Re: [openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-28 Thread Zane Bitter
On 27/03/16 22:58, Anant Patil wrote: On 24-Mar-16 20:26, Sergey Kraynev wrote: Zane, I like you idea. As example we may discuss some steps for it during summit session (if it need). Also I have another question, which probably came in your heads a lot of times: A few times, but I usually

Re: [openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-27 Thread Anant Patil
On 24-Mar-16 20:26, Sergey Kraynev wrote: > Zane, I like you idea. As example we may discuss some steps for it > during summit session (if it need). > > Also I have another question, which probably came in your heads a lot of times: > Can we somekind improve our existing approach for validation?

Re: [openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-24 Thread Sergey Kraynev
Zane, I like you idea. As example we may discuss some steps for it during summit session (if it need). Also I have another question, which probably came in your heads a lot of times: Can we somekind improve our existing approach for validation? we do validation twice - before create and during

Re: [openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-23 Thread Zane Bitter
On 23/03/16 13:14, Steven Hardy wrote: Hi all, I'm looking for some help and additional input on this bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/heat/+bug/1559807 Hmm, I was wondering how this ever worked, but it appears you're making particularly aggressive use of the list_join and map_merge

Re: [openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-23 Thread Jay Dobies
This is the same issue I ran into a few months ago regarding the nested parameter validation. Since it resolves to None at that time, there's no hook in our current nested parameters implementation to show that it will have a value passed in from the parent template. Unfortunately, I don't

[openstack-dev] [heat] Issue with validation and preview due to get_attr==None

2016-03-23 Thread Steven Hardy
Hi all, I'm looking for some help and additional input on this bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/heat/+bug/1559807 Basically, we have multiple issues due to the fact that we consider get_attr to resolve to None at any point before a resource is actually instantiated. It's due to this: