Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-18 Thread Samuel Bernardo
Hi, On 4/11/20 2:13 AM, Jonas Stein wrote: > AFAIK technically it can already scan overlays. > You can ask the euscan team. Anybody there who can help me to contact euscan team? > http://euscan.gentooexperimental.org/ The updated team contact is missing in this page. Is euscan still

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-16 Thread Kent Fredric
On Sat, 11 Apr 2020 21:41:58 +0100 Samuel Bernardo wrote: > loosing ebuilds (we > wants it!... we needs it must!... my precious) Ebuilds are never actually "lost". If you use gentoo's git repo for /usr/portage, you can always wind back the whole tree, or some subset thereof, to a state where

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-11 Thread Samuel Bernardo
Hi, Thank you very much for your experience and information sharing. I learnt very much with your answers. --- The goal of my suggestions was related to ebuilds that become unattended more than one year or being left behind even further. Anyway the right timescale depends on each project and so

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-11 Thread James Le Cuirot
On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 18:21:00 +0200 Jonas Stein wrote: > > I would like to leave a suggestion for Gentoo portage ebuild review. > > Since there are some ebuilds in portage that become outdated for more > > than one year when there are new versions available, maybe could be > > possible to add a

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-11 Thread Kent Fredric
On Fri, 10 Apr 2020 12:31:19 +0100 Samuel Bernardo wrote: > - if there is more then X new versions in upstream, get from a release > feed associated with ebuild (X value defined by project leader with > threshold set by CI) This is probably the biggest difficult part really. There's lots of

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-10 Thread Jonas Stein
Hi Samuel, > I would like to leave a suggestion for Gentoo portage ebuild review. > Since there are some ebuilds in portage that become outdated for more > than one year when there are new versions available, maybe could be > possible to add a new step in Gentoo QA service to generate an alarm >

Re: [gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-10 Thread Samuel Bernardo
Looking also to changes proposed in GLEP 72 maybe my previous suggestion would bring another profile status as unattended or ceased. This would allow the transition for those that need to use old or archived profile versions. On 2020-04-10 12:31, Samuel Bernardo wrote: > Hi everyone, > > I would

[gentoo-dev] ebuild life cycle review

2020-04-10 Thread Samuel Bernardo
Hi everyone, I would like to leave a suggestion for Gentoo portage ebuild review. Since there are some ebuilds in portage that become outdated for more than one year when there are new versions available, maybe could be possible to add a new step in Gentoo QA service to generate an alarm (send