Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-28 Thread Evgeniy L
Hi Mike, thanks, now it's clear. On Thu, Sep 3, 2015 at 9:19 AM, Mike Scherbakov wrote: > Thank you all for the feedback. > > > Dims - > > > 1) I'd advise to codify a proposal in fuel-specs under a 'policy' > directory > > I think it's great idea and I'll do it. > > >

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-03 Thread Mike Scherbakov
Thank you all for the feedback. Dims - > 1) I'd advise to codify a proposal in fuel-specs under a 'policy' directory I think it's great idea and I'll do it. > 2) We don't have SME terminology, but we do have Maintainers both in oslo-incubator I like "Maintainers" more than SMEs, thank you

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-02 Thread Igor Kalnitsky
It won't work that way. You either busy on writing code / leading feature or doing review. It couldn't be combined effectively. Any context switch between activities requires an extra time to focus on. On Wed, Sep 2, 2015 at 5:46 AM, Tomasz Napierala wrote: >> On 01 Sep

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-02 Thread Jay Pipes
On 09/02/2015 08:45 AM, Igor Kalnitsky wrote: I think there's plenty of examples of people in OpenStack projects that both submit code (and lead features) that also do code review on a daily basis. * Do these features huge? Yes. * Is their code contribution huge or just small patches?

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-02 Thread Jay Pipes
On 09/02/2015 03:00 AM, Igor Kalnitsky wrote: It won't work that way. You either busy on writing code / leading feature or doing review. It couldn't be combined effectively. Any context switch between activities requires an extra time to focus on. I don't agree with the above, Igor. I think

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-02 Thread Igor Kalnitsky
> I think there's plenty of examples of people in OpenStack projects > that both submit code (and lead features) that also do code review > on a daily basis. * Do these features huge? * Is their code contribution huge or just small patches? * Did they get to master before FF? * How many

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-09-01 Thread Tomasz Napierala
> On 01 Sep 2015, at 03:43, Igor Kalnitsky wrote: > > Hi folks, > > So basically.. > > * core reviewers won't be feature leads anymore > * core reviewers won't be assigned to features (or at least not full-time) > * core reviewers will spend time doing review and

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-29 Thread Tomasz Napierala
On 27 Aug 2015, at 07:58, Evgeniy L e...@mirantis.com wrote: Hi Mike, I have several comments. SLA should be the driver of doing timely reviews, however we can’t allow to fast-track code into master suffering quality of review ... As for me the idea of SLA contradicts to

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-27 Thread Aleksandr Didenko
Hi, I'm all in for any formalization and automation of review process. The only concern that I see here is about core reviewers involvement metrics. If we succeed in reducing the load on core reviewers, it will mean that core reviewers will do less code reviews. This could lead to core reviewer

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-27 Thread Davanum Srinivas
Mike, This is a great start. 1) I'd advise to codify a proposal in fuel-specs under a 'policy' directory (obviously as a review in fuel-specs repo) So everyone agrees to the structure of the teams and terminology etc. Example oslo uses a directory to write down some of our decisions.

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-27 Thread Evgeniy L
- SME reviews the code within SLA, which should be defined per component Also I would like to add, that I'm not against of metrics, we can collect metrics, in order to figure out if some improvement in the process helped to speed up reviews, but asking Cores/SMEs to do the job faster will

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-27 Thread Evgeniy L
Hi Mike, I have several comments. SLA should be the driver of doing timely reviews, however we can’t allow to fast-track code into master suffering quality of review ... As for me the idea of SLA contradicts to qualitative reviews. Another thing is I got a bit confused by the difference

Re: [openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-27 Thread Igor Marnat
Mike, speaking of automation, AFAIK Boris Pavlovic introduced some scripts in Rally which do basic preliminary check of review message, checking that it's formally correct. It should make life of reviewers a bit easier, you might want to introduce them in Fuel as well, if not yet. Regards, Igor

[openstack-dev] [Fuel] Code review process in Fuel and related issues

2015-08-19 Thread Mike Scherbakov
Hi all, let's discuss code review process in Fuel and what we can improve. For those who want to just have a quick context of this email, please check out presentation slides [5]. ** Issues ** Depending on a Fuel subproject, I'm aware of two buckets of issues with code review in Fuel: a) It is