Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-24 Thread Trey Morris
+1 to improving reviews since I agree with sandy on it being our greatest strength. I also I prefer sandy's approach (unless I'm mistaken), jump in and see how it goes, we can update a wiki as things proceed. I don't understand the need for a more formal documentation of process. I'd just hate for

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-24 Thread Andy Smith
This stuff was discussed and decided upon in the release meeting a couple days ago, unless somebody more official wants to make a statement the results of the decision were: (1) Developer review days are a go, Soren will set up a wiki page assigning devs to days (i don't think this is done yet).

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-18 Thread Andy Smith
I have some anecdotal evidence to add to this from my time at Google: (1) At Google in all reality you spent at least 2 days a week pretty much only participating in code review and mailing list responses. This is due to a couple things, but mostly because code review is taken extremely

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Thierry Carrez
Soren Hansen wrote: That's really a corollary to this proposal: Being in nova-core means you have a review day once every N days (where N is the amount of (human) members of nova-core). As such, if you're not prepared to accept such a review day, you don't get to be part of the team. Simple.

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Ed Leafe
On Feb 17, 2011, at 4:18 AM, Soren Hansen wrote: That's really a corollary to this proposal: Being in nova-core means you have a review day once every N days (where N is the amount of (human) members of nova-core). As such, if you're not prepared to accept such a review day, you don't get to

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Sandy Walsh
-bounces+sandy.walsh=rackspace@lists.launchpad.net [openstack-bounces+sandy.walsh=rackspace@lists.launchpad.net] on behalf of Thierry Carrez [thie...@openstack.org] Sent: Thursday, February 17, 2011 10:26 AM To: openstack@lists.launchpad.net Subject: Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Jay Pipes
On Thu, Feb 17, 2011 at 9:51 AM, Ed Leafe e...@leafe.com wrote: On Feb 17, 2011, at 4:18 AM, Soren Hansen wrote: That's really a corollary to this proposal: Being in nova-core means you have a review day once every N days (where N is the amount of (human) members of nova-core). As such, if

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Monsyne Dragon
On 2/16/11 6:28 PM, Paul Voccio wrote: Have we considered pruning and expanding the core team to help speed the reviews along? There are some people who are no longer day-to-day active in Nova and some that are that could help in this process. I'd be willing to make time for code reviews, if it

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Jay Pipes
On Wed, Feb 16, 2011 at 9:53 PM, Paul Voccio paul.voc...@rackspace.com wrote: Not sure what the etiquette is for removing someone. Michael Gundlach is still listed but is no longer participating. I think these sorts of things can be resolved on the mailing list just fine. It's not a big deal

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Josh Kearney
...@openstack.org] Sent: Thursday, February 17, 2011 10:26 AM To: openstack@lists.launchpad.net Subject: Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members Soren Hansen wrote: That's really a corollary to this proposal: Being in nova-core means you have a review day once every N days (where N

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Thierry Carrez
Josh Kearney wrote: I'm with Sandy on this. I'd like to step in as well. Could you each start a new thread about your application ? That should make it easier to track the lazy consensus described in: http://wiki.openstack.org/Governance/Approved/CoreDevProcess -- Thierry Carrez (ttx) Release

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Trey Morris
Also, good point to keep in mind: Membership to nova-core isn't a privilege or even any fun. It's a responsibility and a duty to your fellow contributors :) well said! On Thu, Feb 17, 2011 at 9:59 AM, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com wrote: On Thu, Feb 17, 2011 at 9:26 AM, Thierry Carrez

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Jay Pipes
On Thu, Feb 17, 2011 at 1:14 PM, Joshua McKenty j...@pistoncc.com wrote: Paul, I would add that I think typical etiquette would be for someone on nova-core to ping the team member in question (off-list if possible) and check in on whether they can stay committed to their participation,

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-17 Thread Soren Hansen
2011/2/17 Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com: Also, good point to keep in mind: Membership to nova-core isn't a privilege or even any fun. It's a responsibility and a duty to your fellow contributors :) The first draft of my e-mail said something about it being a chore, but I decided to edit that

[Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-16 Thread Soren Hansen
2011/2/16 Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com: Lots of coding and bug fixing has been done in the past weeks. As a result, we've got a big backlog of code reviews to do. If you have some cycles, please do participate: https://code.launchpad.net/nova/+activereviews Nova-core members, remember,

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-16 Thread Paul Voccio
: Soren Hansen so...@ubuntu.commailto:so...@ubuntu.com, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.commailto:jaypi...@gmail.com, openstack@lists.launchpad.netmailto:openstack@lists.launchpad.net openstack@lists.launchpad.netmailto:openstack@lists.launchpad.net Subject: Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core

Re: [Openstack] Review days for nova-core members

2011-02-16 Thread Thierry Carrez
Paul Voccio wrote: Not sure what the etiquette is for removing someone. Michael Gundlach is still listed but is no longer participating. There is no process proposed/decided for removing someone from a core team. At this point people that are no longer involved day-to-day with the project and