Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-21 Thread Ken the Crazy
the major issue I see in this is how to get the blind to play. Its fine with the new gen of blind, ie those born in say the last 10 years say 2000 up or even 1995 or 1993 up, but anyone in the older generation which a lot are, have been used to blind games that will do everything because they

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-21 Thread Ken the Crazy
: Sunday, March 20, 2011 12:27 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Shaun, I take your point about cost and space, and am well aware of those as issues for many blind gamers. For instance, you mention not having enough space for 5.1 speakers and would have to stack them. The problem

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread shaun everiss
Yeah and thats not cheap. Currently I am sorting out a good mic solution for my brother who needs it for draggon. He can't afford it even in our currency. So its cracked right now. I am desperately looking for a price which is not 330 bucks which is what he needs. I have managed to save 80 on

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread shaun everiss
the issue of this ofcause is how to keep the gamer interested in the game after they fail. Most of us are likely to cheat, try to make the game legally or otherwise playable or just leave it all together and or loose confordence. Its for this reason I havn't managed to beat superliam. I have

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread shaun everiss
the major issue I see in this is how to get the blind to play. Its fine with the new gen of blind, ie those born in say the last 10 years say 2000 up or even 1995 or 1993 up, but anyone in the older generation which a lot are, have been used to blind games that will do everything because they

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread shaun everiss
Well I never have got use to coords systems or even degrees on compas propperly. I can guess but am not used to that. At 08:42 a.m. 18/03/2011, you wrote: Hi Tom. no, that isn't actually what I was thinking at all. imagine a system of coordinates, and you are on a ledge at 3-2, but here

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread shaun everiss
well ofcause all the challenge is how to put what is mostly graphics into sound and eventually we may get some or all of it but it will take time and skill. At 06:31 a.m. 19/03/2011, you wrote: Hi Damien, Well, it all comes back to what I said earlier on list. What you call advanced is what

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi, Yes, temperarily. As I just mentioned to dark beta 18 is practically ready for release, and I'd like to begin wrapping things up this week. I'd rather not try and spend an extra week or two on rewriting the G3D targeting code to add a 2d look up/down feature when I can disable the existing

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Shaun, I take your point about cost and space, and am well aware of those as issues for many blind gamers. For instance, you mention not having enough space for 5.1 speakers and would have to stack them. The problem with that is you can't stack those kinds of speakers and have them do what

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread Shane Lowe
I aggree. - Original Message - From: dark d...@xgam.org To: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:15 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip. these are actually some of the ideas I

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-20 Thread dark
Hi Tom. funny enough that sounds like the same setup I have in my flat. I will say though, despite having an extremely good set of logitech speakers which my very hifi orientated friend and I picked out as the best choice available, and which are wonderful for music and films, stil, if I

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-19 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Damien, Oh, I see. That makes sense. It does help to know the technical language being used. Otherwise whatever you are reading about doesn't make any sense at all. However, there are mailing lists etc for creative writers I've found helpful over the years. There are some people on those

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-19 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, That's a good question and one I presently do not have an answer for. As I said before I absolutely hate using pitch changes in some cases because it totally changes the way the sound effect sounds ruining the effect I'm aiming for. At the same time pressing m to speak the location of

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-19 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ken, Have you looked at FMOD EX by any chanse? The reason I ask is because FMOD Ex works with Visual Basic .Net and has an extremely good 3d audio engine. It is regarded my many game developers to be the best comercial sound engine/API on the market. For free games FMOD is free, and comercial

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-19 Thread Hayden Presley
] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, That's a good question and one I presently do not have an answer for. As I said before I absolutely hate using pitch changes in some cases because it totally changes the way the sound effect sounds ruining the effect I'm aiming for. At the same time pressing m

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-19 Thread dark
Hi tom. One idea which has occurred to me, is rather than changing the pitch of the monster, you might have a sound which is played at the same time the as the monsters' original sound and indicates it's position. this wouldn't break up the game the way aa nearest monster2 speech key would,

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ken, Yes, if you know what you are doing you can simulate a 3d effect simply by using some calculations to position the sound in the stereo field and to have the volume roll off correctly. A couple of years ago I was looking at writing the Genesis 3D engine in Java. The only problem was that

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, That’s my whole point. IN beta 18 the harpies are not on the same level as you. To attack them you have to aim up to shoot one down as they are actually flying and attacking from above you. They are not on the ground on the same level as you. Not only that, but now that I have activated

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Damien, Well, it all comes back to what I said earlier on list. What you call advanced is what most mainstream gamers would call normal. As I’ve said many times there is a huge difference between accessible games and mainstream games that is like the difference between night and day. For a lot

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Lori Duncan
, 2011 5:31 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Damien, Well, it all comes back to what I said earlier on list. What you call advanced is what most mainstream gamers would call normal. As I’ve said many times there is a huge difference between accessible games and mainstream

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Damien, Ah, I see. Well, I’m no expert with guns etc either, but at least I’ve seen them up close and have fired a few so have that much experience. That said, it never hurts to do a little research on a topic, because only by doing research will you be able to make the game act more

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Damien Pendleton
thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, March 18, 2011 5:56 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Damien, Ah, I see. Well, I’m no expert with guns etc either, but at least I’ve seen them up close and have fired a few so have that much

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Ken the Crazy
Ah, Too bad it won't work with vb.net. I've thought about porting Heli over but there's no point unless I can get a better 3d engine than DX. I tried experimenting with Openal, but I can't even install the thing--and if it is installed, it doesn't like my hardware, and the software aspect

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread Hayden Presley
: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Ah, Too bad it won't work with vb.net. I've thought about porting Heli over but there's no point unless I can get a better 3d engine than DX. I tried experimenting with Openal, but I can't even install the thing--and if it is installed, it doesn't like my

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread dark
to change enemies pitch or similar? Beware the Grue! Dark. - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, March 18, 2011 4:29 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, That’s my whole

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-18 Thread dark
Personally tom, i'd love to see people be able to enjoy the sort of fun i do everytime I fire up a game like Turrican, metroid or mega man in audio. I've enjoyed them for years and stil do and will love to have exploration platformers with multidirectional enemies. Pluss this also means, if

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, That is quite a number of interesting points you raised here. I happen to agree with you on all points. In fact, this is in large part why Mysteries of the Ancients beta 18 is taking so long to release. I decided to go back in and rewrite some of the various game mechanics such as

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Philip, Well, I for one, happen to feel the same way you do. I'd much prefer some sort of audio feedback rather than always having a verbal message saying this or that. It ruins the atmosphere and feel of the game for me having Sapi or some other voice saying this or that all the time.

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Damien Pendleton
To: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 11:25 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip, Well, I for one, happen to feel the same way you do. I'd much prefer some sort of audio feedback rather than always

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Phil, Smile. You are in luck. As it so happens running jumps have been one of the requests I've actually gotten around to adding to MOTA in beta 18. If you use shift+control+left arrow or shift+control+right arrow Angela will run up to a pit, spike trap, etc then jump over it. With the new

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Philip, Wow! Glad to hear it. It sounds like you are taking a page out of my playbook with the min and max range for weapons. That's something I have had in Mysteries of the Ancients for a long time now, and it definitely changes the strategy of the game somewhat. If you have a shotgun you

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, Actually, there have been a few accessible games to use a true analogue system for jumping. If you remember the original Montezuma's Revenge written by Alchemy Game Studios used an analogue jump system. For the life of me I can't remember why I didn't go ahead and use it in the USA Games

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Philip Bennefall
Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 12:51 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip, Wow! Glad to hear it. It sounds like you are taking a page out of my playbook with the min and max range for weapons. That's something I have had in Mysteries

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, Its funny that you brought this topic up as I think you and I have been thinking on the same wave length lately. I've been considering this same issue for a number of months, and I agree one thing accessible games universally lack is realistic and dinamic movement. In Q9, for example,

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Philip, Smile. Oh, I wasn't accusing you of copying MOTA. I was merely remarking/commenting on how glad I was that you were implamenting some of the more advanced features/concepts I've used in developing my own games. One thing I'm very interested in is realism. I.E. if you have a shotgun you

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Ken the Crazy
Comfort! The pleasant way to experience massage! It's the Caring without the Staring! - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 6:58 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Philip Bennefall
...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 1:40 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip, Smile. Oh, I wasn't accusing you of copying MOTA. I was merely remarking/commenting on how glad I was that you were implamenting some of the more

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. Fantastic that a game is finally implementing this, in fact the lava ledge jumping you describe very much resembles a section from the first bowser castle in the first mario brothers. I'll deffinately be looking forward to trying this. As to difficulty, it'll be really nice to see

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. Actually, I've only tried alchemy monti a couple of times last year and each time I got to a point where the game crashed (sinse the last usa games beta I have is far more complete and playable), so gave up with it, so I never noticed the analogue jumps. I never played it at the

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Ken the Crazy
You can also use 3d audio to let you know if things are above or below you, though you'll have to find something better the Directx for that. There is a program called AM3D that is wonderful, being the same one used in the Blind Eye--but you don't really get a feel for how awesome it is by

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi tom. Glad to here about the analogue system, but I do take the point regarding pitch only going so far, however there is another fact to considder, namely that of necessary information. I do not have a wide field of vision, and need to sit fairly close to the tv in order to see anything

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Philip. this ai business sounds interesting certainly and I have seen occasions in mainstream games where certain enemies used tactics based on the players' actions and thus fought semi inteligently even going back to the nes era. however, what I've tended to find in audio games is that

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Philip Bennefall
...@xgam.org To: phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 2:25 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip. this ai business sounds interesting certainly and I have seen occasions in mainstream games where certain enemies used

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Ken the Crazy
Hey now--those are some pretty smart animals--knowing what type of weapon you have and what it does. I hate to see how devilishly smart your people are! Evil Grins Ken Downey --- Gamers mailing list __ Gamers@audyssey.org If you want to leave the list, send E-mail to

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Damien Pendleton
, Damien. - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 11:51 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Philip, Wow! Glad to hear

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Tommy
Wow! Phil and Thomas making me looking forward to the release! I'm excited. Tommy - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 5:58 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Philip, Well, all I can say is you are right. Good high quality artificial intelligence is something that has been sorely lacking in most audio games to date. Of course, how advanced the artificial intelligence needs to be is dependant on the style of game in question For example, in Final

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Damien, Well, what Philip and i are talking about isn't so much the mechanics of guns, but simple logistics when firing them. If you have a shotgun or rifle three feet long there is no way on earth you can point it at a target one feet away because there is not enough room between you and the

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, Hmmm...If I take your meaning correctly you are sort of thinking of a sonar system similar to Monkey Business? You know how it makes a sound when it hits a wall, door, ledge, etc and you can identify what Smith is looking at by the type of sound returned. Is that kind of what you are

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ken, that's a big part of the problem though. Most VI gamers frankly don't have the right hardware/software to do 3d audio properly. I know XAudio2 is pretty good if you have a 5.1 surround sound set of headphones and/or speakers, but there we go looking at $99 or more just to obtain some

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Dark, Oh, you noticed? Super Mario Brothers is exactly where I got the idea for the lava pit from. Although, it doesn't appear in the demo since the demo only goes to level 2. However, there are a number of side-scrollers out there that have this style of jump onto a distant ledge, then use

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread shaun everiss
well I think pitches with tones, success bells and falier buzzes or whatever could work. if a game is arcade then you should have sfx of that machine for things. At 01:30 a.m. 17/03/2011, you wrote: Hi Philip. I do agree that relying entirely upon numeric look commands is not good, that's why

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Philip. I'm afraid as an exploration fan and a fan of diverse enemies I myself would rather like more attacks to avoid, giving each enemy something unique and making something new for the player to adjust to in each level, then again I also enjoy large areas to explore as well. Certainly

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. oh come on, you can deffinately aime at a targit in front of you with a three foot rifle, you just need extremly bendy elbows! yes I can see it now, the new super heroe, Yoga man, no position too complex, no contortion too hard, villains will bend to his superior double

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. no, that isn't actually what I was thinking at all. imagine a system of coordinates, and you are on a ledge at 3-2, but here nothing to the right of you, just a long pit. However, if you activate the look up command, instead of hereing just that pit to the right of you, you will

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. Funnily enough there is a very similar 2D version of that style of puzle in junk man's stage in MEga man 7 for the Snes, where using one of Mega man's weapons can cause metal bricks to fall down from the cieling into a pit of liquid metal. Only problem is, they start sinking so you

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Thomas Ward
HI Dark, Oh, I see. As it happens MOTA does have a look up/down feature, but it was disabled prior to beta 18. The problem I have with your idea is that as you climb up/down ropes you actually need to here where the dripping ledges are in relation to you as you climb. IN a case like that looking

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Damien Pendleton
, March 17, 2011 6:05 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Damien, Well, what Philip and i are talking about isn't so much the mechanics of guns, but simple logistics when firing them. If you have a shotgun or rifle three feet long there is no way on earth you can point

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread Damien Pendleton
but this will probably turn things around for me as far as gaming goes. Regards, Damien. - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Thursday, March 17, 2011 7:01 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-17 Thread dark
Hi Tom. that is true regarding ropes, though with the harpies example I was going on the basis that something flying above you is not at the same level as you and thus cannot attack unless it's dropping bombs or similar. At the moment, for all gameplay purposes the harpies seem to be on the

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread darren harris
Hi dark. I have read this with interest. I never quite thought about it in the way you have described. The thing is though I'm not entirely sure how you would get around that in an audio medium. Visually you can judge when you jump and how high you jump. But without adding extra sound into the

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
Hello Darren. Actually thinking about it, you've probably hit the nail exactly on the head. You talk about showing in audio how far to jump say like in Jim's golf game where your told what a shot is and then must judge the distance. However, in a graphical game you are never told this

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Philip Bennefall
Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:59 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hello Darren. Actually thinking about it, you've probably hit the nail exactly on the head. You talk about showing in audio how far to jump say like in Jim's golf game where your told what a shot

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Phil Vlasak
Hi Dark, I would like to play a game with a feature such as a running jump. For example you have a chasm that is too wide to jump normally from a standing stop at the edge. But you could jump it if your were running. This would require an auto run feature so you don't have to hit a key to

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
Hi Philip. these are actually some of the ideas I was very much thinking of, especially the business about running. I'll be interested to try this one when it's ready. All the best, Dark. --- Gamers mailing list __ Gamers@audyssey.org If you want to leave the list, send E-mail to

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Philip Bennefall
Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, I would like to play a game with a feature such as a running jump. For example you have a chasm that is too wide to jump normally from a standing stop at the edge. But you could jump it if your were running. This would require an auto run

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
Hi Phil. i agree this would be a good thing (though the business about damage for over jumping seems unnecessarily harsh to me), but I think your over complicating the situation more than it would need to be. As I said, the relative width of pits could be shown by altering the pitch of the

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
Hi Philip. I do agree that relying entirely upon numeric look commands is not good, that's why I think more could be done with pitch as an indicator, either bying having relative wind sounds, or altering the sound denoting a certain ledge or obstacle according to it's distance. A look key

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Phil Vlasak
it but shut up if you don't need it. Phil - Original Message - From: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:18 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Phil, I like this idea, but the thing

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
Yep, that's why I don't play too many games anymore. It's too much like playing Bopit. Ken Downey President DreamTechInteractive! And, Blind Comfort! The pleasant way to experience massage! It's the Caring without the Staring! - Original Message - From: dark d...@xgam.org To:

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
way to experience massage! It's the Caring without the Staring! - Original Message - From: darren harris darren_g_har...@btinternet.com To: 'Gamers Discussion list' gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 7:38 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi dark. I

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
! - Original Message - From: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:07 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, In Q9 you do hear monsters from across pits etc, but as you say the attacking

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:10 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, I would like to play a game with a feature such as a running jump. For example you have a chasm that is too wide to jump normally from a standing stop

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Tommy
:07 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Dark, In Q9 you do hear monsters from across pits etc, but as you say the attacking and jumping mechanics are quite flat. In my upcoming game I have a very different setup. I have spent a lot of time on mechanics, such as the fact

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
! And, Blind Comfort! The pleasant way to experience massage! It's the Caring without the Staring! - Original Message - From: dark d...@xgam.org To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 8:25 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Phil. i

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
to...@sirinet.net To: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:00 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio On the Q9. That would be cool that you could unlock more characters each one of them have different

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Lori Duncan
@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 12:59 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hello Darren. Actually thinking about it, you've probably hit the nail exactly on the head. You talk about showing in audio how far to jump say like in Jim's golf game where your told what a shot

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Philip Bennefall
...@neo.rr.com To: phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:54 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hey Philip, how about basing maximums speed reached on the number of hit points, the type of shoes-boots being worn etc instead

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Philip Bennefall
: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:48 PM Subject: Re: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio hi philip. how's the developed of this new game? we haven't eard anything since last year, i know that you don't like giving rlease dates and stuff, but the game is almost complete, or it will still take

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Lori Duncan
Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:54 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hey Philip, how about basing maximums speed reached on the number of hit points, the type of shoes-boots being worn etc instead of the flat 5 steps? Ken Downey President

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Lori Duncan
I like the one in q-9 when he goes hurrteling down to oblivian, it's a good efect. - Original Message - From: Ken the Crazy kenwdow...@neo.rr.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 1:58 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Lori Duncan
: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:00 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio On the Q9. That would be cool that you could unlock more characters each one of them have different story. That's would be awesome! Tommy - Original Message - From: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
in the way characters were damaged tec didn't do this. Beware the grue! Dark. - Original Message - From: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:10 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ron Kolesar
To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi Ken, You only really have one type of boots and I am trying to avoid slowing down the character's actions based on health. This is mainly because a few injuries would give you such a serious

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread dark
Hmmm ron. I think you got the wrong end of the stick there. I'm not talking about a game, but an aspect of gameplay, ie, the space around your character. You might considder having a look at the gamers list public archives for the full discussion. Beware the grue! Dark. --- Gamers

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
To: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com; Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 11:58 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio While I've seen some games that penalize an ability due to low health, eg, taking a power up off you when you get hit, I think

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Ken the Crazy
To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Wednesday, March 16, 2011 2:17 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hmmm ron. I think you got the wrong end of the stick there. I'm not talking about a game, but an aspect of gameplay, ie, the space around your character. You might

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Hayden Presley
To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hmmm ron. I think you got the wrong end of the stick there. I'm not talking about a game, but an aspect of gameplay, ie, the space around your character. You might considder having a look at the gamers list public archives

Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio

2011-03-16 Thread Hayden Presley
To: Philip Bennefall; Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Reviewing space in audio Hi if it's better than q-9 then it'll be a knock out! As long as it's got wepons Smile - Original Message - From: Philip Bennefall phi...@blastbay.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org