principle of using simple tools and glueing them togeather

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-19 Thread Garance A Drosihn
At 3:39 PM -0400 4/19/01, John W. De Boskey wrote: I have added a -d dir option to cp. This allows the target directory to be specified at the head of the command line instead of the tail. This makes cp work much more nicely with tools like xargs... (allowing for major performance

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-19 Thread Dima Dorfman
Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Or maybe something to indicate where the list of arguments should go in a command. Hrm. Let's say '-Y replstr' or '-y[replstr]' (no blank after -y). If no [replstr] is given on -y, it defaults to the two characters '[]'. Then one might do:

Re: cp -d dir patch for review (or 'xargs'?)

2001-04-19 Thread Garance A Drosihn
At 10:08 PM -0700 4/19/01, Dima Dorfman wrote: Garance A Drosihn [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Or maybe something to indicate where the list of arguments should go in a command. Hrm. Let's say '-Y replstr' or '-y[replstr]' (no blank after -y). If no [replstr] is given on -y, it defaults