Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-18 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi, That's possible. It is more a matter of figuring out what beep would sound best for the doors. Cheers! On 12/14/10, shaun everiss sm.ever...@gmail.com wrote: what about a different beep tom. right now I think its an item to grab --- Gamers mailing list __ Gamers@audyssey.org If you

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-14 Thread Ben
I'll have a look around. I'll have something I bet. -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of Thomas Ward Sent: 10 December 2010 20:46 To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-14 Thread shaun everiss
what sort of hum would you want. I have sfx but I have no idea what a starwars door would sound like without irratating or just making things take over the game. At 09:46 a.m. 11/12/2010, you wrote: Hi Ben, Sigh...Unfortunately, I don't think I have any low hums etc for the doors. That's why

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-14 Thread Ben
Sorta low hum just with a pulse... -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of shaun everiss Sent: 14 December 2010 19:27 To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview what sort of hum

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-14 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi, I honestly don't know. I looked through my own sound library. I have hums, but nothing that really strikes me as appropriate. This seams to be a classic case of where people are willing to offer a suggestion, but have no idea how it should be implemented in reality. Smile. On 12/14/10,

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-14 Thread shaun everiss
what about a different beep tom. right now I think its an item to grab At 04:29 p.m. 15/12/2010, you wrote: Hi, I honestly don't know. I looked through my own sound library. I have hums, but nothing that really strikes me as appropriate. This seams to be a classic case of where people are

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-12 Thread Thomas Ward
: Saturday, December 11, 2010 6:36 AM To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hey I've thought of one! Alt left arrow key to swing to the left, alt right arrow key to swing to the right! - Original Message - From: Phil Vlasak p...@pcsgames.net

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Ben
Good ideas there. -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of Thomas Ward Sent: 10 December 2010 22:22 To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Well, i definitely don't want

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Ben
I can get you one I think... -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of Thomas Ward Sent: 10 December 2010 20:46 To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Ben, Sigh

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Phil Vlasak
list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Thomas, I thought you had the alt key problem resolved with the alt key used for jumping but that was in the last version of MOTA. I prefer the mouse for light saber swings as that sounds like the most realistic. Phil

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Shiny protector
Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Ah yes, but what about those of us who use laptops? Best Regards, Hayden -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of Phil Vlasak Sent: Friday, December 10, 2010

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Hayden Presley
: Saturday, December 11, 2010 6:36 AM To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hey I've thought of one! Alt left arrow key to swing to the left, alt right arrow key to swing to the right! - Original Message - From: Phil Vlasak p...@pcsgames.net

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-11 Thread Hayden Presley
AM To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Hayden, Then I guess you will be a little disabled only able to swing straight and to one side. I am sure if Thomas uses both alt keys he will be able to come up with a laptop equivalent. The same could

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Ben
Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Ben, Ah, that would be the door locator signal. That helps you find the doors. If I take it out the only way you could find the doors is to use the view menu. If you want me to take the locator sound out I will, but I don't

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Ben
When you were deflecting blaster bolts it all seemed a bit too rhythmic in my opinion. --- Gamers mailing list __ Gamers@audyssey.org If you want to leave the list, send E-mail to gamers-unsubscr...@audyssey.org. You can make changes or update your subscription via the web, at

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Phil Vlasak
Hi Thomas, I think the quality of the light saber is good but it sounds like it is in mono and uses the same file for each attack. I think a stereo sound that sweeps across from side to side as you swing the weapon is what people are expecting. If several different light saber sounds are

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Mich
PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Thomas, I think the quality of the light saber is good but it sounds like it is in mono and uses the same file for each attack. I think a stereo sound that sweeps across from side to side as you swing the weapon is what people

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Mich, The link is: http://www.usagamesinteractive.com/downloads/trailers/MOTS-Preview.mp3 Cheers! On 12/10/10, Mich m...@ntl.sympatico.ca wrote: Hi tom and all can some one please send the link to this preview? since I think I missed it and would like to hear this. many thanks. from Mich.

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Shiny protector
: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi all, The trailer I posted did use 44100 KHZ sounds. What do you mean by the quality of the sounds in the trailer were poor? I keep hearing people say the quality of the sounds in the MOTS preview were poor but I found the best sounds i could

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Phil, Hmmm...Well, I can definitely tell you that there are more than one saber attack sound and they are randomized. That said, they do sound a lot alike and if you aren't listening carefully it does sound like the same thing over and over again. Perhaps I should check my saber sounds for a

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Muhammed, Actually, the light saber sounds are not mono. All of the saber sounds are 44100 KHZ 16-bit stereo samples. So why do you think they are mono? Is it because I didn't pan them left, right, etc? Okay, you said you didn't like the background ambience. What specifically is wrong with

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Phil Vlasak
you would actually move the weapon. Phil - Original Message - From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, December 10, 2010 3:35 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Hmmm...Well, I can

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ben, Sigh...Unfortunately, I don't think I have any low hums etc for the doors. That's why I used a beep. If you have such a sound send it to me. Otherwise your out of luck. I'm creating this game on a $0.00 budget and I either get sounds, music, etc for free or not at all. Cheers! On

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Phil, Well, i definitely don't want to pan the sounds themselves as that simply is not in the game plan. My plan is to add in some advanced saber moves like being able to spin the saber, swing left/right, block, etc. Most of this would be well suited for th mouse or joystick, but i suppose I

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Phil Vlasak
To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, December 10, 2010 5:21 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Well, i definitely don't want to pan the sounds themselves as that simply is not in the game plan. My plan is to add in some advanced

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Hayden Presley
: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, December 10, 2010 5:21 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Well, i definitely don't want to pan the sounds themselves as that simply is not in the game plan. My

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Scott Chesworth
- From: Thomas Ward thomasward1...@gmail.com To: Gamers Discussion list gamers@audyssey.org Sent: Friday, December 10, 2010 5:21 PM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Phil, Well, i definitely don't want to pan the sounds themselves as that simply

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Phil, As of the moment no. I've never fixed the problem with the alt key. I just moved the jump keys to control for the time being until I can fix the issue. I know what the problem is, but it will likely require using a different window manager as the default Win32 API window class creates a

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread shaun everiss
I have a gb of sfx from various starwars stuff. hmmm tom, if possible if you could shove me a copy of the game I can run sounds through it for different things and then shove you a pack of things, I don't have the space for that many sfx all at once. If you have any sound issues and other

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-10 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi, Not only that but mice are also universally supported where joysticks aren't. You can create a cool 3d game for Linux using say SDL for input, as your window manager, and use OpenAL or FMOD for killer 3d audio, but your support for certain joysticks will be really hit or miss. Not a lot of

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ben, Yes, I know that, but if you look in the manual you'll see that a, s, d, and w are alternate arrow keys for MOTS. Those were there for lefthanded users as well as they were helpful in allowing you to use the left hand for movement and the mouse for other stuff too. Which brings up

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi William, I absolutely have no idea. Obviously my main priority is to get MOTA out the door and then tackle Raceway. If I squeeze a little time in now and then for this game great, but right now I just did a little experimentation with the G3D engine to see what needs to be done to create a

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Darren Duff
So were you deflecting the blaster bolts back at the trupers or were you cutting them down? IF you were cutting them down with the saber you need a awesome lightsaber slashing sound. BTW I am a big time star wars fan and have always dreamed of playing this kind of game. -Original

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Shiny protector
, 2010 3:14 AM Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Hayden, That's why I'm busy replacing the original Mysteries of the Sith sounds with 44100 KHZ sounds I have found from other sources. I want this to sound like a movie with cd quality effects and not some game from

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Ben
: 09 December 2010 08:54 To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi William, I absolutely have no idea. Obviously my main priority is to get MOTA out the door and then tackle Raceway. If I squeeze a little time in now and then for this game great

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Hayden Presley
] On Behalf Of william lomas Sent: Thursday, December 09, 2010 1:05 AM To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview when will this be out then lol mota raceway Mysteries of the syth smile how many more games u tackling? On Dec 9, 2010, at 5:17 AM, Thomas Ward

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi all, The trailer I posted did use 44100 KHZ sounds. What do you mean by the quality of the sounds in the trailer were poor? I keep hearing people say the quality of the sounds in the MOTS preview were poor but I found the best sounds i could so far and I'm still getting that complaint. If I

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Ben, Ah, that would be the door locator signal. That helps you find the doors. If I take it out the only way you could find the doors is to use the view menu. If you want me to take the locator sound out I will, but I don't think you would like that very much. On 12/9/10, Ben

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Darren, Mostly I was deflecting blaster shots while I was moving into saber range to cut them down. You definitely know when I cut them down as the troopers screamed when Mara scored a direct hit. As for saber cut/hit sounds I have them, but just haven't added them in yet. Remember that is

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Greg Steel
Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi all, The trailer I posted did use 44100 KHZ sounds. What do you mean by the quality of the sounds in the trailer were poor? I keep hearing people say the quality of the sounds in the MOTS preview were poor but I found the best sounds i

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Greg, I don't know. That's exactly what I'm trying to find out. Some people said the sounds were poor and I'm trying to find out what they are talking about. If there are some they felt were not so hot I'd like them to at least point it out so I could look for something perhaps better. Smile.

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-09 Thread Hayden Presley
...@audyssey.org] On Behalf Of Thomas Ward Sent: Thursday, December 09, 2010 9:00 PM To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Greg, I don't know. That's exactly what I'm trying to find out. Some people said the sounds were poor and I'm trying to find out what

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Greg Steel
Hi Tom that was awesome I can't wait to try this out. I never have been much of a fan of starwars but I watched it when I was yung and I liked the sounds and I liked the game that I played in the early 90s even though the sounds sucked back then. I noticed that you are using some of the same

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Greg, Yeah, that's right. I borrowed several sounds from MOTA for Mysteries of the Sith, because a lot of the original effects for Mysteries of the Sith were pretty low-fi 11025 KHZ mono. So what I basically did is raded my extensive Star Wars sound effects collection and replaced a number of

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Hayden Presley
Hi Thomas, Gasp. yYou're right...some of those sounds are pretty bad qualitywise. Still, it's most dfinitely something for me (and everyone else, I think) to look forward for. Best Regards, Hayden -Original Message- From: gamers-boun...@audyssey.org [mailto:gamers-boun...@audyssey.org]

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Hayden, That's why I'm busy replacing the original Mysteries of the Sith sounds with 44100 KHZ sounds I have found from other sources. I want this to sound like a movie with cd quality effects and not some game from the mid 90's. So in that respect MOTS is getting a huge sound upgrade from

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Hayden Presley
: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Hayden, That's why I'm busy replacing the original Mysteries of the Sith sounds with 44100 KHZ sounds I have found from other sources. I want this to sound like a movie with cd quality effects and not some game from the mid 90's. So in that respect

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Thomas Ward
Hi Hayden, Actually, I'm remastering the cut scenes as well. Unlike the first Jedi Knight game in the series Mysteries of the Sith didn't use full motion vidio. That means the cut scenes were actually animations, instead of a movie, and the dialog, sounds, etc were stored in a separate *.goo

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread william lomas
when will this be out then lol mota raceway Mysteries of the syth smile how many more games u tackling? On Dec 9, 2010, at 5:17 AM, Thomas Ward wrote: Hi Hayden, Actually, I'm remastering the cut scenes as well. Unlike the first Jedi Knight game in the series Mysteries of the Sith didn't

Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview

2010-12-08 Thread Ben
To: Gamers Discussion list Subject: Re: [Audyssey] Short Mysteries of the Sith Preview Hi Hayden, Actually, I'm remastering the cut scenes as well. Unlike the first Jedi Knight game in the series Mysteries of the Sith didn't use full motion vidio. That means the cut scenes were actually