Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-18 Thread Shaunak Kashyap
The discussion about whether flavors should exist as-is or be decomposed is useful and should continue. It is, however, somewhat orthogonal to the discussion I was hoping to have on this thread :) So coming back to the original question (now generalized away from flavors): how should resource

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Kevin L. Mitchell
On Mon, 2014-11-17 at 19:47 +, Shaunak Kashyap wrote: Poppy APIs refer to a flavor in their request and/or response representations. Some representations do this by using the flavor ID (e.g. 12345) while others use the flavor resource URI (e.g. {base}/flavors/12345). In this context, I

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Jay Pipes
On 11/17/2014 02:47 PM, Shaunak Kashyap wrote: Hi, I’ve been working with the Poppy project[1] while they are designing their APIs. Poppy has a concept of a flavor. A single flavor resource has the URI, {base}/flavors/{flavor_id}. Please, can we as a community kill the term flavor in a

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Ed Leafe
On Nov 17, 2014, at 2:18 PM, Jay Pipes jaypi...@gmail.com wrote: Please, can we as a community kill the term flavor in a fire? +1 One of the first (but certainly not the last) battle I lost in the early days of Nova. -- Ed Leafe signature.asc Description: Message signed with OpenPGP

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Amit Gandhi
I can see where this makes a lot of sense in API¹s such as Nova¹s where flavors represent some combination of memory, disk, and cpu performance. In the case of CDN, the flavor represents a list of CDN providers. So... you could have a flavor representing a region of the world (America¹s)

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Jay Pipes
On 11/17/2014 04:46 PM, Amit Gandhi wrote: I can see where this makes a lot of sense in API¹s such as Nova¹s where flavors represent some combination of memory, disk, and cpu performance. In the case of CDN, the flavor represents a list of CDN providers. In that case, your API is leaking

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Ed Leafe
On Nov 17, 2014, at 3:46 PM, Amit Gandhi amit.gan...@rackspace.com wrote: I can see where this makes a lot of sense in API¹s such as Nova¹s where flavors represent some combination of memory, disk, and cpu performance. For Nova, flavors emerged more as a billing convenience than anything

Re: [openstack-dev] [api] Requesting opinion/guideline on IDs vs hrefs

2014-11-17 Thread Amit Gandhi
Agreed it helps with billing. It also allows the customer to make a choice based on the features offered in a flavor. At the end of the day, the API works the same way regardless of the flavor selected. The flavor selection merely gives the customer the experience they are looking for. I see