Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-12 Thread Fabian Groffen
On 12-04-2010 10:07:54 +0200, Christian Faulhammer wrote: if [[ -d ${D}/${VENDOR_LIB} ]] ; then Haven't checked, but quotes not needed? it's within [[ ]], so no. -- Fabian Groffen Gentoo on a different level

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-09 Thread James Cloos
MG == Michał Górny gen...@mgorny.alt.pl writes: MG I prefer perldoc over man. And I cannot imagine why anyone would prefer MG keeping two copies of the same docs if generating one from another MG takes less than a second. It takes more than a mere second, and man(1), man.el, woman.el and the

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-09 Thread James Cloos
D == Duncan 1i5t5.dun...@cox.net writes: D While you're correct in the ordinary case, keep in mind that this is perl D developer docs we're talking about here -- not ordinary user documentation. Developer docs *are* ordinary user documentation. Section 3 is perhaps the most used section of

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-06 Thread James Cloos
TV == Torsten Veller ml...@veller.net writes: TV * James Cloos cl...@jhcloos.com: One change the perl eclasses require is elimination of the code which deletes the man pages. Deleting the man pages is /extremely/ rude and should not occur. TV There was a reason why the man-pages were

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-06 Thread James Cloos
MH == Michael Higgins li...@evolone.org writes: MH Yep. Why have a man page for a perl module? OTOH, if there is something MH that goes in /usr/bin, it should get a man page if there is one. But MH not for the modules themselves -- that's not needed at all. Because man(1) works better than the

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-06 Thread Michał Górny
On Tue, 06 Apr 2010 10:25:27 -0400 James Cloos cl...@jhcloos.com wrote: Perl people -- I'm one -- use man(1); given the differences in usefulness, I cannot imagine why anyone would prefer perldoc(1) over man(1). I prefer perldoc over man. And I cannot imagine why anyone would prefer keeping

Re: [gentoo-dev] Re: perl eclass review - EAPI=3 + new helper eclass

2010-04-04 Thread Michael Higgins
On Sat, 3 Apr 2010 12:33:48 +0200 Torsten Veller ml...@veller.net wrote: perl people use `perldoc` anyway. Yep. Why have a man page for a perl module? OTOH, if there is something that goes in /usr/bin, it should get a man page if there is one. But not for the modules themselves -- that's not