[openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Stefano Maffulli
On 08/06/2014 11:19 AM, Edgar Magana wrote: That is the beauty of the open source projects, there is always a smartest reviewer catching out the facts that you don¹t. And yet, the specification clearly talks about 'endpoints' and nobody caught it where it supposed to be caught so I fear that

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Kyle Mestery
On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 2:07 PM, Stefano Maffulli stef...@openstack.org wrote: On 08/06/2014 11:19 AM, Edgar Magana wrote: That is the beauty of the open source projects, there is always a smartest reviewer catching out the facts that you don¹t. And yet, the specification clearly talks about

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Eugene Nikanorov
On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 11:07 PM, Stefano Maffulli stef...@openstack.org wrote: On 08/06/2014 11:19 AM, Edgar Magana wrote: That is the beauty of the open source projects, there is always a smartest reviewer catching out the facts that you don¹t. And yet, the specification clearly talks

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Ivar Lazzaro
+1 Eugene, Still, there's a point in Stefano's thread: There's a time for discussing merging strategies, models, and naming conventions... And this time is called BP approval :) Just saying. Ivar. On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 10:21 PM, Eugene Nikanorov enikano...@mirantis.com wrote: On Wed,

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Stefano Maffulli
On Wed 06 Aug 2014 01:21:26 PM PDT, Eugene Nikanorov wrote: So I don't think it's fair to blame reviewers here. Just want to be super clear: there is no 'blaming' here. This is a request to regroup and look at why we are having this conversation about GBP now, this late in cycle, and about such

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Mohammad Banikazemi
Yes, indeed. I do not want to be over dramatic but the discussion on the original Group Based Policy and the way forward thread is nothing short of heartbreaking. After months and months of discussions, three presentations at the past three summits, a design session at the last summit, and (most

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Carlino, Chuck (OpenStack TripleO, Neutron)
Given how this discussion has gone, I understand Mohammad's despair. But it seems like people are treating the Stackforge proposal as really nothing more than a black hole. I'm a relative newcomer to this community, so that's probably why I took Mark at his word when he presented it as a way

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Ivar Lazzaro
+1 Mohammad. On Aug 6, 2014 11:08 PM, Mohammad Banikazemi m...@us.ibm.com wrote: Yes, indeed. I do not want to be over dramatic but the discussion on the original Group Based Policy and the way forward thread is nothing short of heartbreaking. After months and months of discussions, three

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Richard Woo
+1, I think in future we should invite the other project(i.e. Nova) core member to review the blueprint if it is related to that specific project. On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 5:01 PM, Mohammad Banikazemi m...@us.ibm.com wrote: Yes, indeed. I do not want to be over dramatic but the discussion

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread CARVER, PAUL
On Aug 6, 2014, at 2:01 PM, Mohammad Banikazemi m...@us.ibm.commailto:m...@us.ibm.com wrote: Yes, indeed. I do not want to be over dramatic but the discussion on the original Group Based Policy and the way forward thread is nothing short of heartbreaking. After months and months of discussions,

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Jay Pipes
On 08/06/2014 07:08 PM, CARVER, PAUL wrote: On Aug 6, 2014, at 2:01 PM, Mohammad Banikazemi m...@us.ibm.commailto:m...@us.ibm.com wrote: Yes, indeed. I do not want to be over dramatic but the discussion on the original Group Based Policy and the way forward thread is nothing short of

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Kevin Benton
I'm curious, how would having Nova reviewers look at this have helped? On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 5:41 PM, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com wrote: On 08/06/2014 07:08 PM, CARVER, PAUL wrote: On Aug 6, 2014, at 2:01 PM, Mohammad Banikazemi m...@us.ibm.commailto: m...@us.ibm.com wrote: Yes,

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Jay Pipes
On 08/06/2014 07:54 PM, Kevin Benton wrote: I'm curious, how would having Nova reviewers look at this have helped? As I mentioned on a previous email, Nova is the pre-eminent consumer of Neutron's API. Best, -jay On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 5:41 PM, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Richard Woo
I agreed with Jay. Nova is one of the consumer of Neutron project, someone from Nova project should participate reviewing related blueprint in neutron project. Richard On Wed, Aug 6, 2014 at 8:28 PM, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com wrote: On 08/06/2014 07:54 PM, Kevin Benton wrote: I'm

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Sumit Naiksatam
I definitely agree that such cross-pollination across projects is ideal. However, I think (and not to deviate from the general discussion on making blueprint specs review more effective), Kevin's question was specifically in the context of the GBP blueprint. It is not clear in that case that a

Re: [openstack-dev] How to improve the specs review process (was Re: [Neutron] Group Based Policy and the way forward)

2014-08-06 Thread Baohua Yang
+1. And the review process should be more efficient! On Thu, Aug 7, 2014 at 3:07 AM, Stefano Maffulli stef...@openstack.org wrote: On 08/06/2014 11:19 AM, Edgar Magana wrote: That is the beauty of the open source projects, there is always a smartest reviewer catching out the facts that