Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-19 Thread Ben Nemec
On 2013-12-18 22:08, Jay Pipes wrote: On 12/18/2013 02:14 PM, Brant Knudson wrote: Matt - Could a test be added that goes through the models and checks these things? Other projects could use this too. Here's an example of a test that checks if the tables are all InnoDB:

[openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Matt Riedemann
I've seen this come up a few times in reviews and was thinking we should put something in the general review checklist wiki for it [1]. Basically I have three things I'd like to have in the list for DB migrations: 1. Unique constraints should be named. Different DB engines and SQLAlchemy

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Brant Knudson
Matt - Could a test be added that goes through the models and checks these things? Other projects could use this too. Here's an example of a test that checks if the tables are all InnoDB:

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Michael Still
I don't have a problem with any of these requirements, but I'd like to explore automating the checks. Would it be possible to write a unit test that verified this for all migrations? Then we don't need to add it to the checklist... Michael On Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 4:27 AM, Matt Riedemann

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Dan Prince
- Original Message - From: Matt Riedemann mrie...@linux.vnet.ibm.com To: OpenStack Development Mailing List (not for usage questions) openstack-dev@lists.openstack.org Sent: Wednesday, December 18, 2013 12:27:49 PM Subject: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Matt Riedemann
On 12/18/2013 1:14 PM, Brant Knudson wrote: Matt - Could a test be added that goes through the models and checks these things? Other projects could use this too. Here's an example of a test that checks if the tables are all InnoDB:

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Matt Riedemann
] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist I've seen this come up a few times in reviews and was thinking we should put something in the general review checklist wiki for it [1]. Basically I have three things I'd like to have in the list for DB migrations: 1. Unique constraints

Re: [openstack-dev] Adding DB migration items to the common review checklist

2013-12-18 Thread Jay Pipes
On 12/18/2013 02:14 PM, Brant Knudson wrote: Matt - Could a test be added that goes through the models and checks these things? Other projects could use this too. Here's an example of a test that checks if the tables are all InnoDB: