Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-11 Thread Sven Neumann
Hi, Damien Genet [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Why can't you launch a « Gimp Fund » through paypal, like the Blender foundation did ? I think that the Gimp has much more visibility than Blender did, and would have no problems raising money. Actually, it may even help to boost the development.

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-11 Thread Damien Genet
Hi, Le mer 11/06/2003 à 11:45, Sven Neumann a écrit : I'm not sure if it would boost development, it might as well hurt it. The problem with money is that we would somehow have to decide how to spend it. Paying developers from such a fund could cause quite some disagreements. If others are

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-11 Thread Daniel Rogers
Sven Neumann wrote: Hi, Damien Genet [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Why can't you launch a « Gimp Fund » through paypal, like the Blender foundation did ? I think that the Gimp has much more visibility than Blender did, and would have no problems raising money. Actually, it may even help to boost

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-10 Thread Feczak Szabolcs
On Wed, Jun 04, 2003 at 05:25:14PM +0200, Feczak Szabolcs wrote: AFAIK, there are no plans to do such an improvement. Considered that we still lack some funding for our developers conference this summer, perhaps we could be persuaded to give it a try. Ok, what do you need to be more

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-10 Thread Sven Neumann
Hi, Feczak Szabolcs [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: AFAIK, there are no plans to do such an improvement. Considered that we still lack some funding for our developers conference this summer, perhaps we could be persuaded to give it a try. Ok, what do you need to be more persuaded ? First of all,

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-10 Thread Feczak Szabolcs
On Tue, Jun 10, 2003 at 05:02:22PM +0200, Sven Neumann wrote: First of all, sorry for not getting back to you earlier. ok, thanks better later than never :) I can better understand your situation by now. Im just wondering how could this avoid your attention during the core code development,

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-10 Thread Damien Genet
Hi, Le mar 10/06/2003 à 17:02, Sven Neumann a écrit : I'd be happy if you nevertheless decided to help us with the conference. We already got some fundings from the FSF but we are still lacking about 5000 EUR. That's not much for a larger company and any donations would help. So if you, or

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images]

2003-06-05 Thread Feczak Szabolcs
Feczak Szabolcs [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Changing the color balance/brightens-contrast/ color curves are significantly slower in gimp vs. photoshop on the same machine. The problem is not the processing time alone, but the preview takes the same amount of time as the final processing.

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images

2003-06-05 Thread Joao S. O. Bueno
I was thinking abiut the subject , and came to a way of doing it - if PDB calls can be made normaly from inside these plugins - which I assume thay can, without problens. Therefore, if you will allow me, I will describe what I was thinking in gimp pseudocode. Someone more familiar to the core

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images

2003-06-05 Thread Sven Neumann
Hi, Joao S. O. Bueno [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: I was thinking abiut the subject , and came to a way of doing it - if PDB calls can be made normaly from inside these plugins - which I assume thay can, without problens. We are not talking about plug-ins here. Previews for plug-ins are handled

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images

2003-06-03 Thread Sven Neumann
Hi, Feczak Szabolcs [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Changing the color balance/brightens-contrast/ color curves are significantly slower in gimp vs. photoshop on the same machine. The problem is not the processing time alone, but the preview takes the same amount of time as the final processing.

Re: [Gimp-developer] Slow preview on highres images

2003-06-03 Thread Raphaël Quinet
On Mon, 02 Jun 2003 18:28:42 +0200, Sven Neumann [EMAIL PROTECTED] wrote: Feczak Szabolcs [EMAIL PROTECTED] writes: Changing the color balance/brightens-contrast/ color curves are significantly slower in gimp vs. photoshop on the same machine. The problem is not the processing time alone,